19
Dec
09

Slaves to Society We Are

Poro, Junior Editor

Slaves to Society

We are slaves to society.  We know our rights and wrongs from society.  We wear what society tells us to wear.  We eat what society cooks.  We watch what society thinks is appropriate and allowable.  We read what society writes.  Because society basically intervenes in almost all sectors of our lives,  how we perceive and judge things as society tells us.  Including anime.  Sometimes anime blogs are eye-opening, amazing, and filarious (fucking + hilarious = filarious) like this blog ;).   It could be what our parents define as “peer pressure.”

In Engrish?

Society and Sunrise make and select what anime you watch and the aniblogsphere affects how you view it.

When I was an Anime-Fanling…

This has nothing to do with the post

The first blog I ever ventured to with my old Dell computer ( I was a noob then)  was Darkmirage.com.  I stumbled upon this by accident when I was looking for info on anime.  This guy was funny, awe-inspiring, and very, very critical.  He made taught me to view anime quite a bit more criticizingly and how to filter what sunrise fed me.   Instead of thinking “oooooo… pretty colors,” I thought “WTF this has way too much action and no substance!”  I realized that just because everyone watches Naruto doesn’t devoid the possibility of it being overrated, slightly shallow, and fanservice -saturated.  I was embittered and fascinated at the same time.   But from that point on, I didn’t enjoy anime as much as I did before unless it was REALLY good.  I didn’t enjoy Gundam OO, Code Geass, Nyan Koi, and other superficial, stereotypical anime.  I digress.

This is actually relevent

Sora no Manimani

Let me tell you another story.  This time  Sora no Manimani.  Interesting enough “mani” in Korean means many!  Because of this simple coincidence I decided to watch it. I watched the first 3 episodes without glancing at a blog I fell in love.  It was realistic, funny, and well astronomirific.  I am a nature-hippie who just is at awe  by non-light polluted night skies.   When I clicked to my usual blogs, including Bokutachi, I frowned :(.  They all said it was bad or lacking something.  Usually if a blog said that it was bad, I wouldn’t rock the boat and just reluctantly go with the flow.  But this time I ranted something like this: Fuck the aniblogsphere and screw the hell with everyone else!  No one is going to fucking stop me from liking this damn anime.  You got a problem?  I DO NOT care.  So there!  It isn’t corny, had no fanservice which shouldn’t exist in anime at all (I’m beserk ranting in wasp wrath), and superficial.  I liked watching Sora no Manimani every week and no blog (even this one) stopped me.

Conclusion

This has absolutely nothing to do with the post

I spent 10 minutes on something that needed only a minute.  But WTF.  It’s winter break and just because your favorite anime blog says that X anime  sux dix and should be nuked doesn’t mean you have to follow suit.  Don’t jump on the bandwagon.  Remember, when you watch an anime for the first time, just clear your head of all that pent-up excitement, anime hype building, or whatever that could influence how you look at an anime and enjoy.

As told by just another hypocritical aniblogger with schizophrenia

10 Responses to “Slaves to Society We Are”


  1. 1 FaS
    19 December 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Yeah I definitely hear you. That’s one thing I love about the anime bloggosphere (I hate saying that btw). Everything is so personal. I’m very tired of looking at a site and wondering who writes it, are they a “real” person, why does the writing have to be so boring and emotionless…etc. Stumbling upon nice sites yours (which obviously I have on my blogroll) and others who take the time to Write reviews more wholesome than cheerios really makes me excited. Im sure you also agree there’s nothing* better than telling a whole bunch of people what YOU think and getting a myriad of people to read it and especially respond. I feel as cliche as this sounds, anime blogs are FOR the people BY the people. The silly places like imdb or nytimes don’t know Jack-and-the-beanstalk about anime and for people like you (while I’m trying to) talking about the more “real” aspects of shows and whatnot that aren’t so mainstream is beautiful. It’s what we all need. Like a breath of fresh air, it’s something the anime community should need to live.

