04
Jun
10

Summer Anime 2010 Preview

Another season has gone and another season is about to arrive.  With many students and adults enjoying the possibilities of vacation and freedom, Japan has brought up an arsenal of anime series that some of these people will take their precious time off of to watch in the comforts of their rooms.  Damn you, Japan – below is the list and thoughts for the upcoming Summer 2010 season.  Each description will include a picture, a summary, possibly a trailer, and the thoughts of the writers who are going to participate this season.  Enjoy the birth of new series, continued series, and the sequels to some older ones.  And welcome our guest thoughts for this season – 5camp, former writer of Bokutachi no Blog and now admin for his own site, the Cart Driver.

Producers: Madhouse

Synopsis:

“The world is over taken with a very deadly disease that turns humans into zombies. In Japan, several students of Fujimi High School, and the school nurse, band together to survive the present apocalypse. The story follows Takashi Komuro, one of the students who survived in the initial outbreak.”

Thoughts:

5camp: I feel like the only person in existence who finds himself not creaming his pants at the prospect of this. I mean really, I know Madhouse are doing this but it looks like a slightly more violent version of Needless. Oh well, it’s not like anyone is watching this anime for the plot now, are they. Time to shut off my brain and watch heads flying, panties flashing, zombies mutilating and breasts bounding.

SPIRAL: What’s wrong with bouncing boobs?  Well, I thought that HOTD stood for the arcade House of the Dead franchise.  More importantly, I’m keeping this on my watch-list as I’ve been following the manga.  As much as I want to blog this, I’m actually hungry for food.  “What food?” you ask… BRAINS!!!

Poro: ZOMBIES FTW!! enough said.

blindability: This almost looks like a proper horror show – which actually terrifies me. The action looks decent though I doubt the plot is any good. Definitely not looking forward to the boobs and panties… I’ll probably watch the first few episodes to see which horrifies me more: the zombies or the storyline.

Loba: Huh, someone brought Left4Dead to the screen? Fascinating. Ain’t much for horror shows, the last I watched was Ghost hound and oh boy…I really shouldn’t have watched it at night. But then again, the boobs and occasional light hearted moment might appeal to you….if you like zombies. Watch out for the boomer!

Shiki

Producers: Daume

Synopsis:

“Sotoba is a small, quiet village where life has always been peaceful. Natsuno Yuuki, who moved from the city, hates it. However, recently a strange rash of mysterious deaths has begun to torment the village, and an epidemic is suspected. As various investigations continue, the truth behind the deaths becomes clear.  The town is being attacked by vampires.”

Thoughts:

5camp: We have the author of 12 Kingdoms and Ghost Hunt. We have the Noitamina Timeslot that’s held Eden of the East and Tokyo Magnitude. We have Studio Daume who’ve made Ichigo Marshmallow and Minami-ke. One of these is not like the other. Still, it’s Noitamina and I’m an elitist. We go together like Otonashi and Tenshi, like TK and being awesome.

SPIRAL:  I liked Higurashi and more recently Ookami Kakushi.  I’ll give it a try but don’t expect me to continue it.  I need a break from these small-town murder-mystery anime series.

Poro: I dun have an opinion.  It should be fine though.  I just hope it isn’t the same as Ookami Kakushi because that one was horrible.  🙂

blindability: The synopsis sounds familiar and not in a good way. I’m on the fence as to whether or not I’m going to watch this since I went through the pain of Ookami Kakushi in Winter. I don’t know if I’d be able to stand another great story building up only to have it let me down in a really, really cruel and stupid way. Plus if Natsuno Yuki is as idiotic as Kuzumi Hiroshi, I’m going to break something. (And what is with all these scary shows!)

Loba: I’m out of touch or having a short term memory but all that came to my mind was : HEY! THIS IS HOW TWILIGHT SHOULD BE! BLOODFEST. Ok, but yea, I echo blindability’s thoughts, is this the horror season?

Amagami SS

Producers: AIC

Synopsis:

“An adaptation of the PS2 game.  The story revolves around a second-year high school boy and his experience with Christmas.  Needless to say because of a painful memory, he doesn’t really enjoy but this is his last chance to ask out the graduating seniors.  The anime will focus on the story of each heroine.”

