21
Mar
10

ookami kakushi episode eleven

Given this was the second last episode of the series (though, judging by the previews for next week, Episode 12 will be a write off, which makes me wonder why they even bothered with a 12th episode), I’d come to accept the fact that Sakaki’s final plan of revenge had to be something “simpler” like flooding the village by breaking the dam. So this week, when he 100% FAILED to see his plan through, I was more than just disappointed.

Here are a few tips for the future you don’t have, Sakaki: When you say you’re going to break a dam to flood a village, BREAK THE DAM. Blow it up. Or at the very least, blow the control panel up so that the hatch can’t be closed and the water can’t be stopped. Two: work on your aim. I get that you’re more of a knife-wielding maniac, but out of your five shots, you only managed to kill one Wolf – the one who walked in front of your gun. Maybe you weren’t really trying. (You could have at least shot Hiroshi.)

Though, I have to admit that Hiroshi standing between Sakaki and the others to protect them was the single bravest thing he’s done the entire series. At least he wasn’t as in the way as I thought he would be running after the others like he did. If he only died for them, then we could praise him as a hero! But in the end, it was Kaori who saved them all by sacrificing herself (FlareKnight you were right on with some of your predictions! Though this might not be the exact method of sacrifice you’d envisioned). In that way, I was a little disappointed with Kaori as a character too because she was the greatest mystery going through the series and exited more or less unexplained. What was wrong with her regarding her physical condition? Were all the other Shrine Maidens suffering from the same vein problem? Why was being a Shrine Maiden such a solemn role to take on? And I was also disappointed that there was no surprising relation between Kaori and Mieko. I feel like they could have done more with the fact that they look exactly the same (aside from causing Sakaki internal struggle because that’s a given) – or could have been the same person! But alas, the plot was just too simple to accommodate that in the end.

Why they spent ten minutes at the end focusing on Hiroshi calling Nemuru by her first name I’ll never know. It felt like a time killer to me. Did anyone feel like the story wrapped up a little too easily? Just because Sakaki is gone and the village is “safe”, it doesn’t change the fact that Hiroshi is the most delicious smelling non-Wolf in Jougamachi. It also doesn’t change the fact that there aren’t enough Hassaku to help suppress the Wolves’ impulses, nor does it mean that there is enough medication to go around. Sure Nemuru’s Uncle’s research is going to produce something that will help them in the long run, but what about the present? That’s not something that can be – or should have been – so easily over-looked, I feel.

All in all, the series was… okay. It started slow but in the middle, it really picked up and it had potential. Unfortunately, in the end, that potential went to waste. The mystery behind the story was much simpler than I’d hoped it to be, and while it was easy to follow and understand (in retrospect), I still wish there were a few more twists to throw us off. Foreshadowing is one thing, but predictability is completely different and not so enjoyable (though personally, I’m terrible at predicting anything – like when I was adamant that Nemuru was not the Huntress; whoops). I’m glad I watched Ookamikakushi, but I doubt it’ll be a series I re-watch ever.

And because the previews for next week’s episode seem completely unrelated to the actual plotline, I’m treating this episode as the end. I may put together a review for Episode 12 depending on how it turns out.

19 Responses to “ookami kakushi episode eleven”


  1. 21 March 2010 at 12:44 pm

    I agree so much with you on this one. I thought at the very least he was going to bust up the control panel. But no he just leaves it alone and runs. The running clearly shows he expected pursuit at some point and yet he did nothing to slow down anyone who would want to save the village. Oddly that panic he created with that girl was his greatest accomplishment. He has severely damaged the economy of the city and perhaps put them on the path to annihilation if word spreads to the rest of the world.

    Yeah I didn’t quite expect the hug of doom to finish off Sakaki. God that was both disturbing and kind of sad. Can you imagine shooting a look a like of your dead fiance and then being hugged over a cliff? The Kaori situation is the biggest disappointment for me at this point. There was so much potential heading into the end. But absolutely nothing was answered. In the end we are left with her being simply a look a like to Mieko and that’s it. While there might have been weak answers to these at least they would have been answers.

    Yeah Hiroshi at least tried to do something. Would have been so much better for the show if he had died to save the day. Instead he gets a harem! Then they waste the last part with the name thing. He should be leaving the town to help the situation, not getting a harem and planning for his utopia. Maybe people with his scent become normal as the jouga are exposed to him.

