15
Apr
10

Durarara 12 and 13: Compare and Contrast, a Sudden Sharp Turn

Anri “witnesses” the Slasher slicing 3 kogals apart.  She has blood splattered on her face.  According to her,

Nothing Changes

D R R R

D R R R

Comparing and Contrasting

The Opening and Ending Songs

Here we go.  I still like ROAR OUT LOADER much much better than this one.  It had that pumped up beat that makes you get-off-your-ass.  The new one… not as good.  It lacks that feeling.  I miss the old OP now.   On the other hand, the END switch was much better.  Not only the music but also the slide of people in the classic parodified slow drag down.  Bravo.

Is it just me or does this guy look like the guy from Baka Test, you know the cross dresser! ^u^ anyone agree?

The ending of the arc compared to the beginning of a new arc.

The END WINS!

I am not saying the beginning was BAD.  Well, the previous episode closes off nicely.   Better than how the Slasher story opens.  It just seems that they wasted time giving hints and no action.  It doesn’t seem to be any power in the 13th episode.  I know it is just a build up.  Yet, I am sure that some action to keeps the viewers’ attention could be done.  Some foreshadowing isn’t good enough.  Only at the end does it keep interesting.  Yet, it wasn’t enough.

The END songs

Butterfly wins this one.  This is just my opinion.  Just my preference.  But the new art was better.  The road with everyone sliding along fits right.  Since Celty is always on the road ;).  Also in the metaphorical sense of the “road of life”.

Theory of the Slasher

I am not too concerned about who is the slasher.  However, what concerns me is the origin of the slasher.  According to Celty, her sword seems to make voices appear out of nowhere.  If this is indeed Anri or the reporter’s daughter, why, what, and how is her powers acquired.   To me, the Slasher mystery is a bit more complicated than the previous arc.  Perhaps it is because we lack clues.  Or perhaps, Narita decided to mindfuck us with something horrendously brilliant.

Thoughts other than those

meh. This is late anyway.  Don’t need to make it any later.

Confession: DotA

The reason I have not posted this earlier is because of this gameplay map in Warcraft III (no not World of Warcraft with Leeroy).  Also Starcraft.  But I stink at SC although the SCII gameplay is easier for me to adapt to then those hardcore veterans.

This is addictive especially when you gank(DotA term) 5 people in row and get 'Beyond Godlike'

5 Responses to “Durarara 12 and 13: Compare and Contrast, a Sudden Sharp Turn”


  1. 15 April 2010 at 11:08 am

    I have to agree completely that the old OP was so much better. This one just doesn’t have the same kick. Almost want to open up an old episode, watch that OP and then skip to the start of the new episode.

    Well I’m curious about this slasher situation. Sets up for some interesting episodes. Plus something about Selty being chased around by the police and being terrified is pretty entertaining. I feel bad for her, but it’s still kind of funny.

    On the unrelated note, damn I want in the Starcraft II Beta.

  2. 15 April 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I also miss the old opening.

    I guess the slasher mystery is going to be a major focus of the second half of the series. There’s also the issue of Celty’s head, which has to get resolved before the series ends (they couldn’t possibly leave that hanging).

  3. 3 Lem
    15 April 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Hmm Uragiri no Yuyake is pretty hard to measure up to, but I think this new one is warming up to me. I kinda like it.

    So this second half will be of the Slasher-arc. Hmm… I wonder if it will wrapped up neatly as well? Though there is that whole Valhalla thing Izaya was talking about. Ah, doubt it would be fully concluded, though who knows? There’s a good twelve episodes or so left.

    Kasuka does look like an older Hideyoshi, only minus the hairpins and having an actual male voice actor. At least if memory serves.

    Cheers!

  4. 4 SPIRAL
    15 April 2010 at 8:24 pm

    I hate to say that I’m one of those korean SC veterans 😄

  5. 18 April 2010 at 9:48 am

    I loved the OP. “ROAR OUT LOUDER” was so awesome. But I like this one too. I’m satisfied with the new OP/ED


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