Thoughts:

5camp: This is based off a romance simulation game. You know what that means don’t you? It means you’ll get hundreds of VNfags who have played the game saying that it’s a mess of an adaptation and that the game is better. Oh well, at least the character designs actually look quite nice and not of the weirdly shiny variety a lot of VN adaptations tend to have. Sorry, but I’m not particularly enthusiastic about this. VN adaptations rarely excite me.

SPIRAL: Mine.  I have the game and it’s pretty fun to play.  My favorite genre of anime is romantic/romantic-comedy anime as well, so expect me to blog this.  Hopefully, I’ll enjoy this anime and I won’t have to be a VN fag.

Poro: Adaptions sometimes work. Sometimes they flop so bad that they aren’t worth mentioning.

blindability: The characters look pretty but that’s not enough to pique my interest.

Loba: Not my cup of tea.

Strike Witches 2

Producers: AIC (formerly: Gonzo)

Synopsis:

“The year is 1939 – it was then that the Neuroi appeared. Nobody knows where they came from or what their ultimate agenda is, but the fact remains that their attacks drove people out of their towns and cities. In order to take arms against them, humanity develops a new anti-Neuroi weapon called the “Striker Unit.” Using the power of magic to fight against the monsters, this new device enhances and amplifies the power of female magic-wielders. To use this device, young witches from all over the world have been brought together to form an elite task force unit called the 501st Joint Fighter Wing, commonly known as the “Strike Witches”.  Second season of anime series”

Thoughts:

5camp: Read my first sentence for Mitsudamoe, except remove the ‘not’

SPIRAL: As much as many pedos want us to blog this, I’ll have to pass it up.

Poro: <insert generic complaint about being mindless panty flashing here>

blindability: This almost sounds interesting. But then again there are cat ears and tails on girls who can fly. And I’ve lost interest. No wait: I was never really interested to begin with.

Loba: I’m probably the only guy who would be interested to watch (no, not because I am pedo or because of the flashing ya’ know) but because there’s a certain attraction of ‘unknown invader’ and ‘earth fights for survival’ scenario so much so I am very much inclined to ignore the less appealing moments of the show…I did watch a little of season 1 btw.

Shukufuku no Campanella

Producers: AIC

Synopsis:

“Ert Aria, a city known as the treasure of the world is preparing for a harvest festival.  Leicester Maycraft, a young item technician of the Oasis clan, encounters a shooting star near a party he’s attending.  Upon finding it, a girl appears before Leicester, calling him her father.”

Thoughts:

5camp: Gensokyo animu where?

SPIRAL: If it’s not ecchi, I think it’ll be pretty good.  If it’s made by Japan, it’s probably ecchi.  If it’s ecchi, it’ll be such a waste.  That being said, hopefully it won’t be ecchi.

Poro: So much anime, so little time.  Pass this one.

blindability: Moe moe… no.

Loba: I doubt it’s ecchi, it just has very strong MMORPG feel to it..but that’s just me.

Seikimatsu Occult Academy

Producers: A-1 Pictures

Synopsis:

“The third in TV Tokyo’s Anime no Chikara’s project (after Sora no Woto and Senko no Night Raid).  The horror and school comedy story revolves around mystery and supernatural cases at Occult Academy, a fortress-like academy city.”

Thoughts:

5camp: “Hey guiz, lets start a new project with original anime material. We’ll call it the POWAH OF ANIME!” – “But boss, what does the ‘power of anime’ entail?” – “Foolish fool, it means take a bunch of recycled plot elements and stick them together” – “Riiiight…we are so not making any more than three anime here”. And he was right. this is the last anime planned for this grand project Anime no Chikara. I hope it succeeds but they haven’t exactly been blowing us away with the other POWAH OF ANIME titles. Although I’m being a bit too harsh. Sora no Woto was a quite good anime. Plus that girl in the trailer has some epic leg-crossing skills of the eye-catching variety.

