26
Nov
08

Anime Festival Asia May’N Concert in Singapore [Constantly Updated]

Well so, I didn’t managed to borrow the DSLR due to the loss of the camera’s battery by my friend’s dad but nevermind, we managed to catch May’N first international live debut, at Singapore no less!

As expected, we were asked to keep all our recording devices, cameras and handphones aside. The most front portion of the crowd complied ( I wasn’t in front =( didn’t have the magic VIP diamond pass). However, being behind, brave souls begin to whip their camera handphones and SLRs and started taking photos and videos. Meanwhile, please take a look at the only pathetic shot I took from far.

Galleries: You can browse this gallery and this for pictures until I put mine up. Videos of May’N in Singapore up as well. This gallery (oops the link is removed! By me!) has so many shots of May’N even I am ashame. Uhm, what happened to no camera rule? One or two grainy shots for fun sure, no harm done I guess but rapid shots right in front…not complaining since we get to relive that night but still…hope this doesn’t affect future concerts.

Bloggers on AFA 08:

More blog posts about May’N concert here by Soshi, by Setsuna-san who came over from Malaysia, by AK and ume who has translated most of May’N’s latest blog posts (She loves Singapore. Yay!)She actually went to Takashimaya to shop, wonder if any otaku spotted her.

Drama mama over May’N:

Interestingly, due to cultural differences or ignorance of japanese culture, certain fans were upset about minor stuff really not too happy May’N didn’t sign their autographs on the spot. There’s even a nutcase from Malaysia which is the kind of fan that makes security go on high alert. Barge in gungho and bow for a autograph despite having the specially autograph white board version which is a first for May’N. Hai. The world doesn’t revolve around you dude, get a life.

Dorama hits climax:

Ok ok. It doesn’t matter I wasn’t the one who recorded the videos, doesn’t matter May’N can’t even be seen clearly in the videos but still a rule is a rule right? Yea I linked it. No, I didn’t upload. Fine fine, they have been removed. Go find them yourselves if you desire to. In the meantime, let’s see what’s moving and shaking over at the high profilers Singaporean bloggers. The outcry by say upset ‘fans’ have set off these bloggers into joining the fray of dorama. Ok so…this means you will get to see the BEST photos I have of May’N!! Or not.

Dorama simmers and fizzles:

Dorama has ended. Expectations blown, anger raged and it’s time to await AFA 09+STCC? Hmhm, I hope not though, got to have two events to buy more stuff! This particular piece of news came about after reading 0ne’s post who is part of the local industry of animation. Go over and check out AFA 08 from an industry insider’s perspective. Here’s a special May’N coverage from a Diamond VIP point of view, go read!

Otakus from all over Singapore gathered and gave their ‘May’N’ cheer over and over again. Even groups far behind were hopping up and down. Needless to say the crowd right in front sang together with her.

Well, so what did she sang?

Sheryl Nome May’N appears!

snapshot20081125020647

Just like in the anime!!! Life imitates art.

Basically, all the Sheryl songs from both OSTs. The list as below:

Welcome To My FanClub’s Night!
What ’bout my star?
Yousei
Infinity
Diamond Crevasse
Northern Cross
Iteza☆Gogo Kuji Don’t be late

Quasi band, a cover band also performed. They belted out popular beats from Bleach and even one from Veltpunch, Crawl particularly. The sound is horrible because of the overtly strong bass.

Edit: Thanks for the heads up. Typo there. Why was triangular inside lol. Damn, exams getting to me, too many things to remember.

The two of the last three songs were diamond Crevasee followed by northern cross, two of the most taxing songs imo. It was over fairly quickly. She appeared at 730pm and left by 805~810pm. I didn’t stay around for the autograph session since I didn’t have the supreme magic pass. So you must be wondering, how well did she sang in person aka real life compared to the CD/mp3s you listen to? Absolutely no lipsynch was done to clarify things first.

