24
May
10

GIANT KILLING! episode eight

After watching Korea trash Japan 2-0 today in an international friendly thanks to a well-placed drive and a last-minute penalty, I found myself on a soccer high.  As a result, I got 9 other friends at 10pm and decided to play some 5 v 5 midnight soccer.  Needless to say when I got home at 4 in the morning, my body was dead (mind you I stayed up at 3:45 AM to watch Internazionale beat Bayern Munich in the Champions League final only the day before).  But thanks to some gum, I find myself writing this blog post.  Funny coincidence that it should be about a soccer show.

Who will you be supporting at the 2010 World Cup?

So the entire episode focuses on Kuro and his problem with Tatsumi as manager.  He and his fellow center-back friend have been dejected from the squad but they realize by the end of the episode that there were several flaws with their team to begin with.

(1) They stayed too far back – in short, while everyone else was attacking, they stayed back.  When the opponent team got the ball, they were able to exploit the huge gap and score.  That still doesn’t explain the crappy goalkeeping, but no worries!  They explain that too as they point out that…

(2) The goalkeeper stays out too far – I don’t know why the goalkeeper would stay outside his box on an opposing offensive play but hey, maybe that’s why it’s the Japanese league and not the Premier League, Serie A, or La Liga.  It is these two errors that physically help the team lose.  But as people say, sports are 10% physical, 90% mental.

(3) They panic when they concede – I would too, but I wouldn’t let that affect my playing that much.  I’ll admit, I don’t usually panic but I found myself panicking a game a long time ago when we were tied 2-2 with a bad team (we won that 4-2 in the end, but our coach yelled at us for playing our ‘worst’ game ever – funny that was the team that broke our 8-year winning streak).   Anyways, the last weakness is something I can easily and bluntly say…

(4) ETU sucks – there you go.  Yes, as much as we hate to admit it, they have lost the first six games of the season.  Six losses is usually the number of a bad team, especially in six games.  As much as we love to see Kuro, Murakoshi, and the rest of the squad kick ass, we have to admit that ETU is probably one of the weakest teams.  I could be wrong as Tatsumi has finally claimed to have “instilled spirit” into the team but we’ll see.

"... that ball freaks me out."

When Kuro and his center-back friend realize and admit that they were at fault, they start the next game.  To nobody’s surprise, they concede another goal, but this time, Kura is encouraging everyone to keep playing harder as the game is not yet over.  In my years of watching soccer, it’ll be a dramatic 2-1 comeback, or maybe a 1-1 draw to get the season finally kicking off (because 1 point from a possible 21 is sooooo good, right?)  I’m enjoying this anime, but I’m getting pissed at Tatsumi.  Come on, manager – let’s see your genius.  But he’s still never going to be as good as Mourinho though.

The marking...

...the header...

...the losing team...

...the losing manager...

...and the legend.

21 Responses to “GIANT KILLING! episode eight”


  1. 25 May 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I will be supporting my nation – South Africa, if we fail Germany is going to walk over everybody else.

    Dori the Goalkeeper isnt that bad, besides the 4-0 thumping to Javelin he has done well keeping their scorelines tidy given that the defence has been pointed out as being ETU’s weak point.
    Also, it is fairly common in attacking teams style of play for the GK to venture outside his penalty area to start attacks/intercept throw-balls and allow defenders to push up and assist in attack – eg. The successful 1990 Cameroon World Cup team, German teams in the ’90s and ’98 World Cup winning French team.

    We need to see more Gino!

    • 2 SPIRAL
      25 May 2010 at 4:24 pm

      Gino = Messi?

      • 3 Loz
        25 May 2010 at 8:33 pm

        Gino is definitely NOT Messi! He is akin to someone who is talented, overly self absorbed, but cant be bothered to put a shift in when off the ball.

        Maybe more of an Adebayor, or perhaps even berbatov, but that may be giving berbatov a lot of credit.

        • 4 SPIRAL
          25 May 2010 at 8:50 pm

          he can’t be adebayor, he’s not black
          he can’t be berbatov, berbatov can’t do crap
          maybe… maybe… Millito?

          • 5 Loz
            25 May 2010 at 9:15 pm

            Thing is though, in the show cant remember which episode it shows Gino is not bothered about tracking back and marking the opposition when ETU lose possession of the ball. D Milito works hard on and off the ball. So dont know who he would be like really.

  2. 6 karry
    25 May 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Why cant the USians just rename their useless “game” with the weirdest rules ever what it should be named – rugby : retarded edition. Honestly, how often do the feet actually connect with the ball in that game ? Just leave the legitimate football alone.

    • 7 SPIRAL
      25 May 2010 at 4:58 pm

      I call it football too, but I’m assuming that most people that come to this site are more comfortable with “soccer”. Maybe not?

  3. 8 Loz
    25 May 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Mourinho, What a guy! Wish he would come and manage the greatest football team ever – Liverpool (Obviously biased opinion as I am a Liverpool fan)

    And I shall be supporting England in the world cup. Three Lions all the way!

    How bout yourself?

      • 10 SPIRAL
        25 May 2010 at 8:51 pm

        I’m obviously going to go for my home country South Korea, but after that England because I’m a Chelsea fan XD

    • 11 SPIRAL
      25 May 2010 at 8:51 pm

      by the way, good luck with Uefa CUP next year

      • 25 May 2010 at 9:20 pm

        Congrats on sealing the title. I was SO happy Man U didnt win it this year!

        Thanks, but id prefer it if we were in the Champions League. Obviously.

        Good Luck in Group B. Not going to be easy but I think you will advance into the knock out stages. Because I think you will beat both Nigeria and Greece. Dunno about Argentina, coz they have been inconsistent. So dont know how they will perform on the day. But all the best!

  4. 13 Paucius
    26 May 2010 at 9:52 am

    Mexico for me, my country, my team

    • 14 SPIRAL
      26 May 2010 at 10:48 am

      man…. I love Rafael Marquez.. have a poster of him in my room

    • 15 SPIRAL
      26 May 2010 at 10:49 am

      pero quien esta el capitan?

      • 16 Paucius
        28 May 2010 at 2:03 pm

        varia, esa entre Rafael Marquez y Cuahtemoc Blanco, son los de mas experiencia en el equipo, cuabdo ni uno de los dos esta, se la dan a Torrado, al menos es lo q acostumbra

    • 26 May 2010 at 7:00 pm

      Unlucky about Monday mate. The 3-1 scoreline flattered us a little bit. Especially because you were the better team in the first half. Your boys should learn how to defend better from set pieces though.

      • 18 SPIRAL
        26 May 2010 at 7:59 pm

        then again, it WAS england let’s not forget.

        • 19 Paucius
          28 May 2010 at 2:16 pm

          Yeah, but luck is also a part of the formula to be a winner, it´s the story of our team we got tire of miss so many times, the game against Netherland was even worse, the only thing I can say in our defense is that Aguirre is still testing players to define the first team and giving game time to everyone, so anyone can´t get too nervous if the they have to play any game in world cup (I guess and hope for)

          PD. sorry to reply so late, I´m usually just a lurker so I don´t write too often, less expect someone reply my comments, but I´m also a big football fan and couldn´t resist this one, wish you luck to your countries in this world cup

  5. 20 BoozerX
    28 May 2010 at 12:22 am

    Gino=Riquelme


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


