13
Apr
09

Fullmetal Alchemist 2 Episode 2 Review

This is me after watching the episode.

This is me after watching the episode.

Read on to find out why.

Episode 1 was no doubt refreshing. It gave us fresh content, a look into most of the characters from the series and showcased an impressive city-wide fight. However, even though this(for those who thinks I am referring to the whole series, please refer to the next highlighted text to find out what ‘this’ is referring to) is a re-make with the same characters within the same time-line with minor changes, the story more or less remains the same. Thus, the script writers are constrained into writing new material and yet, not change the overall story too much. Therefore, what we get is a ‘fill-in the gaps’ tactic coupled with ‘picking-out-the-main-scenes’ and inserting it into these ‘new’ scenes. This equates into a ‘remake’. In other words, it’s the same thing presented differently.

What was comfortably covered in the original series over a course of 2-3 episodes was rapidly compiled and compressed into one episode. And for the sake of new scenes, we even see Edward being mean to winry! And winry declaring her undyingandeverlasting support for edward’s uhm, parts and lastly, a seemingly depressed Edward. The examinations pales in comparison to the original series. Overall, this episode blows in terms of entertainment. For those who watched the original series, you can pick out the original lines that were used, especially those before and after their mum’s death. It’s as if the scriptwriters looked through the original script and summarised by picking out the ‘main lines’.

i

Those who watched the original series should just laugh and bid this series farewell.

Or maybe not, let’s wait and see. Perhaps the writers have good reasons to compress the introduction of Edward, from a not-so-normal kid to a state alchemist. At the moment though, new watchers will continue to be disoriented by the rapid change in timeline and scenes while oldies will groan at the dismal presentation of the birth of the full metal alchemist, Edward Elric.

P.S. I’m currently rewatching the original series at the same time. Just had the thought that they removed all the side stories aka fillers(in the sense that the episodes were used to develop Ed’s character and not the plot). Perhaps they will only be covering the parts that have relevance to the main plot and later on, we will get a divergence from the original series and get a whole brand new spanking ending. We can only hope.

28 Responses to “Fullmetal Alchemist 2 Episode 2 Review”


  1. 1 Gabest
    13 April 2009 at 3:05 pm

    hmm, this is no remake, they just released the cut parts of the original series! someone sould merge them to make an epic 100 episode fma.

  2. 13 April 2009 at 10:40 pm

    I believe that the writers intend to squeeze the first half of the original series into the first few episodes before the turning point at the original series where the story deviates away from the manga. I myself did not watch the original series, so I’m thankful for these few episodes–though seems rushed–filling in for what I have missed in the original series. Obviously they will pick up to the point where the original manga is, instead of the altered story from the original anime series. Correct me if I’m wrong but I have a feeling that there will be more than 50 episodes for FMA.

  3. 14 April 2009 at 12:44 am

    I read somewhere that BONES will cast as much as episodes as possible to stay true to the story for FMA so it can be more than just 50 episodes. This series introduces what was necessary for the sake of introducing, the original series entertained while introducing, that’s what make it nicer to watch =)

  4. 5 DemonLamma
    15 April 2009 at 11:28 am

    This is not a remake but is following the manga storyline(which IMO is much better than the first anime series) and so far it has done a splendid job

    Anyone who hasn’t read the manga wouldn’t pick up on it but so far there have been some major differences between the anime and manga that have been popped into this series quite subtly.

    I’m guessing by ep 8-9 this is going to be COMPLETELY different from the first anime just like when the anime and manga split storyline paths.

  5. 16 April 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Hmm, I have only watched the original anime series but not read the manga so I can’t really say. I guess the 1st series just had too much side stories for your liking?

