03
Jan
10

Baka to test to shoukanjuu christmas special

Why I didn’t catch this on air around the holidays is still a mystery to me.  I just caught wind of the 4-minute special this morning and unless they aired a Christmas special AFTER New Years, I probably missed it.  Hmm, that being said, we shouldn’t expect to much from 4-minutes except perhaps an introduction to the characters and maybe even another teaser trailer scene.  Needless without saying, I’m still expecting a decent run from this, even if it’s a four-minute special.  Oh, and if I’m going to blog this, I’m going to call it B2T2S because that makes my life so much easier.  Grazie.

Fools, Test, and Summons Beast” – They is winnar in grammar.

So it turns out that it’s a question-answer interview with one question that gives us insight into the characters and persona they are – What is Christmas? Mizuki (see above) goes first, saying it’s a day to spend with the people you love with the white glistening and falling snow.  She then goes off to kiss  a guy, who we can presume to be the male protagonist.  Her voice to me seems very annoying – so annoying that it would already consist of 90% of the reason why I would not want to continue watching this show… and then an interlude of hardcore Christians come, shouting that Christmas is the day we celebrate the birth of Christ, and nothing else.  Well… yes, we celebrate it for the Saviour but… we don’t usually take it to that extreme end.  …yeah, this random interlude of men consists of the other 10% why I would not continue to watch this show – if I’m going to get random interludes of old men screaming things out, I’ll go back to Ladies versus Butlers.

Promotional picture.

And then another interview, which I’ll presume to be Minami-chan, answers the question as Christmas being a day to spend with the boy she loves, walking together with one scarf and the like.  Awww, isn’t that sweet… unless we get another interlude with a crazy younger girl, who shouts that onee-sama shouldn’t spend that time with a boy… and the old men join in and agree with her.  Is she carrying forks in between her fingers?   WTF to the max, although we can guess that she’s Minami’s younger sister.  Then it’s Hideyoshi saying the same things, before the old men chorus shout that they want Hideyoshi to go out with them.  And then it’s our hero, Akihisa Yoshii, who says the exact same things as the girls said, although with a slight variation.  Old men chorus, followed by a sign that says Baka to test to Shoukanjuu wishes you a Merry Christmas.  So I’ll take it that they did air this earlier.  Ah well.

Manga cover.

Personally, I wasn’t that impressed by the 4-minute special by the four main characters, but it looks like it has promise.  We’ll wait for the first episode and see.

6 Responses to “Baka to test to shoukanjuu christmas special”


  1. 1 Lem
    3 January 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Good morning now,

    Hm, a 4-minute special before the anime starts showing. That’s an interesting promotion tactic to say the least. Though I don’t remember seeing any old men in Ladies Versus Butlers, then again, it’s almost seven in the morning here and the fatigue might be finally taking its toll on me. So excuse me if anything about my comment this time feels odd.

  2. 2 SPIRAL
    3 January 2010 at 10:03 pm

    @Lem
    i think you mean old men in b2t2s
    well they weren’t old men just people in KKK costumes wanna-bes but I called them old men because they act like old men

  3. 3 FaS
    4 January 2010 at 7:24 am

    Hmm, I don’t know if I’ll even bother to watch this show…kind of reminds me too much of Maburaho. The whole magic thing except the ooooother way around. Hopefully it won’t be like that though…I’ll be crossing my fingers 😛

  4. 4 SPIRAL
    4 January 2010 at 11:52 am

    @FaS
    in any case, I’ll try to make it look… good… and worthwhile

  5. 5 Lem
    4 January 2010 at 1:43 pm

    @SPIRAL

    Huhu… best of luck with that Spiral. Something tells me you’ll be needing it.

  6. 23 July 2010 at 11:51 pm

    I’ve never seen this Christmas special or Maburaho, so I can’t give a comparison or anything, but I did watch the show and found it pretty hilarious. Himeji’s voice IS really annoying, and she is the stereotypical super-submissive-cries-easily-whiny-and-slightly-annoying-but-it’s-forgivable-because-she-has-big-tits type, but you get over it eventually. I found the whole premise of the show was so funny, and the christmas special really doesn’t do it much justice.

    The basic rundown of the show is that these kids are at a school where the students have a digimon-like creature, whose strength is equivalent to the student’s grades, that they do battle with to fight over the nicest classrooms. It’s entirely silly and enjoyable, with some pretty good parodic moments (the main guy as Tamaki from Ouran Host Club, for example).

    When I watched it, I had no idea what it was about and went in with no expectations. I say give it a shot because I got quite a few laughs out of it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