    Honestly I’m disappointed with the series overall. I expected a whole lot more from the writer who came up with Higurashi. A lot of it was predictable and there weren’t many twists. Not to mention bad characters and villains. Stand in the same position that I don’t regret watching it, but it will be easily forgotten.

    • 2 blindability
      21 March 2010 at 11:55 pm

      Hey, hey: What are you reviewing in Spring?

      • 22 March 2010 at 12:24 am

        Decided to go with Angel Beats and Working!! for the spring season. There wasn’t a ton that I was interested in for spring. Still think Angel Beats should be pretty good and can always use a series for laughs. Still have some series that aren’t ending so should be kept busy.

      • 4 RP
        22 March 2010 at 9:33 am

        Ah well, at least it’s over. I think the one thing I’m thankful for is that it took a fair number of episodes before it completely fell apart. So at least we weren’t griping too much for too long (well… except for Hiro, who’s constant suck was constant).

        Have you guys decided who’s writing about what next season yet?

        • 5 blindability
          22 March 2010 at 11:32 am

          Sort of. I get K-ON!! because I reviewed the first season. Thinking about picking up another though I don’t know which one yet.

          You, RP?

          • 6 RP
            23 March 2010 at 8:29 am

            Ack, darn, I’m pawning off K-ON. 😦

            But otherwise, I’m thinking of picking up Angel Beats (you should pick it up! 😉 ). Probably just that for next season, but possibly a second if I’m wowed by something.

            • 7 blindability
              23 March 2010 at 9:57 am

              Aww: either Spiral or Poro is taking Angel Beats. Scamp suggested that if I pick up a second, it could be something more serious-ish.

              • 24 March 2010 at 3:44 am

                Ah that’s too bad. We could have all covered the same one then :).

                Yeah I’m not covering K-ON either. But yeah not a ton from the spring season that jumps out to me at this point.

  2. 9 azure2526
    21 March 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Hiroshi=Useless
    Sakaki=He finally dies
    Nemuru=Pink frog, probably…

  3. 10 BlacKnightmareZ
    21 March 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Just asking, does anyone recommend that I actually watch the last three eps? I stopped at episode ten and haven’t gotten the attention span to watch the rest, which I already have downloaded.

    • 11 blindability
      21 March 2010 at 11:53 pm

      I’d say watch it for closure’s sake, but it’s really not necessary. You won’t gain anything from it and there are no revelations in the last three episodes. You could also easily see what happens by reading reviews of the last three episodes and figure out whether or not you really want to sit through a bad ending to a mediocre (at best) anime.

      • 12 BlacKnightmareZ
        22 March 2010 at 1:25 am

        Eh, I think I’ll save it for another time then. Spring is looking pretty bleak, so I might as well watch it sometime around then.

  4. 22 March 2010 at 8:58 am

    After thinking about it, I decided I wouldn’t be disappointed at all with Sakaki’s lack of decent vengeance if Hiro’s head had been blown away.

    • 14 blindability
      22 March 2010 at 9:11 am

      Huh. I think I could forgive Sakaki’s fail if Hiroshi dies.
      There’s still one episode! It could happen!

  5. 15 PurpleRain
    23 March 2010 at 6:56 am

    Noo! Don’t touch Hiroshi, he’s my husband!
    Anyway, I wasn’t dissapointed at all because I enjoy happy endings and slight implications of romance at the end. I would have been dissapointed if someone important had died in this ep.

    • 16 blindability
      23 March 2010 at 9:23 am

      EH!? Hiroshi your husband? Surely you jest, PurpleRain.
      I enjoy happy endings as well – and this ending left me very, very unhappy.

  6. 23 March 2010 at 7:04 am

    I finally catch up on the past two episodes and THIS is what greets me upon my return to the series?! This show was pretty fun and got some neat mystery plots going and then… I haven’t been so disappointed in years, though I can’t even be angry about it. I think Gundam 0083’s first OP, The Winner, put it best: “There’s no winner in this fight, as I collapse exhausted./I look up to the stars above, and don’t even have the strength to cry.”

    But next episode is FLUFFY PINK BUNNIES! *begins laughing like a madman*

    • 18 blindability
      23 March 2010 at 9:19 am

      Oh Ex.O: you should’ve stayed away. You probably could’ve enjoyed the series better having NOT finished it. And yes, that includes next week’s episode which hasn’t aired but there’s just no fixing this show with life-sized pink frog rabbits.

  7. 19 Exile
    25 March 2010 at 8:08 pm

    sorry to change the subject, but who’s doing what and what for the upcoming spring 2010 season?


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