    =O Ok, if that’s the case, that will be good since that means more new material! =D

  6. 19 April 2009 at 6:47 am

    Now here I have to disagree with you here. While I loved the original FMA (what I was able to watch of it, anyway) I still think this is loads better. The animation is much better, the art was beautiful, and the story is explained much more indepth (and in a very entertaining way). But don’t worry, they arn’t just going to re-animate the original series all over again – the new series is going to follow the manga plot. So although it seems the exact same now, within a few episodes the plot will be different from what the first season did as the manga and anime story lines split.

  7. 20 April 2009 at 2:26 am

    I feel that your comment applies much more readily to episode 3 than episode 2 though. I just didn’t like the rushed feeling in episode 2. Too much in too little time.

  8. 9 Luis
    20 April 2009 at 8:48 am

    This isn’t a remake, the story will be similar for around 10-15 episodes, after that, everything will be completely different, since it’s based (truly) on the Manga.

  9. 10 Steven
    22 April 2009 at 9:52 am

    What’s with everyone being upset that the first few episodes are covering so much time? I think they want to fast forward to the point where the first anime branched off from the manga and then take their time from then on. And, I couldn’t agree more. View these episodes as recaps, and let’s get to King Xerxes!

  10. 11 Evolution
    22 April 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Mmkay, this is no remake. Honestly, how many of you people read the manga? Season 1 follows the manga up until around the death of Maes Hughes and then diverges from the story because the author of the manga did not want both the anime and the manga to have the same ending.

    Season 2 will remain the same as Season 1 up until where Maes hughes dies and will then follow the manga in its entirety. Reasoning? Lust refers to her “Father” in episode 3 of FMA 2 instead of Dante as she does in FMA 1. Ed also speaks of Xerxes in episode 2 of FMA 2 which he NEVER does in FMA 1. In the intro, the VERY FIRST PERSON WE SEE is a young Hoenheim, who is MUCH MUCH older than he seems. We even catch a glimpse of Lust’s “Father” in Episode 2 of FMA 2 and in the intro sequences.

    That said, THIS IS NOT A REMAKE!!! IT will be very similar for the first 1/2 of the series due to the FMA 1 following the manga 1/2 way, but it will change and it will be much better than FMA 1.

    Try reading the god damned manga and you’ll see what I mean. Educate yourselves before posting please, it makes appear as ignorant.

  11. 22 April 2009 at 2:30 pm

    When I mentioned remake, the context of which I used it is to be applied in totality to this episode alone, not the whole series. (come on, use some common sense, the whole series isn’t out yet, how can i even say the whole of the current series is going to be a remake. jeez.)

    and no i don’t want to read the ‘god damned’ manga. it will spoil the fun of watching the anime, relax, why so angrrrrrry?

  12. 13 yousuck
    23 April 2009 at 9:37 pm

    you suck hard. if u want something completely “new” then don’t watch this one. watch only AFTER the story has turned into something different than the first series. but then again, there’s nothing “new” too bcos i’ve read the whole manga!

  13. 14 yousuck
    23 April 2009 at 9:42 pm

    and yeah, i agree with evolution. because people like YOU just watch anime and NEVER read manga. that is why people like you are so screwed up. i bet you prefer watching all eng dub rather than eng subs even.

  14. 23 April 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Ooooh, name calling. Oh wait, I forgot to greet you. Hi, yousuck.

    Ok, now I will be very civil here, everyone is entitled to their own opinions here from different perspectives. Glad that you manage to read the manga and then be able to continue to watch the anime without feeling bored. I applaud your enthusiasm in reading the manga and watching both series, perhaps, without subtitles?

    I’m sure all those who watch the 2nd series spent their time reading the manga as well. And they do the same for other series as well, such as soul eater etc. etc. You do that for all series I presume? I’m sorry I can’t achieve your high standards of proficiency. You see, I have something called life and life is made up of university and other stuff. And my post is from the point of view of one who didn’t read the manga but watched the first series BUT I do understand one point: this series follows the manga more closely but not necessarily following it entirely. This concept has been batter around to death before the series even started. I’m well aware of that, thank you very much.