SPIRAL: If this was a “normal” anime, I probably would expect to see much from it.  If it’s part of a larger project involving Sora no Woto, it actually might be pretty good.  If I was to place a bet, it would be that this anime will turn out for the better.

Poro: I liked Working!! but both Sora no Woto and Senko no Night Raid are pretty meh.

blindability: I liked Sora no Woto and am enjoying Senko no Night Raid (since I’m not bothered by its history hashing inaccuracies) so I’ll definitely be giving this a shot. Hey they don’t put “POWER” in the project title for nothing… Though maybe they should add exclamation marks instead!!

Loba: This actually looks good but nah, don’t think I will watch.

Kuroshitsuji 2

Synopsis:

“A sequel to the first Kuroshitsuji anime, about a 12 year old English noble and his impeccably skilled butler, who happens to be a demon. The new series will introduce butler Claude Faustus and master Alois Trancy as the principal characters.”

Thoughts:

5camp: Since I’m apparently a fujioshi trapped in a straight male’s body, I quite liked Kuroshitsuji. But did we really need this second season? Will there be anyone looking so deliciously cute as Ciel in a pink dress….ummm, pretend I didn’t just say that.

SPIRAL: Never watched first season.  Maybe that was a bad on my part.

Poro: Never watched before, never going to start.

blindability: I have to admit that I’m curious. I watched the first season and quite liked it but that was a while ago and I had no idea a second season was coming. I have some concerns about the characters in this season but chances are, I’ll watch the whole thing through.

Loba: To be honest, I went and read up season’s one synopsis because I was intrigued by the origins of their ‘relationship’…I didn’t watch the first season and due to limited time, not going to start on the 2nd season. Another into the growing list of KIV… Sinister end to the trailer though…

Legend of the Legendary Heroes

Producers: ZEXCS

Synopsis:

“Raina Lute is a lazy student of Roland Empire Royal Magician’s school. One day, Roland Empire goes to war against a neighboring country Estaboole, and he lost his classmates in the battle. After the war, Lute sets out for a journey to search the relics of a “Legendary Hero” at Emperor Zion Astar’s command.  And he finds a deadly curse spreading across the continent.”

Thoughts:

5camp: THE NAME IS INTENTIONALLY DEFUNCT. Honestly, I feel like jumping into every summer season discussion and yelling that. It’s called humour. Those moonpeople can do it too you know. Although I’m probably wasting my precious typing fingers because this is a ZEXCS anime. ZEXCS suck. I mean, really suck. Although this does have a character voiced by Jun Fukuyama who has magical eyes. That has to count for something, right?

SPIRAL: What a title.  Sarcasm intended, and like 5camp said, ZEXCS does suck.

Poro: NOOO not another magic school Harry Potter Harem crap!!!!

blindability: No wonder I was reminded of Chrome Shelled Regios… I watched the first two episodes of that before dropping it so I’ll probably give this one a chance too. I’m not holding my breath or anything though.

Loba: Contrary to popular opinion (as above), I did find this trailer a little funny but…can anything match Scrapped princess wandering adventures!? Not this show, not today.

Ookamisan to Suichinin no Nakamatachi

Producers: JC Staff

Synopsis:

“A love comedy parodying fairy tales such as “Little Red Riding Hood,” “The Ant and the Grasshopper,” etc. Ookami Ryoko (Ookami-san) is a spunky highschool girl. She is a member of a “fixer” club so-called Otogi High School Bank. She fixes the school’s problems with her partner Akai Ringo (Akazukin-chan.)”

Thoughts:

5camp: A shower scene in the trailer? Really JC Staff? It’s like “hey guys, we have a Taiga lookalike but wait a second, Toradora never had a Taiga shower scene, did it?”. This really looks like a giant effort in fan-pandering otaku catnip. Which isn’t strictly a bad thing. If the audience wants smart, self-aware, self-deprecating high school girls then why not give it to them? Strangely, it actually looks like one of the more promising anime of the season.

SPIRAL: Imagine writing that title every time I blog this show.  It’ll probably be funny though.  Real funny.  Trailer looks funny too – I’ll probably watch it.  No problem with the content… just the super-long title.

