30
Dec
09

Top Ten Anime of 2009

I got an early present for y’all – the final anime list is one day early.  YAY consider it a present for those of you who read this blog daily.  And after a long year of anime, we finally come to the final list.  The best anime of the year can only go to the best, meaning all qualities of the anime must be good.  Are you ready for the ultimate list?

Honorable Mentions (meaning they did not make the list but they’re worth trying out):

Canaan

Incredible graphics, yet disappointing storyline.  This could’ve easily won the best anime had it not been for the standing plot.

Shangri-La!

Good aspects all around, but the others were better.

Zan Sayonara Zetsubo Sensei

Comedy with random facts of society, life, and people – you either love this or hate this.  And I personally love it.

10th place – Darker than Black 2: Comet of Gemini

I expected the sequel to be somewhat better than DtB2 was not bad at all.  Good artwork, suspenseful plot, and good character designs.

9th place – Kimi ni Todoke

Watching this anime drama makes you feel relaxed as you watch the life of another person.  You feel calm and at peace watching this, yet you are always slightly amused by the antics of the characters.

8th place – Hetalia Axis Powers

Comedy and facts to broaden your mind – HAP and its sequel HAP2 are very good.   The character creations are very unique and the idea of the anime was surprisingly well thought-out.

7th place – K-ON!

Four girls with flaws just like any normal human being, yet they show the world together they make a kickass rockband.  The music is very good, the characters are funny, and the plot is very entertaining to watch.

6th place – Spice and Wolf 2

Usually sequels are not as good as the first reason but Spice and Wolf 2 actually managed to keep the same mood, if not make it better as the first season.  Lawrence and Horo’s love is heavily focused on this novel yet you see the passion for their individual dreams within the plot.

5th place – Eden of the East

I personally did not like this anime because I watched the drama of it (yes, the Korean drama came first), so the anime was a bit of a disappointment.  However, in itself, it’s very thrilling and fun, the plot never runs dry, and the action continues to come.

4th place – Phantom ~requiem for the phantom~

Phantom.jpg Phantom image by LaganMugen

Speaking of action, one of my favorite independent series this year was the Inferno Project.  The plot takes the most interesting turns and the characters are very well-drawn and thought-out.  Great action film and it uses its budget very well.

3rd place – FMA Brotherhood

Great series that gets continued on.  Need I say more?

2nd place- Summer Wars

If you guys remembered when I said, I jizzed in my pants after watching this, I hope you guys realize that I was just joking.  Great movie with great artwork – personally I liked their previous work better but if you want my full comment on this, read it on my previous post of Top Three Anime Movies of 2009: https://brianandrew.wordpress.com/2009/12/28/top-three-anime-movies-of-2009/#more-6631

AND THE 2009 WINNER IS… to no surprise:

Bakemonogatari

i013014734.gif

Congrats for Bakenmonogatari for winning with its epic DVD sales and amazing storyline with its brilliant characters!  It’s the series of the year, if that’s news to you.  Watch it if you haven’t – it’s epic.  Already watched it?  Watch it again – it’s epic.  And with that concludes my final post of 2009 and I will see you all in 2010.  Damn, I really don’t get any breaks – for those of you curious, the series I’ll be doing the upcoming season will be:

Dance in the Vampire Bund

Ladies vs Butlers

Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu

Omamori Himari

Seikon no Quasar

Look forward to them, because my goal is for these five series is to take a mediocre series (or what will seem to be) and make them look incredible through this blog.  XD  SPIRAL OUT.

18 Responses to “Top Ten Anime of 2009”


  1. 1 lily
    30 December 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Um, I think you made a mistake. On that korean drama for Eden of the East…did you mean East of Eden? I watched that show, too. Though the titles have similar words, the Korean drama has an entirely different storyline because it’s about two brothers…definitely not Eden of the East.

  2. 2 Kairu
    30 December 2009 at 6:02 pm

    OH WOW IS THAT BAKEMONOGATARI DUUR HUUUUUUUURRR

  3. 3 SPIRAL
    30 December 2009 at 6:30 pm

    @lily
    OH LOL big mistake on my part

  4. 30 December 2009 at 10:49 pm

    Nice list!
    but where is Tokyo Magnitude 8.0? it should at least receive honorable mention.
    Just an opinion 🙂

  5. 5 kaza
    31 December 2009 at 12:21 am

    Hell yes. I couldn’t have repeated this a little more… ok, maybe I can. F*** yea, Bakemonogatari got me baffled by the first episode. It was awesome in all ways. Unique design, characters were perfectly made, story line was consistent, and the action with tight.