    In your first comment, you wrote “if u want something completely “new” then don’t watch this one.”
    Please read the whole post again and pick out where I was complaining about the lack of ‘new’ content. I praised the writers for adding new content in the 1st episode. I agonised over the rapid compression of the backstory of both brothers into one episode AND because of this compression, one cannot help but feel disoriented by the rapid transition from 1 arm 1 leg edward to a full metal alchemist. So in a sense, I’m lamenting the fact that this could have been done slower, in other words, from your way of saying ‘I DON’T WANT THE NEW CONTENT SO FAST, DEVELOP THEIR BACKSTORY PROPERLY FIRST’. Oh wait, isn’t this totally OPPOSITE of what you just accused me of. Oh my…what a non-surprise.

    Evolution misunderstood me about the ‘remake’ part. Like I said, I was referring to the episode being a remake, not the whole bloody story. Seems you don’t read the comments either. I see you have selective vision, perhaps you can select not to read this blog anymore if you don’t like it? So watching it with english subs makes you superior to oh, many of those who watch english dub? oh please, the notion of this idea tickles me so. And no, I do not watch with english dub, I watch with english subtitles unlike you who should be watching without any subtitles?

    You see, I respect Evolution for watching his FMA carefully and spotting details that we missed out and wrapped up his admittedly, misunderstood argument about this not being a remake and I agree with Evolution wholeheartedly. This is because it has been my stand even before I started watching the series, yes this is not a remake. YES I AGREE THIS IS NOT A REMAKE. HAPPY? Yousuck.

  15. 24 April 2009 at 2:35 am

    Ah well done Loba in keeping your head in your retaliation:)

    I’ve always been an anime fan over a manga one (why read ‘bang’ when you can actually hear an explosion). Plus I watched the original series in english (it’s so wierd hearing Al sound like Taiga, I just can’t get used to it) so I seem exactly like the type of person yousuck doesn’t like.

  16. 17 Zephyr-Kun
    25 April 2009 at 9:21 am

    Dont get mad Loba! XP

  17. 28 April 2009 at 3:57 am

    Well if this series is truly going to follow the manga as they say, the changes won’t seem so “minor” soon enough. Its not so much a remake as a reboot, and its going to follow the original storyline rather than bank off into the nonsensical mess that was the first anime series. This unfortunately leaves them having to deal with a bit of an overlap as the first series started off at least kind of faithful to the original material.

  18. 19 Zareph
    28 April 2009 at 5:52 am

    I have read the manga, seen the original FMA, and watched the 4 episodes of FMA:B which have aired so far.
    So far, the first FMA anime has followed the story much more closely, as there have been scenes that wasn’t in neither the manga nor the original FMA anime. Indeed, the entire first episode of FMA:B has no relevance to the manga whatsoever.

    At any rate, if FMA:B will follow the manga more closely (which it doesn’t seem to do – yet, but maybe that’s just so people won’t feel they’re watching the same thing over again), then it should be almost the same as the first FMA anime until around episode 22~, where the Greed arc picks up. In other words, it should be more than just a few episodes till you see new “content”, so to speak.
    But as they have already screwed up the first episode here, and several scenes in the other 3, I think you’d be better off watching the first FMA till around episode 20, then FMA:B episode 21 and onwards. IF you want to see something that resembles the manga anyway.

  19. 20 Demon34
    30 April 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Zareph, tha tis true in some ways that the 2nd hasnt really followed the manga, but so far from what i’ve seen FMA:B is sticking closer to the manga, the first strayed away from the manga from the way scar killed the Iron Blood Alchemist Basque Gran. and how he killed the chimera tucker made. and so far from what i’ve seen FMA:B is stickin to the manga

  20. 21 Wow
    2 May 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Hi there.

