07
Apr
09

Dragonball Kai : The Last Son of Planet Vegeta


Re-interpretation of Dragonball Kai commence!

Jor-El was out on business. Leaves it to lab technicians to send son to earth.

Jor-El was out on business. Leaves it to lab technicians to send son to earth.

My name is Brainiac and I pawn joo.

...let's send him off quickly, his wails are hurting my ears.

Negotiations were futile. Jor-El gets fireballed by brainiac.

Negotiations were futile. Jor-El gets fireballed by brainiac.

The Last Son of Vegeta escapes...

The Last Son of Vegeta escapes...

from the destruction of his home planet and his race...

from the destruction of his home planet and his race...

My Will to you son...is Planet Earth!

My Will to you son...is Planet Earth!

Planet Earth...

Planet Earth...

Found by Jonathan Kent. Given the name of Clark Kent.

Found by Jonathan Kent. Given the name of Clark Kent.

Cared by martha Kent.

Cared by martha Kent.

Met his first friend : Lionel Luthor

Met his first friend : Lex Luthor

Grew up and married Louis Lane.

Grew up and married Louis Lane.

Not the Last Son of ...vegeta?

Visited by Zor-EL : Your mission was to wipe out humanity, Kar-EL! WEAKLING.

Faster than a speeding bullet...

Faster than a speeding bullet...

What will Martha Kent, Lex Luthor, Lionel Luthor and Clark Kent/Kar-EL do?

What will Martha Kent, Lex Luthor, Lionel Luthor and Clark Kent/Kar-EL do?

Well yea, I didn’t watch the original series before (except for the movies on TV, enjoyed it as a kid) but I did read the manga, glad that they bypassed the kiddish front parts which were exceedingly lame at times. The show was touted as a remastered HD version (my foot). Basically, it’s just recropped and upscaled to higher resolutions. The OP had me and I’m sure, many others, fooled. Since this is going to last 100 episodes intead of 250++, I reckon this will be a smooth paced show that will stick to the manga closely, shove off the fillers and 10 minutes panning scene that we are all sick of in naruto (and in past dragonball episodes I heard). As long as the fighting scenes are “enhanced” and not draggy, I sure this will be THE anime to to watch when you want to switch off.

7 Responses to “Dragonball Kai : The Last Son of Planet Vegeta”


  1. 8 April 2009 at 6:47 am

    Great post and screenshots!

    I hope Kai gets Dubbedd too

  2. 8 April 2009 at 4:15 pm

    I think I preffered this when I was 8 and used it as an excuse to throw rocks and the fat kid while yelling ‘kameyamha’

  3. 8 April 2009 at 6:36 pm

    You gotta admit this is still one of the best shounen series around though =p

    Just watched Shangri-La. Woo, are you going to blog it?

  4. 9 April 2009 at 4:11 pm

    It is the king of shounens and I did watch it when I was younger so I’ll never say a bad word against it.

    As for blogging Shangri-La, oh god no, I don’t have time. In less than 2 months I have the exams which decide whether I get into a half decent college so nope, no time whatsoever

  5. 13 April 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Lex Luthor–spot on!

  6. 14 April 2009 at 12:46 am

    @5camp : Hehe, I read the manga on my ipod touch last year and I was so entertained =X
    May blog it after exams then..

    @Brian: Goku is the jap version of superman ahaha with ‘improved’ powers.

  7. 18 September 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Ha, this is awesome. Well done.

    I wrote an article about the similarities between Goku and Superman as a chapter for my book, The Dao of Dragon Ball. You can read the entire article at the following site:

    http://www.thedaoofdragonball.com/Excerpt/dao-Of-Dragonball-A-Super-Man.html

    The site and article are out of date, with new unreleased versions in development. Point being that the article is relevant to your observations above, and I thought you might like to read it.

    I never really thought about calling him The Last Son of Planet Vegeta, but I like that term and might start using it!


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


