20
Mar
10

Why Ladies vs. Butler got so much better…

Remember one of the two series that I dropped in the beginning of the season?  Well, I’ve been still watching them both, and although Omamori Himari has not gotten any better, Ladies versus Butlers has.  It’s becoming more and more interesting and there is certainly less and less ecchi action than the first few episodes presented.  We get an actual plot from episode 8 and every episodes afterwards connects towards the plot.  The one turning point in the entire series can be summed up in this one scene capture:

The drill-woman

You can’t disagree that Hino gotten a lot closer to drill-woman in terms of sincerity, kindness, and an overall closeness.  By episode eleven, you see her trying her hardest to win a date with him, even when she belongs to the blood of a noble family.  Marrying a commoner is out of the picture, but will Serenia Flameheart be the first person in her family to break the tradition?  Hino probably sees her as the more romantic option out of the two people…

“Give me a post too, bitch”

Creepy two-faced girl

*yes ma’am* … other than Tomomi.  We know that Tomomi has been childhood friends with Hino for a long time.  And although they haven’t seen each other for a long time before the series started, we can clearly see how close they were.  Tomomi looks at Hino as a plaything and Hino has looked at Tomomi previously as a possible marriage candidate.   Surprisingly, you don’t get to see much of the feminine trait in her until episode 10 at the final scene, where Hino confesses that he looked at Tomomi as a suitable partner.

Verdict

I like Tomomi so much better because I have this thing about childhood friends and she is so much a better candidate in my opinion.  She doesn’t take shit from anyone, and she outranks Serina in almost every category, other than her physical traits.  In the end, I’m hoping that Hino goes with Tomomi because she suddenly mad-confesses her love to him (fingers crossed), but with my experience in anime, the series ends with Hino living between both Tomomi and Serina still fighting for him.

23 Responses to “Why Ladies vs. Butler got so much better…”


  1. 20 March 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Oddly enough I’m pulling for completely the opposite. I think that Tomomi is the least likely out of the two girls to win this. Yes she has all these advantages over Selnia, but they are also her weaknesses. The reason is that Akiharu knows all of this about her. Any time she gets near him he’s wondering about what her next plot is. You can hardly get together with someone if you are constantly suspecting them of something. At least the Drill is pretty easy to read. Plus Akiharu referred to Tomomi as being a possible option in the past tense. Drunk Akiharu also mentioned that he wasn’t attracted to Tomomi. She has a very uphill battle if she’s going to end up with Akiharu. The biggest obstacle will be that traumatizing incident. She has a good chance, but it’s not the best one in my mind. If she confesses right now Akiharu would probably be confused or just suspicious.

    At this point I think Selnia has the best chance. She has really grown and started to get her feelings better through this series. Plus that little trip let Akiharu see the serious side of her and that noble pride she has. In terms of support she already has the maids trying to set her up and her father isn’t bothered by it either. Besides I think they fit pretty well. She has lived in such a serious environment that someone like Akiharu that can let her break out of that mold every now and then is important. Plus considering her upbringing I think Selnia is capable of bringing Akiharu up into the noble circle. A huge boost on her side is just the fact that Akiharu isn’t scared of her. Besides he is able to get the upper hand over here which is almost impossible with Tomomi. Just winning at something like chess has to be satisfying for him. I just get a better feeling from those two.

    I agree the series will likely end without anything really resolved. Still once they started focusing more on the triangle the series got a lot more interesting. Since the novels are unfinished I can’t see them picking a girl and closing out the possibility (even though it’s remote) of a sequel down the road.

    • 2 SPIRAL
      20 March 2010 at 3:06 pm

      haha I simply like Tomomi as a character more because she is more developed than Serina. Serina is a naiive girl who you can tell what she’s thinking from her over-reacting actions and responses… but in the end, I’m glad to see someone agrees with me that this series has to end neutral… unless they both kill each other like in School Days LOL imagine if that happened huh?

  2. 3 karry
    20 March 2010 at 2:31 pm

    “he outranks Serina in almost every category, other than her physical traits.”

    Read “where it matters”.

  3. 5 LxB
    24 March 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Well the ugly thing about these kind of things which involves love with 2 or more girls falling for the main character hoping the main character IS a guy, the ending would either be he’d choose both, or it’s indecisive, ORRR he’d choose one which would make the anime a sad ending… and yes Hino GO FOR THE DRILLER 🙂 I don’t know it’s attracting to see girls who pretends she has no interest in that but she does 😀 WOOO!!!
    I like both girls but I guess we’ll find out the ending soon 😀

  4. 6 LxB
    24 March 2010 at 3:30 pm

    this reminds me of the anime about a harem anime too where he chose his younger sister(adopted but they never knew, only their parents knows) instead of the other girl who fell in love with him..I forgot the name of the anime it’s somewhere in my DVD collection somewhere XDDD

  5. 9 LxB
    24 March 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Oh and Omamori is KIND OF ok it’s not the best and it’s not bad,but the Censored parts are ridiculous, I don’t know how to describe omamori but I’d rate it around 8-8.5