    Ehm, well, to be honest, this review is really interesting. I mean for the comments

    what with you people? Im sure enough that no matter what will the season be, we’ll enjoy it. We all are fma fans, right? We shouldnt get angry just because the other fans doesnt read the manga or thinks that it will be a remake. Differencial makes this world felt amazing, right?

    However, i feel very pleased when i read the news that there will be the 2nd one. For me it just means more ep to follow, more chance to watch elric brothers’ story… All hail fma! I wont really care bout how will it be. What they said? Oh, just follow the flow.

    Loba, i think yousuck wont open this website anymore to read your reply. At least i would if i was him..Or her?

    Do you people think that these 3 ep will be important enough? There’s no legal fma anime in my town, only in capital city… I think maybe i can order the ilegal one, but right now im facing some graduation test and have no time to. So i decide to download it, but cant find a good place to…

    also, i havent watch the first season, which mean i should download many ep..

    Can anyone tell me where can i download the high quality and english sub one? Well, it’s also fine with the english dub…

  21. 3 May 2009 at 12:58 am

    Hi Wow,

    I don’t know about him (I think it’s definitely a him), I don’t really care, he’s entitled to his own rant.

    Well, the 2nd and 3rd episode would be crucial to the overall plot but you could skip episode 2 if you wish.

    My advice is to focus on your graduation test, thereafter, go to any streaming sites and watch those with subs.

    Watching the first series is not necessary, this second series is a reboot of FMA which follows the manga closer than the original first.

    Google is your friend.

  22. 23 Wow
    3 May 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Wow. Again.
    Youre really such a caring person. Do you check your blog everyday?

    Sbnrny gw cm kagok aja. Komen gw kan malu2in bo! Untg lo ngerti mksd gw apa. Tanpa mengungkit2 soal komen gw lg =3.

    ah,dont mind the paragraph above.
    i didnt think you’ll reply me that fast
    thx 4 d advice loba, but thats why i should watch the 1st season: coz it has a different story line. In the end, ed was killed by envy..Am i right? Wew, i cant stand to not watch it!

    My, im sure enough i wont 100 % focus in my test…

  23. 3 May 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Well, my exams just ended so…I check my email everyday which alerts me of comments made on the blog.

    Hmm, it’s all up to you. I don’t think ed got killed by envy, my memory is quite fuzzy on this, it’s been a long time since I watched FMA. Am currently at the 25th episode though.

    You should!

  24. 25 Wow
    3 May 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Hm. Nice way to spend time.

    Hey, when you finished, tell me how the ending was, ok? I myself wasnt believe that ed’s died… It will be very..Disappointed…

    I just cant…Oh my, there are new comics out there, the comics i was waiting for, but im trapped here in my house, unable to read them! Gosh! And actually im a little bit get sick of this test. Those exercises they gave me… Well, im really get bored.

  25. 3 May 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Wow (pun not intended)! Loba, what had you done? lol! For most mainstream anime fans, FMA is definitely awesome. I thought I was like most people but after getting to episode 4 now, I find the story quite boring and somewhat predictable — considering that the 2nd season is exactly the same to the 1st season. I have to admit it that I was never a fan of FMA and now, the 2nd season suggests me the same. On the hand, there’s other eye-browsing animes: Eden of the East, Basquash, Sengoku Basara, to name a few. But I am rooting out for the former though. Maybe because the main male character looks exactly like Morita-senpai from H&C (Gosh! I miss the show). The latter is just plain action anime. For the fun of it (with some awesome animation), Sengoku Basara is a catch.

  26. 27 Nioniosmeg
    22 June 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I saw the first series and I was so impressed, that the day after the day i started, I had finished it ’till the evening. It was the best anime I’ve ever seen, and Brotherhood is starting to be better. But I don’t understand where Wrath is…

  27. 28 Kurisuta1
    13 October 2009 at 11:10 pm

    There isn’t as much backstory in the manga to Ed becoming a State Alchemist as was presented in the first anime. That’s why it’s not there in this adaptation. Though, it was a bit rushed.


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