Poro:  OMG WHY ARE TITLES SO LONG!! can’t we keep names simple so that otakus like me (Now that the tyranny of the OEG has ended, I shall continue misusing this term for all eternity mwahahaha!) won’t get  arthritis.

blindability: Copy and paste my friends, copy and paste. Or just shorten it. Either way it won’t be my problem since I won’t be reviewing this even if I end up watching it. I’m not too sure about the synopsis but I like the character design (and Ryoko’s school uniform!) so I’ll give it a shot.

Loba: The characters look familiar but no, this really isn’t my type of show…

Asobi ni Iku Yo!

Producers: AIC +

Synopsis:

“The story revolves around Kakazu Kio, an ordinary high school fresh man living in Okinawa. A girl with cat ears appears before him during a memorial service for one of his family ancestors. The girl calls her self Eris and claims she is an alien. Before long, fanatical alien worshipers and a mysterious government agency are in hot pursuit of Eris, but Kio’s childhood friend Manami — who wants to follow in her father’s footsteps in the CIA — cap­tures Eris. Kio finds himself having to protect Eris from everyone.”

Thoughts:

5camp: Well, the main character is hot. But there’s really not much else going for this. Mind you, I don’t think they were aiming any higher than having a hot female lead character. I’ll probably watch the first episode just so I can explain why Horo is a bizzilion times superior to her.

SPIRAL: Oomari Himari recycled – hot promo picture and I’ll watch the first episodes.  Maybe it won’t be as ecchi as some other series…

Poro: “I was like Spice and Wolf?!?!?” then i went meh…

blindability: Ohh! She’s a cat. …Still not going to watch this.

Loba: Replace a girl with cat ears with an alien and there’s a 0.0001% chance I might watch it.

Sekirei ~pure engagement~

Producers: Seven Arcs

Synopsis:

“In Tokyo in the year 2020, Minato Sahashi has failed the college entrance exam twice, is awkward around women, and he’s unemployed. He could never stand up to his mother or little sister growing up, a trend that continues to this day. In reality, Minato is extremely intelligent, yet his inability to cope under pressure results in his constant failure and he has been branded an idiot and loser by many as a result. One day, Minato meets a girl named Musubi, who literally falls from the sky. Minato soon learns that she is one of the “Sekirei” and he is her “Ashikabi”, a human with special genes that allows them to “wing” (form a contract with) a Sekirei. This binds the Sekirei to him and allows them to use their full power in the elimination battle with other Sekirei. Made up of cute girls, buxom women, and bishōnen, the Sekirei fight in a dangerous and sometimes deadly competition known as “The Game” or the “Sekirei Plan” organized by Hiroto Minaka, the chairman and founder of the mysterious and powerful MBI Corporation. Minato soon learns that being the partner of a beautiful girl is not all fun and games, especially when he discovers that an Ashikabi can have more than one Sekirei partner—and that’s where the real trouble starts.  Second season of series.”

Thoughts:

5camp: I have two choices for bouncing boobs this season. One is made by Madhouse, behind Death Note, Chobits, Claymore, Kaiba, One Outs and many many more epic anime. The other is by Seven Arcs behind such ‘greats’ like Asura Cryin’ and White Album….yeeeaaahh, I’ll stick to the zombie no ecchi one kay thanks.

SPIRAL: I like Sekirei.  I’ll blog it, cutting out the ecchi pictures and scenes, meaning that screen-caping this will be super easy.  I’ll blog it.  Period.

Poro: Yes, No, Maybe so, Maybe Yes, or Maybe No

blindability: Watched the first episode of the first season and didn’t like it. I doubt anything in ~Pure Engagement~ is going to change that for me.

Loba: Never watched the first season, not interested. Is this going to be made into a game?

Sengoku Basara Two

Producers: Production IG

Synopsis:

“Based off the game – warriors unite to take down the Dark Lord Oda Nobunaga in feudal Japan.  Second season of the series.”

Thoughts:

5camp: GET YOUR GUNS ON!!!

SPIRAL: I haven’t watched the first season but unlike Kuroshitsuji 2, I probably won’t end up regretting it.

