22
Dec
09

Top Ten Female Characters of 2009

No Haruhi, you will not win this year, because you weren’t all that great.  That being said, female characters get judged on personality, role, influence, and looks.  This doesn’t necessarily mean they were in the best anime if they win, just that the characters are a good idea.  Sorry ladies, but top ten male characters will be done later with the help of my female friends, since I am not gay 😀

10th place – HARUHI SUZUMIYA (from Haruhi Suzumiya)

Gah, I couldn’t help it – Haruhi gets a spot at tenth place.  Really, she doesn’t deserve anything but watching the final scene of the Endless Eight made me so happy it changed my mind.  (Really KyoAni… the things you do…)

9th place- Kanako Sumiyoshi (Nyan Koi)

yes, why did I rank her higher than Kanade?  Because she deserves it personality-wise.  Kanade is an air-head, but Kanako gots the brains of the series.  She sets everything in motion, and continues to strive for her love towards Junpei.  I really hope that Nyan Koi 2 gets it going to Junpei x Kanako.

8th place – Ami-chan (Toradora!)

You won’t believe what comes up on Google unfiltered Images… wow.  Anyways, smart, model, cheerful, popular girl who gets the attention of almost everyone she meets.  Personally she was my favorite character of Toradora but due to many complaints, Taiga gets ranked higher.  Ami PWNS Taige 😛

7th place – Elen (Phantom ~requiem for the Phantom~)

Booklet01.jpg image by Lordgrave2

Yes, well brain-washed she might be, she’s still cute smart and very passionate about discovering who she is.  She’s physically well-built (she’s the world best assassin at one point LOL) but mentally unstable.  However, her relationship with Reiji shows that she’s a good girl after all.

6th place- Hinagiku Katsura (Hayate no Gotoku!! 2!!)

hinagiku.jpg image by Haruji

Yes, the first of the two Student Council presidents that made it up here.  She is Hayate no Gotoku’s most popular character, and I’m not surprised why – she’s mine too.

5th place- Taiga-chan (Toradora!)

Why some characters will win, I’ll never know.  Yes, she overcomes a crush to discover who she truly loves, and has a funny confession scene.  Yes, we know.

4th place – Kuniko Hojo (Shangri-La)

She saved her whole city into Atlas, defeated the bad guys, and is only 18.  Nice.  She also happens to be the leader of an entire rebel group.  Need I say more why she is ranked so high?  For you otakus, the reason why she’s small is because she’s been in jail for three years and hence “has not had enough nutrients” (quoted from the anime).

3rd place- K-ON girls ;D

20090402kon01093.jpg

Music sensation that’s rockin’ the anime nation.  Individually these girls are flawed, but they sure make a good band.   ‘nough said, check it out yourself on Youtube.  The ED [Don’t say Lazy!] is strangely addictive… I don’t know why, but it is.

2nd place- Shiina Mitsuki (Akane iru Somaru Saka TV/OVA)

chrst05nw5xt8.jpg

If I were to marry an anime girl, it would be her.  I usually don’t say that – I’ve only said that once, and that was for this super-cute, super-smart, Student council present girl who’s got a lot of contacts and power to do what she wants.  Plot-wise, she doesn’t play a significant role , but underneath, she’s the master mind behind everything.  Personally, I would rank her number one, but that was before I remembered… well, you’ll find out.

AND THE ALL-TIME 2009 FEMALE CHARACTER AWARD GOES TO… (no surprise)

Nagisa Furukawa (Clannad ~After Story~)

I’m seriously not surprised, and neither should you.  If you are, you’re missing a lot.  Watch the clips, and if that doesn’t convince you, watch the series, the OVA, and the movie.  I haven’t put in the best clips because those are spoilers to what happens to Nagisa.  Yes, only ~After Story~ was aired in 2009, but that still was as good as, if not better than, most of the anime that aired this year.

22 Responses to “Top Ten Female Characters of 2009”


  1. 1 OneSin
    23 December 2009 at 12:42 am

    Nagisa >3333333333333333333333333333

  2. 23 December 2009 at 1:29 am

    Wow, I know all these character except 2nd place. Glad that Haruhi got at least 10th place, and hooray for Ami, Taiga, and Hinagiku =) Kanako and Ein don’t get enough love so it’s nice seeing them on your list. Mio’s a bit overrated but I like her well enough I guess. I had some issues with Kuniko being a bit “too good to be true” but she was appealing. Nagisa’s personality is a bit too cliche and wish-fulfilling for my taste, but she had some great scenes in Clannad After Story, one particular one that made me cry (sure you know which one), so I can’t not like her.

    Overall, excellent list. Looking forward to the male characters.

