21
May
10

k-on!! episode seven

It’s about time we had a Mio-centric episode. With her long dark hair, mature composure, and fear of all things haunted, Mio is probably the most popular (if not, one of the more popular) characters of K-On!! I’ve always found it fascinating – though not very surprising – that while Yui is the main protagonist of the series, she’s not everyone’s favourite. Actually, she’s some people’s least favourite.

*

…I wonder if it bodes ill for me to use Yui’s image as my avatar. (But then again, I have my reasons.)

Mio’s fan club had been in existence since the first season when she tripped after their first concert, exposing her blue stripped pantsu to the general population of Sakura High. Actually, I think most of the students were infatuated by her before the pantsu incident, but the pantsu flash solidified any intentions of starting a fan club for her (or at least that’s what I suspect). I honestly don’t remember seeing Sokabe-senpai anywhere before this episode though that could just be my lack of observation skills; I didn’t think we’d seen Jun before either but she was there. It’s funny how Nodoka was forced to succeed her as both president of the student council and the president of Mio’s fan club. Responsibilities, responsibilities. Nodoka is definitely in a better position to appease the Mio fangirls though, seeing as how she’s got the inside track with the Light Music Club. If I had been Sokabe-senpai, I would have demanded more live performances – or even private performances. Whatever happened to abusing your power when you’re in a position of authority?

The tea party for Mio’s fangirls was a nice notion but it seems to have made Mio fairly uncomfortable for most of the event. To be honest, even I felt uncomfortable for her. Things would have been different if let’s say the event was for Ritsu’s fangirls or Yui’s fangirls, but alas there are no fangirls for Ritsu and Yui (to which I’m not surprised). What about Mugi’s fan club? Sign me up for that! But I digress…

In the end, Mio’s heart gives her strength and she shares a little bit of herself with the fangirls in the form of prose. I’m not one for poetry so it was lost on me too. I was wondering if it would be made into a song.

And speaking of songs: We got a new one! Finally! It wasn’t a full performance and it wasn’t Honey Sweet Tea Time but at least it was something. I guess they’re saving Honey Sweet Tea Time for a proper performance.

Or at least I certainly hope so. Mugi solo~!

7 Responses to “k-on!! episode seven”


  1. 21 May 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I am happy to see someone else show Mugi some love! She tends to get lost in the craziness that is everyone else! We need to see more of that girl.

    That poem was….special. 😄 Bad fangirls for not pretending to clap for their idol!

    It was nice to see other random kids from the school too. And it is nice to see that some of them are just as insane as our Light Music Club girls. 😄

    • 2 blindability
      22 May 2010 at 6:18 am

      Actually I was anticipating the fangirls to clap after that pause, indicating that they clearly didn’t get the poem, but still applauded Mio’s effort and talents. Poor Mio.

  2. 3 Weeaboo
    22 May 2010 at 12:23 am

    Hey I love k-on.
    Wow, so many girls in the school and fan-club…wow

    • 4 blindability
      22 May 2010 at 6:17 am

      Sakura High (their school) is an all-girls school.
      But I’m always glad to hear from another fan of K-On!!

  3. 22 May 2010 at 7:38 am

    Not a bad episode this week and even a musical performance! about time.

    • 6 blindability
      22 May 2010 at 10:03 am

      Tell me about it! We’ve waited seven episodes! It’s about time we got some new music!

  4. 7 Yi
    22 May 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Loved this episode. Azunyan was about to overtake Mio as my favorite K-On! girl, but this episode showcased Mio’s cute personality again. The fan club thing was really kind of funny.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