Poro: <insert generic complaint about game adaption of shonen crap here>

blindability: For the seemingly lack of anything else to watch this Summer I’ll probably end up watching this just to have something to watch. Though if I wanted to watch an anime based on a game with fighting during a certain historical period, I could just catch up on the Shinsengumi one from Spring.

Loba: Production IG is doing this? Might be good stuff. Just have to wait for the first episode.

Nurarihyon no Mago

Producers: DEEN

Synopsis:

“Rikuo Nura, is 3 parts human and a quarter Demon, and lives in a house of spirits with his grandfather, the current clan head of the Nurayoukai. Rikou is set to be the next clan head, despite the fact he dislikes his demon side. He soon comes to terms with his demon blood and decides to take his position as young master of the Nura house. However there are those who will certainly not allow it to be easy.”

Thoughts:

5camp: Ah goody, a shounen series that hopefully doesn’t suck. The animation certainly looks nice in the trailer. But Deen and Shounen Jump is a combo I’m wary of. I’ve been burned by the two quite recently. Letter Bee and Fail-y Tail for Jump were dull and Deen are just record breakers in annoyingly lacklustre adaptations (although they made Umineko entertaining in a different way to what it was probably supposed to be entertaining for). We’ll have to wait and see I suppose.

SPIRAL: No more shounen for me.

Poro: It is funny. All of my manga are shoujo.  What is up with that bro!?! What is up with that!?!?!  Shounen just need hellauvalotmoredepth.

blindability: Sadly I have to agree with Scamp about the being burned by Shounen anime as of late, but I’ll still watch this. At least for a few episodes and we’ll see just how terrible it gets (and hopefully not at all).

Loba: Shounen…tempting, but the storyline is not attractive at all….

Mitsudomoe

Producers: Bridge

Synopsis:

“Comedy slice of life anime about 11 year old triplets Marui Mitsuba, Futaba and Hitoha.”

Thoughts:

5camp: It’s not fucking pedo-bait. Hey look, a bunch of 12 year olds acting like 12 year olds. What else are 12 year olds supposed to act like? I’m actually kinda looking forward to this. It’s a newbie studio with the Minami-ke crew behind it, making an anime that actually suits their style (aka: not a horror mystery like Shiki). Minami-ke is funny. This looks funny.

SPIRAL: Minami-ke came first to my mind, but maybe not as promising.

Poro: Robots are awesome. I’ll pass.

blindability: It’s interesting to see a cast of 11 year olds look like they’re actually 11 year olds and not 21 year olds. Not sure what sort of direction the story itself will take, and no I’m not terribly excited about the character design, but I wouldn’t mind seeing how it goes. After all, Hanamaru Youchien proved that kiddie things aren’t always bad.

Loba: LOL at 0:07. I pity their teacher, being a relief teacher before, I totally understand the pains of teaching a bunch of 11~12 year old. Avoiding it to avoid bad memories.

Seitokai Yakuindomo

Producers: Go Hands

Synopsis:

“Tsuda Takatoshi is a new student in the recently gender-integrated high school. He’s asked to join the student council as the vice president. Thus begins his days as the only normal boy among 3 female student council officers.”

Thoughts:

5camp: Go Hands, behind such masterpieces like Queens Blade and Ikkitousen. Oh boy, I can feel the excitement building up inside…in case you didn’t get it, that was sarcasm.

SPIRAL: Cliché story, recycled material, but I said that about Ichiban Ushiro no Daimaou, so I might actually be wrong and watch this.

Poro: I like pie. I’ll pass.

blindability: Spiral will let us know if it’s any good.

Loba: Ha. Rem. Ha. Rem. Ha. Ha.

Digimon Xros Wars

Synopsis:

“The new Digimon anime season will be aimed in Japan at young children aged 6 to 10 years with the main characters as young kids or early teens and younger, lighter storyline like with the fourth seasons. The new Japanese Digimon Analyzers would be like those of the first two seasons.”

