14
May
10

k-on!! episode six

You really can have the straightest hair every day of the year except when it’s super humid, and then it’s all poof and curls.

Along with being bad for hair, humidity and rain are bad for instruments; especially instruments made predominantly of wood. Excessive moisture in the air can not only cause mold and warping in the wood, but it also decreases string life. Thankfully I live in climate that’s mostly cold and dry. …Although my brother once left his guitar in the car trunk during winter and the wood cracked.

The episode begins with Yui as the subject of Murphy’s Law. She did manage to protect Gitah, however, which is what really counts to a serious musician. Clothes can be replaced, bones will heal, but a well-loved instrument is a tangible piece of your heart. I will admit that Yui goes a little overboard with her love for Gitah though. It’s not uncommon for people to name their personal inanimate objects, but when you can’t part with it for even a day (not counting functional dependency; a day without my car really would be unbearable) then you’re bordering obsessive. Or crazy – in which case Yui would be a bit of both, but she probably doesn’t know it (if she even cared) since she’s our Number One Space Cadet.

Aside from Yui showing Gitah some love though (and who would’ve thought Gitah was “male”), we see Mio loosen up a bit and embrace Elizabeth affectionately, haha. Even Azusa considers naming her guitar, though I don’t particularly like the name “Muttan”. Sometimes I feel that when you really do love any given inanimate object, you name it. You refer to it as an entity rather than a thing. Sometimes we even go as far as placing humanistic traits and personality into the object. Sure it sounds crazy but those who do it don’t think that way, and that’s because they understand that once you pour a little bit of yourself and your love into anything, it’s “alive” – even if it is just to you.

I’m sure about one thing now after this episode: Yui has perfect pitch. There was another instance – probably in the first season – where I had suspected that Yui had perfect pitch but now I’m sure of it. After last week’s episode’s blatant reminder that Yui is a pretty quick learner, we’re reminded of the novelty that she’s not all fluff in the head, and that there’s a bit of substance to the silly girl. And with this revelation of skill (followed by a typical show if idiocy) I really hope to see some more talent and skill come from Yui this season – especially as it’s her last year in high school (and who knows what’ll happen to the series after that).

I’m still hoping for Mugi’s song to debut in the next couple of episodes (in the first season, the second time we saw music was in the eighth episode) and along with more Mugi, I hope to see the other girls – Yui included – expand their skill set as well. I’m mean it doesn’t seem like the writers are going for character development or growth this season, but it would be nice to see their musical abilities elevate a little (because practice does make better).

And I’m not just missing the music from K-On!! …I’m missing the costumes! Sure the school uniforms are okay but honestly, honestly, the costumes Sawako-sensei makes are so cute. I know Mio hates them but it’d be nice to see them wear something different for at least one of their performances (and I’m really hoping there’s more than just one coming up this season. I mean, I’m not keeping score, but the first time we got a performance in Season One was Episode Six, and then again in Episode Eight. In a direct comparison, we’re over due for some music).

I don’t normally throw up random screencaps, but there were a few that I really liked but couldn’t work into the content of the review, so I’ll just post them here at the end.

(I have an issue with this last image: There are three slices of cake on plates but only ONE slice seems to have come from the cake itself. I only noticed because I always drool over the sweets Mugi feeds the Light Music Club.)

10 Responses to “k-on!! episode six”


  1. 15 May 2010 at 4:51 am

    I agree on the no music parts not sure what the deal is there, maybe they are going to do a few episodes back to back of them playing music. Does seem like they went with more comedy and cute factor vs any real music, Angel beats so far to me is winning for music in anime and Angel Beats isn’t even about the band so much. Hopefully K-ON!! picks up with something but then again I just watch for the cute factor anyway.

  2. 2 lygerzero0zero
    16 May 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Holy shit tell me where I can get one of those infinite cakes.

    (alternate version of this reply: “I guess that’s what you call having your cake and eating it too”)

    • 3 SPIRAL
      16 May 2010 at 5:04 pm

      SOUTH PARK –
      “It’s like… having your cake… and eating it… at the same time…”

  3. 4 Clow Reed
    17 May 2010 at 10:08 am

    They already ate the first cake. They’re on their second one.

    • 5 blindability
      17 May 2010 at 10:58 pm

      That’s very likely with these girls. But I also really like the idea of an Infinite Cake.

  4. 17 May 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Maybe the cake is haunted!? they can’t finish it off!

  5. 8 Yi
    20 May 2010 at 4:41 pm

    I’m really missing the costumes as well. There even seems to be less chances for them to parade in casual clothes as well. 😦
    Anyways, I can totally understand naming guitars and such. I name some of my stuff too. Though Yui’s love for Guita borders a bit on the weird side.

    • 9 blindability
      21 May 2010 at 10:03 am

      I know some people really prefer the “school-girl-uniform” but we’ve seen enough of that. Bring on the costumes and cute casual outfits!

  6. 22 May 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Oh god if anything were to happen to my guitar I would kill myself, especially after spending so much on modding it X_x


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