    *two thumbs up*

  6. 31 December 2009 at 1:18 am

    Good list. I’ve seen all these titles except Zetsubou Sensei and Summer Wars. Nice seeing Phantom on there; I think it’s rather underrated.

    Heh, Bakemonogatari is the winner on another list. It’s certainly one of the most loved series this year.

  7. 7 Topspin
    31 December 2009 at 1:56 am

    What the heck is so special about Bakemonogatari anyway? I feel like the one guy in the universe who found it merely a bit above average, and not very thrilling. It’s characterization is depressingly flat even compared to Fullmetal Alchemist. Senjougahara annoyed the hell out of me, Horo was a much better “emotionally-damaged flirter”. And Lawrence was a much better “shy and selfless supporter” than Arararagi. Since you’re one of the few who also watched both series, maybe you can help shed some light on this? I thought people bought the DVDs just to freeze-frame and catch all those pretentiously distracting slides in the background.

  8. 8 SPIRAL
    31 December 2009 at 11:58 am

    @Topspin
    I can see where you’re coming from, but remember that everyone has different tastes, and the psychological effect of the “mob effect” where if a bunch of people like it it becomes a bigger hype than it is. I think that it’s what happened with Bakemonogatari – it’s good, but would it have been first place without the DVD and franchise sales?

  9. 9 Topspin
    31 December 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Hmm, yeah, I arrived at basically the same conclusion. 2009 has helped further cement the fact that otakudom is mob-ruled. Thankfully there are plenty of dissenting opinions in the online community this year about most of the anime.. I guess I’m just one of the few that didn’t end up in the “Bakemonogatari is #1” mob 🙂

  10. 10 SPIRAL
    31 December 2009 at 1:52 pm

    @topspin
    truthfully I wouldn’t either but I’d be killed by the mob who DID think that Bakemonogatari is the best this year.

  11. 1 January 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Disagree in 99%.

    10th DTB2.. ? What the.. K-On! was better? Being repeatable and simply cute? It’s even worse than Kimi ni Todoke…How for the love of God?

    Phantom was awesome, but again, Eden was better here, being compelling and great from the beginning to the end, while Phantom was really average in the first episodes.

    And finally, I can’t agree with FMA being worse than Bakemonogatari, I can agree that B… has very good characters, but plot? It’s so random! It’s making you confused more than anything else, well, most people would pick it because of Senjo being in there.

    Oh and where’s Zoku Natsume Yuujinchou? I’d ask about more, but most of the best series started coming out in October of 2008, even though they ended in 2009 and appearently you got a list of pure come-out and end in 2009 anime series, so no complaining here, but Natsume should surely be there too.

    As always, my honest opinion, I mean no offence.

  12. 12 Poro
    1 January 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Well Spice and Wolf 2 and Bakemonogatari are both convo oriented. If you didn’t spend the time like I did to read the sudden cards like red, black etc. with the more clear explaination by pausing it, it wouldn’t be as good. But I still don’t think it deserves 1st.

  13. 13 SPIRAL
    1 January 2010 at 10:39 pm

    @Shanny
    well I mean these things are so close together and it all comes down to the final say. in reality, all of the ten are good (or as good as each other)
    I mean, it could’ve been worse – I could’ve put Haruhi 2nd season up there

  14. 2 January 2010 at 5:07 am

    Meh it’s alright, I know lots of people who are hypnotised by Senjo xd

    I made my own list as I noticed that it won’t let me go, unless I shout what I have in my mind. And yes, your post was an inspiration x)

  15. 15 ShinnFlowen
    2 January 2010 at 4:43 pm

    I think spice and wolf in general is really great in it being unique (settings) so I’m glad others actually checked it out. Bakemonogatari was pretty kewl but they talk a bit fast for me to read .0. . Anyway, I’m glad this blogs opinions are diverse from main stream titles. Just for my information, do the reviewers actually WATCH most of the anime that comes out every season?

  16. 16 SPIRAL
    2 January 2010 at 4:51 pm

    yes, if you really want to know I’ve wanted 11 different anime this season

  17. 3 January 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I’m pretty happy with that list. Agree Bakemonogatari was a great series. Obviously it’s not quite done yet with those episodes to be released online. Still they really managed to draw me in and Senjogahara was an outstanding character. Probably would have moved Spice and Wolf 2 into the top 5, but I’m pretty happy with the series in the list regardless of specific positions.

    Let’s hope 2010 has some great series to remember a year from now.

  18. 5 January 2010 at 12:52 pm

    uhm…is these results accrding to majority?…or its youre own opinion?…cuz i beliv majority is the best..


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


