22
Jun
10

Anime for the Sake of Anime: Love Hina

Love Hina – “The story is a shōnen comedy that takes place in the Kanagawa Prefecture, and centers on Keitaro Urashima and his attempts to fulfill a childhood promise that he made with a girl to enter Tokyo University together. However, he has forgotten the name of the girl he made the promise to and hopes to be accepted into Tokyo University in order to find her. Despite failing the entrance exam twice, he becomes manager of the family-owned girls’ dorm Hinata House and must balance his new responsibilities with his attempts to pass the university entrance exam and find the girl of his dreams.”

The music: It’s Yui Horie who also plays Naru Narusegawa in the series, to sing the opening of Love Hina and Love Hina Again.  The music is catchy but it needs to be shown with the clip as well to actually be somewhat entertaining and interesting.  The opening sequence shows all the characters in the Love Hina world and it’s crazy.  Be it you actually enjoy it to enjoy the series.

Why You Should Watch:If you’re reading this, then you probably did end up watching it at some point of your life.  I would arguably say that this IS the anime/manga of the 90s because of its humor and lovable characters.  If you didn’t like Keitaro or Naru, then you most certainly would’ve loved Su, the hyperactive technology genius; Motoko, the katana-weilding ninja; Shinobu, the hopeless cook trying to get in on Keitaro’s love; Kitsune, Naru’s childhood drinking friend; Kanako, Keitaro’s creepy (but awesome) sister; and any of the other characters that make Love Hina so fun.  Unfortunately, the anime stopped at around half-way through the storyline but for those of you that want to know – yes, Naru does marry Keitaro in the end.

Why You Shouldn’t Watch: If you don’t like repeating themes of a guy living in a girl’s dormitory, then you shouldn’t watch.  I found out that 80% of the people who watch this show enjoy it and find it funny.  It’s not the best anime, but it’s one that remains a classic in your head.  The 20% that don’t enjoy are women who find violence/humor between guys and girls lame.  It’s a slight bit ecchi but compared to the anime series nowadays, this is a child’s movie.  Cheesy storyline and odd characters.

Final Verdict: Watch it.  I have the whole manga series and I love reading it every now and then.  It’s funny, witty, and touching as Keitaro goes through on an adventure of life and trying to fulfill his childhood promise.

14 Responses to “Anime for the Sake of Anime: Love Hina”


  1. 1 Windaerie
    22 June 2010 at 11:42 am

    Hmm, guess I was in that 20%. >< For me, Naru was just too violent and Keitaro was too weak (guess I like the Himura Kenshin or Lockon Stratos type of guy…). Suu was the only redeeming character, but after her mini arc, it was back to more punching of Keitaro, putting down of Keitaro, and too much freaking anger from Naru at every little thing (albeit with a humorous twist). Love Hina was nowhere near as beautiful as True Tears in terms of plot or character likability. nor as clever/funny as Kare Kano, Nodame Cantabile or Chrno Crusade, nor as romantic as Ayashi no Ceres or Air TV. I'd rate it 5/10 imho.

  2. 3 Topspin
    22 June 2010 at 12:09 pm

    It’s funny that I just started re-watching Hina again just in time to comment. It’s been almost a decade and I really don’t feel the magic anymore. It’s just too ridiculous for me now that I’m older, and have had enough of the abusive tsundere and harem concepts to last me a lifetime. I will finish it and the manga before commenting further, but it’s not really evoking a sense of nostalgia in any positive way. Hopefully that’ll change in the last 10 episodes and the manga.

    I feel that it’ll still serve as an effective antidote to more tedious angsty stuff like True Tears, or the overly-melodramatic Key stuff. Keitaro is also somehow less of a loser than I remembered, given how epic the stupidity is among his anime successors (and the fact that Naru is also a total loser). But I still think Love Hina’s appeal was mostly due to me not having watched much anime before it. Now I’ll have to re-watch/re-read Kare Kano as well to see if it still holds up :S

  3. 22 June 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Just a note: Megumi Hayashibara performed the OP for Love Hina, not Yui Horie. She does combine with the cast to sing a pretty version of the OP during the fireworks festival though.

    Anyhow, really fun show that really kickstarted the whole harem genre with all the tropes that we now associate with it. I wouldn’t say it has aged well since so many harem shows have copied what it has done, but it’s certainly entertaining and good if you’re looking to see where the harem genre (in its current incarnation) got started.

  4. 22 June 2010 at 1:34 pm

    Even with the repeating themes, I thought this was one of the better shows that I’ve seen. The OP’s are awesome as all hell, and I love to play them on Stepmania (or I used to, I never play that shit anymore).

    Anyway, I only just decided to read the manga, and I must say, the series as a whole is 2095 times better. The manga is still good, but not at good. Ken Akumatsu just decided to add a bunch of random crap in places and pretty much took the story in circles. I will say that Kanako was 40248 times better in the manga than in the series.

  5. 23 June 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Talk about nostalgia when thinking back to this series. Definitely has been a long time since I originally watched this series. Though I think the major difference between then and now is that after all these years I’m a bit tired of the violent tsundere cliche. Still some good memories and overall did like the cast of the show.

    Sure there were repeating themes, but this does sit as one of the classics for it’s genre. Was never a huge fan of the OP music, but not a bad thing to see it again and remember how many times I listened to it.

    Never thought about checking out the manga since it seemed fairly well concluded by the end. Of course now I have to check it out :).

  6. 9 Poro
    23 June 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Interesting comments…
    I found that the OP was a good fit just because the anime itself is kinda old and crazy. I liked listening to it just cuz it was catchy.

    It really is a classic. This anime set out what I think as the “harem” “imbalanced-overpowered shoujo” genre. I think almost all good anime are somewhat reality based and at least a little surreal.

    MANGA!! Damn another thing to do in my busy week…

  7. 10 Blacksun88
    23 June 2010 at 11:36 pm

    i enjoyed the manga series and finished it, but the anime… i dropped when i watched till episode 7. i guess the anime is below my expectation, but well, cant expect but from a 90s anime right?

  8. 11 Nathans51
    10 July 2010 at 8:50 am

    hey i just wanted to know did thi series get canceled any how please tell me

    • 12 SPIRAL
      13 July 2010 at 5:18 am

      It wasn’t popular apparently. The anime was supposed to be 48 to cover the whole series but they just made it 26 and stopped after the lack of money. after that, they wanted to “end” the series and made 3 episodes of Love Hina Again

  9. 18 July 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Oh my god!
    I love this anime so much!
    It’s so funny! Naru is so violent to keita!

    :3

    ~ Hye Wee


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