  3. 3 Topspin
    23 December 2009 at 2:06 am

    Two girls from ToraDora? How rare! 🙂 I guess you didn’t care much for Spice and Wolf II? I found Horo to be even better now that we know she’s really an emotional wreck. I also felt Senjouhara was more compelling than Haruhi, but that’s because I’d had enough of Haruhi way back in 2008.

  4. 4 fmaestri90
    23 December 2009 at 5:35 am

    Hey!!, what about Senjougahara?.

  5. 5 Poro
    23 December 2009 at 6:35 am

    YESH Ami is awesome. Taiga well I actually only like her because of the palmtop tiger gag. I don’t know ANY of the girls besides them that aren’t in K-ON, Haruhi, or Shangri-la so

  6. 23 December 2009 at 7:24 am

    Oh, #1 is the girl that everyone I know wanted to die in the first season of Clannad, oh well 😛

    ‘K-On girls’ what the hell… Seriously…! Get Mio to #1 for Moe Moe Kyuun as a reason.

  7. 23 December 2009 at 7:42 am

    Hey!!, what about Senjougahara?.

    Yeah, seriously. I believe a mistake was made here.

    Also, Mitsuki might have been the best character in Akasaka, but that doesn’t make her list-worthy. Anyone could be the best character in Akasaka if they tried because the rest of the cast are doofuses.

  8. 23 December 2009 at 11:35 am

    Well, the Top 10 list (regardless of the title) is all depends on which anime you’ve watch this year (in this case, Spiral). The more animes you watch, the more choices to consider, the more variety on the list. A lot of this year’s anime failed to be included into this list. FMA, Inuyasha, Spice and Wolf, Nodame Cantabile, just to name a few, and those are the big titles of this year.

  9. 9 trebors
    23 December 2009 at 5:20 pm

    “k-on girls”
    you can’t have them all!

    and
    im disappointed!
    ami and hinagiku should score higher!
    and
    no senjougahara and biribiri!

    and clannad is 2008!

  10. 23 December 2009 at 6:04 pm

    It seems like everyone’s 14-18…no one’s 19…no one’s 20…or even 21…like wtf…I’m tired of trying to tell myself Ichigo from Bleach IS NOT A DAMN 15 YEAR OLD WITH A SWORD BIGGER THAN I AM.

  11. 11 SPIRAL
    23 December 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Clannad ~After Story~ is 2009

  12. 12 Poro
    23 December 2009 at 11:12 pm

    @FaS
    That’s why I like age-realistic and overall realistic anime. ^____^;

  13. 13 SPIRAL
    24 December 2009 at 10:11 am

    honesty would Senjougahara really win..?
    … no

  14. 14 PanTh3R
    24 December 2009 at 2:13 pm

    I completely agree to #1 i just hope there is a anime just as good as clannad because lately most anime haven’t really made much of an impression on me and the upcoming anime doesn’t look so great…

  15. 16 SPIRAL
    29 December 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Senjougahara’s got a quick tongue, and sharp behavior, but we’ve seen it all before. if you’ve watched anime as long as I have, then it’s not really that great of a character.

  16. 17 temperus
    30 December 2009 at 12:13 am

    Yeah, I’m glad someone else out there agrees that Bakemonogatari is overrated.. it’s alright, but seeing it and endless eight sell as well as they have proves that people will eat up marketing gimmicks. I’m disappointed in the fandom for bashing shows like Spice and Wolf or Book of Bantorra, heaping praise on stuff that’s much worse, and then whining about how there aren’t more original anime with “more adult” characters or stories. You do it to yourselves..

  17. 18 SPIRAL
    30 December 2009 at 12:14 am

    @temperus
    finally someone who agrees with me on the overrated aspects of Bakemonogatari – it’s a good anime, don’t get me wrong. but definetly not close to being that remembered or special

  18. 19 PanTh3R
    30 December 2009 at 3:38 pm

    ya i agree i personally don’t really like it i watched the first couple episodes and i just stopped it just didn’t interest me…

  19. 20 kaza
    30 December 2009 at 11:57 pm

    On Kanoko for 9th place…. Booooo, Nyan Koi 2 For Junpei and Kanade!!!

    BTW, couldn’t you come up with a better picture of her??

  20. 21 Amanda
    29 January 2010 at 2:23 am

    I really do not know what to say about this. Some of these women I know and some I do not. Watching the clips of Nagisa in Clannad ~After Story~ makes me want to watch the whole thing now.

  21. 22 nope
    2 May 2010 at 6:33 pm

    is there anyone like kushieda minori more than those toradora girls in the list? since I prefer minorin though.

    and who is the girl who comes second? never know about her lol


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


