03
Jun
10

k-on!! episode nine

Try harder, Yui. Try harder.

I know we always give Yui a hard time what with her senselessness and being a Space Cadet, but she proves this week that she can handle school and music simultaneously, reaping good results with each respectively. Of course she didn’t do it alone, garnering help, support, and discipline from her friends.

When Yui first committed to the talent show with a solo act, I was really excited to see what she could do on her own, but I was even more excited when Azu-nyan decided to lend a hand. For a moment I had actually hoped the whole band would perform together, but in the end, I think just Yui and Azu-nyan was good; it gave a different feel and dynamic to something we’ve seen before.

The real treat this week was seeing the costumes Yui and Azu-nyan wore (plus some plain clothes for our other girls)!

Music-wise… “Brush and Ballpoint Pen (Fude Pen Boru Pen)” is an old song from the first season, and I can’t say I enjoyed their “remix” very much (though it was remixed with seniors in mind) but I suppose some music is better than no music – and it was probably the first time we’d heard Azu-nyan sing! Well, if you consider that singing…

Whatever it was, it was cute.

I’m unsurprised to see K-On!! focus on something as heart-warming as Yui and Ui’s relationship with their elderly neighbour. The “Grandma” is really cute too and very typical in some ways, like: always providing food (“I’ve made too much”), giving encouragement and kind words, and noting growth and maturity. If only Obaa-san knew that Yui was supposed to pick up soy sauce and not sugar…

Yui’s greatest show this season has to be this episode: she may be airheaded and silly most of time, but there’s also a sweetness and thoughtfulness in her that only shows through her actions of caring for others. Her intentions of winning – to give the hot spring prize to Obaa-san – are oh so endearing. Even participating in the talent show itself wasn’t for her own gain and exposure but to give something to her neighbour who had always been there, caring for them (that is Yui and Ui). I’m glad they chose this quality in Yui’s character to highlight; after last week’s episode (which highlighted her inability to focus on something important and take her future seriously) I was really starting to question her credibility as a main character.

When the previews for next week’s episode started, I thought they were going to focus an entire episode on Mugi! But I was wrong. They’re most likely focusing on Sawa-sensei for most of the episode, if not all of it. I’m still waiting for some Mugi-love. She’s the only member of the Light Music Club and Afterschool Tea Time that hasn’t had much story time – and we never got to see her when she was a baby. I could go on about Mugi’s lack of centrality but I won’t. I just hope that Mugi’s vocal debut will come soon. And I hope for costumes. I love the costumes.

4 Responses to “k-on!! episode nine”


  1. 1 Yi
    4 June 2010 at 6:19 pm

    I agree. This episode showcased and developed Yui really well. The focus on her relationship with Azusa is also very nice. I’ve never been that big of a fan of Yui, but this episode turned me around.

    More importantly, this episode featured some really cute clothes!

    • 2 blindability
      5 June 2010 at 7:11 am

      I knew you’d be keeping an eye out for the cute clothes! It looks like our wishes were granted with more casual attire for our girls.

  2. 7 June 2010 at 11:57 am

    I really want to hear some more singing from Azusa and Mugi (there definitely needs to be some more screen time for her)!

    As spacey as Yui might be, she was really sweet this episode. I agree, it was so heartwarming to see her determination to help Obaa-chan- that kind of selflessness was the highlight of the episode.

  3. 8 June 2010 at 5:30 am

    The Grandma was pretty sweet, and I liked the flashbacks with her, Yui, Ui, and Red-Glasses-Girl (who surprisingly did not have Red Glasses as a child). I found it cute when she gave them sweets and Yui/Ui started hopping around while rubbing their cheeks. I’m almost (okay, not really, but somewhat) certain that Ui was imitating Yui’s hopping, since younger siblings tend to copy everything their older sibling do. Maybe I’m thinking too much into it…

    Azusa’s singing was lovely! I DIED FOUR TIMES!!!


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


