06
Jun
09

Because Malaysia is an Otakuland!

Update: I got it all wrong. It was not “Don’t Bother None” and it wasn’t “Gotta Knock a Little Harder” as well. My bad. Either way, if you want the songs, just click on the provided links.

Driving is boring without some anime songs.

Driving is boring without some anime songs.

This happened 2 days ago, so I’m posting this kind of late but what happened remains to be a surprising revelation. It happened when I was driving on my way to work after I had my lunch when the radio DJ from the national English station, Traxx FM, began mutter out (I’m not exactly a radio listener but this one was too good to catch my attention) a very familiar name: Yoko Kanno. So the DJ continued as I quote:

Next up is a soundtrack from Yoko Kanno, used as the opening song for the animated movie, Cowboy Bebop. Here’s “Ask DNA”.

I went like “MAJI KA?” And yes, the DJ was not kidding. An anime song! Played on the national radio! On the airwaves! Listened by most Malaysians! I’m pretty sure I’m not the only otaku hyped out about this. So if you’re Malaysian, do tell if you had something similar of an encounter such as this one. Malaysia is indeed, truly OTAKU!

In case you’re wondering which Cowboy Bebop song I’m referring to, click here to play.

6 Responses to “Because Malaysia is an Otakuland!”


  1. 1 Masaru~
    6 June 2009 at 7:45 pm

    we won’t ever get anything like that over here in the netherlands ;_;

  2. 6 June 2009 at 11:21 pm

    wait. you drive?

  3. 3 blindability
    7 June 2009 at 7:33 am

    No FAIR! In my area, you wouldn’t even hear the words “cowboy” or “bebop” in the same sentence.

  4. 7 June 2009 at 11:12 am

    @ Loba: Yeah, I drive. What’s wrong with that?
    @ Masaru & Blindability: Again, Malaysians are bunch of otakus. Good chance that the radio DJ is an otaku himself.

  5. 5 Kikuri
    7 June 2009 at 11:41 am

    You guys have the most awesome animeblog to date! Keep it up!!! I’ll be ‘ctrl+D’ ur blog for sure!

  6. 17 June 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Seriously!? Goddamn, I need to go back to M’sia again! I can’t imagine shit like that happening here is Sydney! >_<


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