She was ABSOLUTELY as wonderful as in the CDs as she is LIVE. Fabulous performance as well, she wasn’t those kind of static performers where she will stand there and sang away the time. Nope, she pranced and danced and wow-ed the guys in the first row (she kicked up her skirt once or twice, imagine the nosebleed she caused). The music was great, the dance was great. May’N IS GREAT. She will go far I dare say.

On a sidenote, the gal friend who tagged along was thoroughly amused of the fanboys who screamed their love for May’N out loud. She thought this only happens at boy bands concerts where female fans scream their hearts out. Now she knows the might of the Singaporean otakus. =D Ok, now I got to mug for my two papers tomorrow. Argh. Let me know if you find any videos and pictures of her and I will put it up in this post. Many thanks ahead.

Disclaimer : If the videos and pictures are not proper and should be removed, please contact me at Lobaba@gmail.com Thank you. OH well, I removed most of them.

13 Responses to “Anime Festival Asia May’N Concert in Singapore [Constantly Updated]”


  1. 1 Shaun
    24 November 2008 at 9:27 am

    Erm… Sorry but the last song was Don’t be late. MOTTEKE!

  2. 2 kouji
    24 November 2008 at 8:25 pm

    was there triangler? i dont think so = =!
    it’s

    1 – Welcome To My FanClub’s Night!
    2 – What ’bout my star?
    3 – Infinity
    4 – Fairy
    5 – Diamond Crevasse
    6 – Northern Cross
    7 – Don’t be late

  3. 3 PAK LAH
    25 November 2008 at 1:45 am

    Alamak, so many videos ah! I thot no video allow. Should sue u guys for copyright infringement. Both sound and images. KAKAA nice song tho.

  4. 4 Sichiri
    25 November 2008 at 11:03 am

    I was a D-VIP in the front, she was wearing shorts, not skirt 🙂

  5. 25 November 2008 at 2:46 pm

    lol, all the recent dorama going on sure make this year’s AFA rather interesting and memorable though kinda in a bad way.

  6. 25 November 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Didn’t anyone manage a shot of Mr. Kowtow? I left once the concert ended. And yes, I did take some May’n pics, but I’m keeping it in my private flickr folder for now.

    I think I see my head silhouette in the first pic 😛

  7. 25 November 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Comments getting too much so I merged my responses together:

    @ShaunHa: ok. Even though I do listen to her songs, I don’t really remember most of the names of the songs. Pardon me for the mistake.

    @kouji: Ha, another mistake? Man, blogging at late nights while mugging economics and mathematics takes a toll ya know.

    @PAK LAH : For the record, I.did.not.record.the.videos.

    It isn’t about copyright infringement, go read Riuva’s post to find out why.

    @Sichiri : You Devil you. =p This shows how far I was from the front lol, had to give consideration to gal friend who tagged along. She was pretty shocked that guys scream like little girls at boyband concerts lol.

    @gordon : Yea, definitely unforgettable in more ways than one.

    @MrMayat : I was having dinner with gal friend by then =X I already saw the pictures I think. No intention of spreading them around though, what tj_han says makes sense and serves as a wakeup call for rabid fans.(Me is not one since I only took 1 picture lol). Hahaha? Really? Cool, you are featured here, right here at Bokutachi no Blog =D

  8. 26 November 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Yeah she was great, but I’m still secretly yearning for Nakajima Megumi…

  9. 26 November 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Anyone managed to decipher who the fans wanted to invite next year? They were chanting JUMBO JET, JUMBO JET.

    I really dont know, but let me guess… Jam Project? lol

  10. 26 November 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Yes…they were shouting Jam Project lol.

  11. 28 November 2008 at 2:34 am

    Loba, for other blogs that posted on AFA, I am keeping this post over at Team Blue updated as an aggregate post, you can use that, which is easier. Tell me if you want other posts of yours added.

  12. 29 November 2008 at 12:55 am

    @Shin: Agree! Nakajima Megumi for AFA’09!!!


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