Thoughts:

5camp: …

SPIRAL: I choose, you!  Pikac… wrong show?  It’s time to d-d-d-d-duel!… wrong one again? Hmm, I never really liked Digimon.

Poro: DIGIMON FTW (no seriously)……. (i am totally serious)…. *walks away from the shocked faces of everyone*

blindability: I’m not 6 to 10 years old…

Loba: Uh, why did we include this in the season review? Oh wait…this season really blows. By the way, I owned 2 digimons before, challenged a stranger once as a kid, I lost. Damn you alien-mon. Teddy-mon was imba though.

19 Responses to “Summer Anime 2010 Preview”


  1. 1 Windaerie
    4 June 2010 at 11:32 pm

    The summer season doesn’t seem too exciting… 😦

  2. 5 June 2010 at 6:05 am

    Aw crap, I just realises I made a mistake. Go Hands had nothing to do with Queens and Ikkitousen. They’re still a crap studio though.

    Anywho, it was fun writing up a more…laid back season preview with you guiz~

  3. 5 June 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Well, it’s Nurarihyon no Mago for me (hopefully people will be calling it NuraMago for short…?). Don’t see much else in this season for this fujoshi girl. 😉

  4. 4 Marvin
    5 June 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Ok… summer season look like I’ll finally have time to do some catching up…

  5. 5 blacknightz
    6 June 2010 at 8:28 pm

    GET YOUR GUNS ON!/ Legend of the ….Legendary (geez it hurts to write this title) Hero are on.
    Zombie ero can be this season’s time waster budgeted by Madhouse.
    Might dabble with shiki (only one I couldn’t quite think of a nickname for)
    I’ll dabble with the Toradora clone and the mash of random ideas that lead to female domination, but the rest is either echi or pedo echi so I’ll pass.

  6. 7 June 2010 at 7:43 am

    Re: Shukufuku no Campanella
    @Loba, I get MMORPG vibe too. I like the fact that the character is an “item technician”, and the artwork is attractive. I’m just gonna guess that the story will suck.

  7. 7 June 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Thanks alot guys. Great work as usual. Always look forward to your preview guide.

  8. 7 June 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Also. What exactly is Loba doing? Coz his clearly not watching any anime this season. I say you let him design a new banner for you guys!

  9. 9 June 2010 at 3:02 am

    Totally unrelated question, but why do some ppl have pics & I dont?

  10. 10 June 2010 at 8:17 am

    Nothing here looks that great-no immediately compelling titles. Lots of stuff that looks like potential crap. Maybe this summer I’ll just catch up on older shows. :/

  11. 14 Carnage
    13 June 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Well honestly the only shows i was semi-interested in was School of the Dead and naruryan…if thats even how its spelled. Wow these companies need to realize having ungodly long names doesnt make anime good. For example look at most successful anime= naruto,one peice, Hajime no Ippo, naruto……I mean hell even a damn todler could say IPPO!

    P.S. Was really let down after finding out that one show wasnt a sequel to toradora. I mean look at her she looks like a 4 YEARS OLDER TAIGA. Just cause miname-k can do it doesnt mean you can too

  12. 15 thaivu22
    20 June 2010 at 8:39 am

    Nurarihyon No Mago is pratically the main attraction for me. However Studio Deen is making it, so it could turn into a disappointment.

  13. 16 optamistik
    7 July 2010 at 9:48 am

    hmm well, i would say bout 60% of tha shows look decent enough to watch (excluding digimon cuz thats not anime to me its a bunch of action figures shown through a camera). Usually like half of tha shows i think are gonna be shitty turn out pretty decent so even when the season looks like a fail i think it will be pretty good.

  14. 24 July 2010 at 3:38 pm

    wow the next series of diggimon is coming???I can’t wait to see this one.

  15. 27 July 2010 at 9:50 pm

    I just wanted to comment your blog site and say that I genuinely enjoyed reading your website post here. It was really informative and I also digg the way you write! Continue the good work and I’ll be back to read far more soon mate

    • 19 SPIRAL
      28 July 2010 at 2:03 am

      Thank you, the simplest of thanks means a lot to everyone on the team so we’ll continue to bring what we do best.


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