  6. 11 LxB
    25 March 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Well true to that Omamori is fanservice mostly I don’t mind that but the story is kind of a so-so for me since they fill most of the scenes with fanservices when they could’ve improved more on the past and put a little bit more, I feel theres somethings missing in it but nonetheless I still recommend it to… I mean lol compare Omamori to Seikon no Qwaser… LOL that one could just be a hentai for all I know…

  7. 12 LxB
    25 March 2010 at 2:44 pm

    BTW Ladies Vs Butlers Finished and it’s probably gonna be a season 2 since well…. lol
    *****SPOILER*****

    He didn’t go out with either he gave the ticket to Tomomi and Selnia and Hino got slapped and then they left lol
    So I guess Indecisive…I still don’t know if there will be season 2 hope there will be..since theres only a few new anime might as well watch them right 😛

    • 13 SPIRAL
      26 March 2010 at 12:51 pm

      I highly doubt that. Anime like this doesn’t get the green-light for a second season because… why? there would be no point in terms of plot… and the series does a good enough job to end it the way it does – a constant argument over our main guy.

  8. 19 April 2010 at 3:07 pm

    A kinda good anime. Hopefully there will be a second season.

  9. 15 mick
    16 May 2010 at 7:09 am

    Look all i want to know is where the fuck season 2 is coming out excuse my language cause i want Tomomi to win his heart already or daschi that would be k 2 but not tht big tited bitch selina so season 2 when email me k ffs

  10. 16 code2free
    2 August 2010 at 7:19 pm

    hello

    i like this anime but i hate her at this time when i see the last episode why the hero dont tell the drill girl about feeling towards her (he love her)

    so is there a new season for this anime series

    on the end thanks for everyone on this blog

  11. 17 Nyaa-Chan
    24 March 2011 at 7:41 am

    I don’t think it will get a second season because companies only care about what sells. Just as it was said in the first post that it got better after the eighth episode. The main problem is that it started of horribly and lost lots of potential fans. I didn’t watch this until a year after it finished because I hated it at the beginning. But if I was in his position I wouldn’t choose Serina or Tomomi. I would choose the Indian girl with the crazy sword-carrying servant.

    • 18 Nyaa-Chan
      24 March 2011 at 7:43 am

      I’m only speaking from my own opinion when I say it won’t get a second season because if you look at The Familiar of Zero’s ending it is open-ended and even says that it’s not finished. I guess that they were proved wrong…

    • 2 November 2011 at 9:13 am

      so beautiful all yhe characters of lady vs batler i am john raphael maquiona add me ni facebook chucky lee ray love you alll

  12. 20 Quack
    17 April 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Well as far as I could remember, Hino wanted to be her husband when he was a naive little kid, not to mention the fact that she is the only girl he seemed to hang out with. During the 9th episode, Hino was gave absolutly no hint for interest in her at all,every single time, he kept suspecting her of something, if I were in love with someone, I would be happy that Im on a date with her. he is even so obvlivious to confess to her and not think much of it, when in the beggining of episode 9, Hino kissed Selnia back. Even though for some reason Selnia and Hino NEVER EVER EVER EVER mentioned that sweet moment with eachother again *Cough BULLSHIT *COUGH* you can clearly tell when he was staring at her in episode 8 and when he was drunk and talked to her, that Hino has alot of interest in her. I think selnia is alot more funnier and interesting. I mean the 12th episode should have screamed who the winner was, the fact that Selnia won and that Hino was on her team. After all I dont think Hino and tomomi would be compatable, I mean Tomomi is pretty evil most of the time, Hino cant even have a conversation with her without feeling scared and intimidated. Flameheart is only a bitch to Hino and no one else. If anime cliche has told us anything, the tsundere gets the guy. This show was pretty funny and deserves a 2nd season because the ending was a complete load and the build up to it all was also a load. It didnt have plot, but alot of shows in America have no plot either and they get 2nd seasons. The fact that Ladies Vs Butlers is probably one of the RARE funny anime I have ever seen, it has alot of appeal to it.

    Unlike other shows, it uses its eechi scenes well with its comedic timing. But its kinda underrated.

    • 21 Awesome
      6 June 2011 at 4:39 am

      I totally agree there should be a second season why because the ending kinda leaves you hanging on what will happen next and what will become of the other characters I also think there should be a second season because it used the ecchi in it well and this anime was quite funny and interesting to watch sure we think it’s crappy on the first few episodes but it gets a lot better and it just seams like anime like these are too short which makes people like me want more more I tell you MORE so thats why there should be more to ladies vs butlers.

  13. 22 Name
    12 September 2011 at 12:25 am

    I love this show a lot because it connects to me. I had a childhood friend like tomomi then she moved and I was happy. But I’m older now and watched this and feel kindof sad now 😦 . Anyways I just want a 2nd season to know who he ends up with. (I am also kinda in this problem) .

  14. 23 Maybe Not...
    24 March 2013 at 1:33 pm

    The manga already ended so unless they make some fillers for the rest of the plot I don’t think it will fit in the MInimum 12 episodes. My guess is no….


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