  2. 2 RP
    19 December 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Ooh, another Sora no Manimani fan! We’re going to get along just fine. =D

  3. 19 December 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Hey! You’re hired into the team, isn’t it? Of course, the media mainstream tells you to watch which shows they want you to. I’m sorry if none of us paid more attention to Sora no Manimani but to be honest, as a fellow blogger, before we consider following on an anime, we read the synopses (usually from ANN). Personally, I usually get all the the first episodes from every anime titles to watch but as of late, I don’t have the time to practically watch ALL animes. So I had to select and my selection criteria include plot synopsis, character design, and the production staff involved. Usually a good plot and a good list of crews make up a good anime.

    I don’t mean to protest against you. All I am trying to convey is the common thought of the common anibloggers (the non-schizophrenic-hypocritical type). And great post, BTW.

  4. 19 December 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Oh dear, I was a little bit harsh on Sora no Manimani when I blogged it. Actually out of the three people I knew who blogged it, I was by far the most harsh on the series. I did actually like it but I also stand by my statement that it’s too unadventerous and unoriginal for me to ever really love the series. It does get annoying when someone bashes a series you love, which is why I really don’t like it when I have to talk about a poor episode while blogging a series, but if you’re not honest in your review then nobody will take your word when you genuinly proclaim you love a series.

    In other news, you don’t like Geass??????

  5. 5 SPIRAL
    19 December 2009 at 8:26 pm

    SABER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Anyways, we all got different tastes, and anything goes as long as you know what’s up and what’s not. 😀
    anyways…
    SABER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. 20 December 2009 at 1:44 am

    It’s true that we all should judge anime by ourselves and not be easily swayed by other people’s opinions but hearing other people is still a necessity. In case of truly bad anime, listening to others’ voices can save time and energy 🙂

  7. 7 Poro
    20 December 2009 at 2:54 am

    @Fas and RP
    Indeed ^_^

    @Brian
    That’s the sad reality for the common (and schizophrenic-hypocritical type) aniblogger. We can only choose a certain number of anime and maintain that number.:'( on a brighter note: *bows* arigato gozaimasu

  8. 20 December 2009 at 3:13 am

    Groupthink can take over (in both hyping and bashing a series) a lot of times via the community, so it is important now and then to separate in one’s mind how you felt about the episode you just watched and how you felt after reading a blog post on that episode. To be sure, reading a post on a series you’re following can greatly enhance the experience or even change your mind, but it’s wise not to let the fan community response affect your objectivity. And if you like a series that no one else does, then whatever to them it’s about your enjoyment. I think the greater danger lies in becoming too critical, especially due to the influence of the community, than in being too accepting. After all it’s about having fun and enjoying yourself.

    And I just have to chime in that I watched and blogged SoraMani last season (the first show I blogged) and I loved it. I enjoyed it just as much as Bakemonogatari, which was much more original in its execution and got much more praise. Scamp, RP, and I had a lot of back and forth conversations about it, as well as shipping wars (All hail Fumie!), and it was my impression that while it wasn’t the most original in most aspects, it made up for its lack of new concepts by doing what it did really, really well and giving new details to its more standard components. And it got me back into/seriously into astronomy as well 🙂

  9. 9 Poro
    20 December 2009 at 7:12 am

    @Scamp
    I understand what your saying. I don’t like anime that is all about a harem or about a guy who is all powerful AND has a harem like Sora no Otoshimono. We all have different tastes just like how Spiral-san said.

    @Spiral
    SABER!!!!!!! *wub*

    @Executive Otaku
    It wasn’t original? What do you mean? All anime can derived from other anime because there are so many. For example…
    Sora no Otoshimono = Dr. Slump (this is an old one but still a previous anime) + angels – cyborgs/sci-fi

    That doesn’t mean it isn’t original. I mean, I hardly know an anime that would take the time to be realistic and slightly informative. Realism is something that would be uninteresting to most cuz we all want to see pretty explosions. But that’s just it, Sora no Manimani was the first ever anime that I saw that caught my attention and was very, very realistic. I used to watch anime for the action, the awesome mech, and the girls too. Now, like LSD, it doesn’t interest me any more. Now I need more mind-boggling interesting stuff. Fine Sora no Mani wasn’t but it was realistic which is hard-pressed to find in anime


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


