07
Dec
09

Nyan Koi! episode 9

I know Kaza’s been reviewing Nyan Koi but he’s going on a bit of a hiatus so I’ll be finishing up the season for him. Forgive me in advance for the lack of his humor and observation of Junpei’s finer “male” mannerisms. (Did I hear boobies going “booing” somewhere in the distance?)

In Episode Nine, we explore Sumiyoshi’s feelings for Junpei a little more. …In a swimming pool setting. Who doesn’t like to study for finals at an indoor pool?

(I use this picture because it’s too cute to ignore. I do that to my cat sometimes; it’s probably why he bites me.)

For starters: Am I the only one who thinks rented bathing suits is a little weird? I live in Canada and in my fair little city, there aren’t any public pools where bathing suits can be rented. And even if they had that option, I wouldn’t rent a swimsuit even if it meant I had to swim in my underwear. But that’s just me.

By this point only those as dense as Junpei don’t realize that Sumiyoshi has feelings for him. Up until now, it’s been quite fun to watch Kanako deal with the many women flocking around our young protagonist, but now we take a more sincere look at how heart-wrenching it is for her to balance her feelings for Junpei while respecting his feelings for Mizuno, and Junpei’s completely platonic view of Kanako herself. I have to admit that I’m a fan of Junpei and Kaede and for a while (according to Kaza’s poll in the previous review) I wasn’t the only one, but after watching Episode Nine, I can’t help but feel for Kanako. I mean, how many times have we known (or been) women who liked someone who only liked someone else? I mean, the girl even goes as far as fighting off his other friends to deliver his homework and sticks around to make him food. And what does she get in return for her loving kindness? Her crush wondering why she’s there instead of someone else (*cough*Kaede*cough).

On the other hand, Junpei moves forward with Kaede after copping a feel.

Just kidding. Their relationship hasn’t advanced.

He did grab her breasts, though.

He also helps two cats (one who was lost and one whose owner had put him on a diet) without slowing down the plot, which I always feel the writers do a good job in managing. We all understand he’s under a curse to help the cats lest he turn into one himself, but there’s so much going on whilst he aids the feline community that you’re not dreading what “favour” he has to perform for any given Meow. It’s actually also because of his interaction with cats that makes his relationship with Kanako and Kaede more interesting as he finds that he must repeatedly protect them from sharing in his curse. This allows Kanako to see Junpei’s “gentler” side while it causes Kaede… more confusion.

The only near dead weight the series seems to be carrying around are Junpei’s concubines: The Twins (Kotone and Akari), Nagi-senpai, and Mail Lady Chizuru. They’re the kind of characters who are amusing but take up a lot of time and space without adding to the story itself. (Granted, if you like the twin-tail or smaller-breasted-athletic thing then you’ve got additional eye-candy.) No one is surprised to see these other students of Junpei’s school “coincidentally” appear at the same pool but if you have to showcase Chizuru in between the segments, then perhaps she shouldn’t appear at all. Maybe some people need to be reminded that Honey Toast should not be sent through the mail but maybe those people should just learn from trial and error on their own. Haruhiko and Kouta, on the other hand, blend nicely into the background and only step forward at the right moments; the same could be said about the members of the Ichinose household.

As for the progression Kaza had predicted (and perhaps hoped for)… I wonder if we might be waiting a little longer – which worries me a little since we’re nearing the end of the series (there are only twelve episodes) and the preview for Episode Ten is as follows:

If used correctly, Pocky can lead to second base

In the name of the moon I will... wait a minute

Kaede has her own problem in dealing with her situation with Junpei, though. Quite aware of Kanako’s feelings, Kaede seems to be working out her feelings since the amusement park. I can only hope that something happens for them in the next three episodes.

5 Responses to “Nyan Koi! episode 9”


  1. 1 kaza
    7 December 2009 at 4:03 am

    “(Granted, if you like the twin-tail or smaller-breasted-athletic thing then you’ve got additional eye-candy.)”

    LMAO.. and you say ‘excuse me’ for the absence of my humor? Ha, you got me rollin continually on just this one…

    Oh, I totally agree with you and how Chizuru was kinda put in there a little too carelessly. Like you said, Ichinose clan and Dum and Dummer were just fine, but her… oh but her.

    Hey, BTW. On a scale of 1-10 of how great your doing with this… I give you a 50. Heh, keep it up!

  2. 7 December 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Episode 10 does give more time to the twins, but I agree that there are a bit too many characters who do too little in this series. It doesn’t detract from the show, but it wastes a lot of opportunities to add to it. As much as I find Chizuru’s antics amusing, she doesn’t really do much except show up for a quick joke now and then. Which makes me wonder why she has as prominent of a place in the OP animation as Kaede, Kanako, and Nagi.

    Good job on your first post after taking over for Kaza. I liked the formatting you used for the images, it’s different from most blogs and reminds me a bit of a magazine’s picture formatting.

  3. 3 kaza
    8 December 2009 at 2:26 am

    Yea! I love you style of posting too. I thinks its much better then mine. Which by the way I still need to figure out how to do that picture placing thing without making it look like a mess. 😄

  4. 4 blindability
    8 December 2009 at 3:22 am

    Thanks Kaza and Ex.O! This is my way of balancing pictures and content. It takes me a LONG time to publish each post because picture placement is sometimes trial and error, haha. Seriously unprofessional, I know.

    I should have Episode 10 up real soon!

  5. 5 kaza
    8 December 2009 at 4:05 am

    I knew it wasn’t that easy!!! I thought I was just a little to slow…lol


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


