28
Apr
10

tatami galaxy episode one

also known as: Youjouhan Shinwa Taikei

also known as: Wait… What?

From what I could follow, the protagonist is a university student who spent two years of his university life being a “Black Cupid” – that is, someone who ruins relationships for others. This happened after two incidences in particular: One being that he had his heart broken and his ideals crushed. The second is his befriending a classmate named Ozu who resembles a demon. I kind of like the idea of a “Black Cupid” having spent time on the bitter side of being single. Of course it’s not so great for those who are in a relationship but if it was meant to be, you can weather a little mischief, right?

There was also the large chinned “god” of matchmaking (was that Kamotaketsunuminokami or Kamotaketsunominokamo) who was the second character introduced. He turns out to be a neighbour living in the same apartment building as the protagonist, and tool of Ozu in getting the protagonist together with Akashi. He played a small role but I personally found him quite amusing. Not too sure what his motivation was to get involved, though; maybe he’s just a nice person, or maybe Ozu paid for his ramen, or maybe he really is one of the gods of Shimogamo Shrine.

Character four introduced is Akashi. She’s younger than the protagonist by a year and is a student of engineering. She’s meticulous and not fond of moths; her personality is somewhat cold. She becomes the protagonist’s love interest after it comes down to either him or his friend Ozu, and after deciding that Ozu wouldn’t suit Akashi (over a huge Castella cake – which I would probably prefer to eat alone since I don’t like to share). But when it comes time to actually face her and start something, he fails.

And then he gets tossed off a bridge. Possibly to his death.

No that’s not it, of course, but they talk so fast that I struggled to keep up. Crazy dialogue aside I quite liked this. I’m not crazy-in-love with the art and I’m sure a lot of the wittiness has been lost on me, but somehow, I still enjoyed it. And I’ll certainly keep watching it – and do my best to review it, haha. I’m honestly not sure what’s going to happen in this series, but it seems that time may have been turned back for the protagonist to do things a little differently. It’ll be interesting to see what decisions he makes and how they differ from the decisions he’s already made and how it affects his life “going forward”. It’s impressive that they pretty much summed up a majority of the protagonist’s life in this one episode too, though I think I’ve become half blind trying to follow along with the subs. It’s times like this I really wish I was fluent in Japanese.

Nya~?

6 Responses to “tatami galaxy episode one”


  1. 28 April 2010 at 2:23 pm

    This is possibly the fastest series I’ve ever watched. I think it’d be a lot more bearable if you watch it at 0.9x speed. Even just another half second on some of those lines would help.

    The main character resonates with me in a way. I never fell in with the wrong crowd. Rather, I’m guilty of telling myself something went alright when it very clearly didn’t. He lacks a lot in self-confidence. Now the question is, does he flash-back and we see how he got this way, or does he get to relive his life and we see a new progression?

    It’s definitely piqued my interest. I feel this need to watch it just because I have no idea what on earth is going on.

    • 2 blindability
      28 April 2010 at 2:37 pm

      Thanks for the tip. I think next episode, I’ll definitely watch it in slight-slow-mo.
      And while I think I got the gist of the episode, I don’t have a clue what’s happening either, haha.

  2. 3 blacknightz
    28 April 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Wow, first time in YEARS that I’ve had to pause an anime to read the subs, but it was fun and quirky. The bad guy looks evil as a parody to western villains (aka If the dude is evil he looks EVIL) But Ozu is a pretty good guy, imeen I doubt I would ever jump off a building to improve my best friend’s love relationship.

    • 4 blindability
      28 April 2010 at 11:01 pm

      Ozu really is a good guy. He knows the protagonist really well and has even put together a detailed plan to get him into a hopefully-happy relationship. The protagonist seems to be using him as a crutch excuse for the way his life is going, but you can tell they’re really best friends and care about each other. Can’t judge a book by its cover, I suppose…

  3. 5 Leah-san
    2 June 2010 at 1:18 am

    Are you still gonna blog this? It’s an awesome series. And every episode brings something new.

    • 6 blindability
      2 June 2010 at 8:58 am

      Haha. Oops. I’ve been a bit lazy and the episodes are being released a little slowly, but now that someone’s actually brought it up, yes, I’ll continue with Tatami Galaxy.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


