08
Apr
10

k-on!! episode one

I like K-On. I enjoy the character designs – cute and “moe” though they may be (Yui is my Avatar, after all), the nonsensical personalities of each of the girls, the trivial shenanigans they get into, and the music they play. And yet, when I heard there was going to be a second season, I was a little surprised. You see, I have a problem understanding – despite how much I like K-onwhy it’s so popular.

Sure the girls are cute (and there are only girls; no boys) but the depth of their character is light and fluffy – in other words, unsubstantial. But that’s not a bad thing; in fact, it’s perfectly suited for a show like this. Which again, makes me wonder how people can invest in them so much – myself included. I watched the first three episodes of Hyakko before I’d even heard of K-On. I didn’t like Hyakko, and so when I learned about K-On afterwards, I was skeptical, and yet, surprisingly, I liked it! I really liked it.

So my starting point is that if you’re a fan of K-On then you’ve probably already watched the first episode of the second season. If you’re not sure about K-On, here is my advice: Don’t think too much about it. In fact, don’t think at all. Just watch and see whether or not it’s for you, because there is no figuring out teenage girls.

Opening song: Blargh. It felt like something that could cause an epileptic seizure through sound. I’m not normally one to comment on openings and endings nor on background music or anything like that, but I couldn’t ignore their choice of song. The ending, however, was better. Actually, I don’t really remember the song (haha) but I liked the imagery that they paired with it. I’ve always loved the endings for K-On (all two of them now) since I think it’s fun to watch the girls get stylized and play their instruments – which doesn’t happen too often within the series itself.

And what is up with that? Psgels took issue with it too in his review: the lack of live performances. But I’m willing to overlook this in the first episode of the second season only because I’m hoping for new songs for the future performances we WILL see. I think that extra episode we got a short while ago where After School Tea Time performed at a venue with other amateur bands was foreshadowing more performances and not just within the school – or so at least I hope. I’d love to see more of that because I’d also hate to think that these girls won’t play music anymore once they’ve graduated high school.

It’s interesting and really quite sweet that while four of the five girls in the Light Music Club are looking toward graduating and inevitably leaving Sakura High and their beloved club, they put off looking for new members so they can enjoy their time together a little more. Realistically, it’s stopping to smell the roses and worrying about winter when winter comes. It may lead to panic later on, but sometimes, you just have to enjoy life.

I remember reading some comment on some other person’s review of K-On last season, and the commenter had said something along the lines of her enjoyment of K-On was based on the fact that she herself was a girl, and is therefore able to relate to what our five girls are thinking, feeling, and experiencing. Similarly, when I see some things that – I can only imagine boys would never do (or in other words, are quintessentially girl), it makes me smile. And maybe that’s why I like K-On so much: because it reminds me of how simple and fluffy life can be at times, and how those moments are just as important as the ones that weigh heavily on us physically, mentally, and emotionally.

12 Responses to “k-on!! episode one”


  1. 1 Poro
    8 April 2010 at 4:32 am

    after reading about ur hatred to the opening and actually listening to the opening afterwards. I laughed a Kira Yagami. A horrid manaical laugh from the sheer squirrelliness of the song. I agree with you. But it was just so funny how random it was that i let it pass. yay the new season is here!!

  2. 8 April 2010 at 9:14 am

    I agree that the lack of live performance was weird. Just like hi we are here to perform and…yay we were awesome?! I think we deserved to see more of that awesome performance or at least…some of it.

    But yes, you either love this series or it does nothing for you. There is no explaining our love we just do. Season 2 picks up right where season 1 leaves off and it flows nicely. They might have to drag things out longer as season 1 covered two years. X_X

    A new member would have been nice. But the 5 girls are more than enough to carry the show.

    • 3 blindability
      8 April 2010 at 12:40 pm

      I think we’re likely to meet some new side characters – like those girls (I don’t remember how many there were, or if it was even just one) in the opening. But you’re right in saying that the main five are enough, esp with secondary characters like Sawa-chan, Nodoka, and Ui.

  3. 4 kikuri
    8 April 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I am so glad that K-ON! is back! Love them and the music. I guess I always have a soft spot for moe anime…

    I agree that the OP theme is a tad cheesy, but heck! Who cares! Thanx for posting this!

  4. 8 April 2010 at 1:04 pm

    I understand completely where you’re coming from with the popularity thing. I also liked the first season but just don’t understand the rabid popularity it resulted in. As you say, it’s fun and light and just something to be enjoyed for the life moments and comedy aspects. But the way people started obsessing over it you’d think it was the first moe show ever or something. And now all the fans blowing it out of proportion have inspired a backlash against it as people rage back and forth about how it’s either the best anime ever or the worst. It’s just a pretty good, fun and enjoyable show people! No more no less.

  5. 8 April 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Really great blog entry Blindability, really enjoyed reading it, particularly your commentry in the your opening paragraphs.
    I havent watched the 1st episode yet, but will do so later tonight… have been looking forward to it for a long time. I think the reason K-ON has been so successful is because of its simple nature. None of the characters have a dark past or secret and none have alternate agendas, they are all just, as you say, light and fluffy. 😀

    • 7 blindability
      10 April 2010 at 11:47 am

      Ahww. Thanks!
      It’s kind of bad because after I’d written the review and posted it, I realized I didn’t talk too much about the episode itself, haha.

  6. 8 SPIRAL
    8 April 2010 at 8:09 pm

    I thought my TV wasn’t working when I was listening to the opening. I just turned it off ’cause I thought it was going to blow up or something… but now, I realize that the voice itself was just DAMN annoying. dammit, got to wait for subs now…

  7. 10 April 2010 at 8:34 am

    If I hear another みてみて out of Yui, I’m going to slap her with Aya Hirano and sulk in the corner… And wtf is Ritsu suddenly the mature member of the group, waffling on about study and responsibility 24-7 like Kagami Hiragii. I know K-On was always Lcuky Star for the non-otaku, but this season’s first episode characterization changes smack of the producers rewatching Lucky Star and deciding to cash in even heavier than they did with the first :/

    And the new intro does indeed suck.

    That said, and those initial annoyances aside, the second half of the episode was pretty damn funny, especially during the recruitment drive. Let’s hope the rest of the season is more of that, and less of the rather poor rip off attempt…

    • 10 blindability
      10 April 2010 at 11:46 am

      Huh. I sort of didn’t notice those out-of-character bits for Ritsu (though one could only hope that with them being seniors, they have the ability to mature, haha. Plus she is the club president… not that that means anything).

      And you know what, I’m one of those people who never watched Lucky Star, so you’ll have to keep me updated on whether or not it’s being ripped off.

      • 10 April 2010 at 8:09 pm

        Well let’s face it, almost everything on the market these days rips someone off – it was a little blatant this time out that’s all, and sure np I’ll try.

  8. 12 BoozerX
    10 April 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Awful opening.
    The first time I checked in my mpc if I activated the fast forward button,lol.
    Seizure inducing.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


