21
Dec
09

Top Ten OP Sequences

How I judged this category was by the following criteria:

1) Good song

2) Good lyrics

3) Good singer

4) Relates to the anime itself

5) Is it worth the 1:30 minutes to watch over and over for each episode?

Coming in tenth place, it’s [Spiral] by angela in Asura Cryin’

It’s not the best openings, but it gives a good idea of what the anime is about.  For those of you wondering, I did NOT get my SPIRAL from this SPIRAL.  ;D

9th – K-ON!

Good anime, but the OP sequence doesn’t really keep up to it.  It’s good, don’t get me wrong, but it’s repetitive.  However, if I didn’t put this up I think that I would face a lynch mob.

8th-Kobato

Yes, I would never consider watching the anime, but the OP convinced me in the biggest of ways to watch the first two episodes.  The singing is what really put this higher than K-On!

7th- One Piece OP 11 [Share the World]

I personally love DBSK (that’s what we called them in Korea, since they’re Korean-based). Share the World is a decent song, good scenes that really describe One Piece, and although it’s longer (2:30), you don’t mind watching it over and over with each episode.

6th place – Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~ [Karma]

Confusing OP, just like the first half of the anime.  This OP really captures what assassins and the like go through, especially Reishiro and Elen in the anime.

5th place – Nyan Koi! [Nyanderful]

Cute, good singing, and follows a cat-theme – just kiddin, it’s pretty good as OP go and this is honestly the one anime sequence I didn’t skip to watch the actual show this season.  Pure goodness out of cats.

4th place – Shangri-la

Not only do you get a feel of the characters and the plot, but you get an idea of the whole setting just by watching this.  Kuniko FTW

3rd place- Haruhi Suzumiya [Super Driver]

Yes, I know I was as disappointed as you with the second season, but the OP song is flat-down good and properly demonstrate Haruhi’s capability as God and perhaps the all-time modern favorite merchandise of anime.

2nd place- Clannad ~After Story~

*sigh* This anime made me cry, and towards the later episodes, even the OP started to make me water in the eyes.  Good calm song, to describe the flow of the plot, introduces all the characters, and nice lyrics to help the people understand love and compassion in the past.

AND THE GRAND WINNER OF THE BEST ANIME OP SEQUENCE OF 2009

What were you expecting?  Of course this would win – kickass graphics, good song, tells the storyline pretty decently, filled with non-stop action, lyrics especially written for the anime,  and obviously the winner of the OP sequence awards ==> Mind as Judgement by Faylan


12 Responses to “Top Ten OP Sequences”


  1. 1 Kairu
    21 December 2009 at 10:19 am

    You have bad taste in anime OPs. WHAT? Canaan OP!? Are you kidding me?
    The only 3 OP i loved on your list are the 2nd to 3rd place.

  2. 2 SPIRAL
    21 December 2009 at 11:09 am

    @ Kairu:
    good, I’m glad to know that.

  3. 3 SPIRAL
    21 December 2009 at 11:11 am

    and pray, good tell, what you would put as your top ten?

  4. 4 Poro
    21 December 2009 at 11:14 am

    @Kairu
    wtf man I actually think that spiral’s decision is dot on except clannad aired ages ago

    I mean Clannad’s opening is so epic! I thought wtf why is this in second place?!?! Then I clicked play for the youtube vid for Canaan…
    Yeah Spiral, 100% back up. but isn’t just the shows in 2009? Who cares Clannad OP is one of my all time favorites. and if I ever get the chance to see Canaan… one of my top ten fav OP may be changing to Canaan’s

  5. 5 SPIRAL
    21 December 2009 at 11:25 am

    Clannad ~After Story~ second half actually aired the beginning of 2009, so it has to go in ;D

  6. 21 December 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Most of the OP listed are decent but not notably great. The ones that I agree with you is Phantom, Canaan and Shangri-La. The others are quite generic for me and I think Eden of the East and Aoi Hana’s OP can easily replace any one of them.

  7. 21 December 2009 at 10:01 pm

    No Ride Back, no Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou, no Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood, no Umineko, no Spice and Wolf, NO EDEN OF THE EAST!!!!

    We have veeeerrrryyy different taste in music.

  8. 9 SPIRAL
    21 December 2009 at 10:11 pm

    HAHA @Scamp
    funny thing was that I was going to actually put FMA:Brotherhood, Spice and Wolf, and Eden of East up there, but for some odd reason or another, Kobato, Asura Cryin, and Nyan Koi took those spots

  9. 21 December 2009 at 11:38 pm

    I so much agree with others – Top one should be either Eden of the East or FMA: Brotherhood (Either of the two, both just beat everything else), for second Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou or something close to it.

    Nyan Koi Op better than K-On? Huh?…Wha?… I mean, Nyan Koi Op is like one of the worst not best, the voice of singer is making my ears bleed, not to mention all this pinkness and fluffy scenes, while K-On! has some very random yet unique scenes comparing to that Lovey-Dovey~+Cats crap.

    Other than that, I can agree that Canaan op is good, but heck, it’s not all that great. Phantom op also deserves better spot, I mean, WHY IS NYAN KOI BELOW PHANTOM! ‘Karma’ is damn poetic, with good music and catchy lyrics + scenes, yet you picked cats over it!

    That’s my honest opinion. /catches a breath

  10. 11 kadian1364
    22 December 2009 at 5:23 am

    Let’s see, the OPs from this year that I enjoyed were S&W2, EotE, DBKai, Guin Saga, and Haruhi-chan (the little web series).

    Bakemonogatari had some queer OPs, but everyone had at least 1 favorite of the bunch (mine’s Mayoi Snail).

  11. 22 December 2009 at 12:14 pm

    FMA Brotherhood second OP. Period. Nico touches the Wall yo!


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


