02
Jul
10

Amagami SS episode one (first impressions)

Sorry about the hiatus, but as I had explained before, I returned from Korea to the States and my first priority was not to set up the internet nor my computer. It was to set up… well, I lied. My first priority did turn out to be the Internet before I realized that Korea was known for its superior Internet speed. Regardless, here’s one of the few series I am doing this season. It’s good to be back folks.

Let’s start with the opening – [i Love] by azusa. Now apart from [iLove] to being my clan name on Warcraft III: the Frozen Throne, it’s a pretty good song name. It’s a light swing song with a good upbeat feel to it, so it’s pretty fun to listen to. Also like any other opening sequence, we get introduced to every single character. There’s a part in it that reminds me of kimikiss (actually, the whole thing just reminds me of kimikiss) so I guess it’s a good thing, since kimikiss turned out to be alright and be decent.

It’s revealed that it’s the Morishima Haruka arc so I guess that the main guy ends up with her in a few episodes. So the first four episodes will focus on her, but I wonder if she will still be the main focus of the entire show. Regardless, she is a beautiful and outgoing sempai to Tachibana but it seems that she’s some sort of idol throughout the school since a lot of other people know her. Well, I wouldn’t lie and say I wouldn’t fall for her too, but she seems like the girl who would jump bandwagons. That aside, I still say the kimikiss first episode was much better than this, since it just shows our guy with every girl he’s going to end up with before the end of this series, which is 24-episodes (6 girls, 4 episodes each… Kaoru FTW).

On an even more unrelated note, that teacher is probably the hottest girl on the show. She looks so young it doesn’t even look like she made it out of college yet – that’s anime for you, making even the old wise people look good. I vote that the OVA of this show features four episodes with Tachibana getting into a prohibited relationship with his teacher. WHAT UP.

This girl is probably going to be the “quiet/shy girl” arc (no kidding) but she’s kinda cute. True, she is only a freshman but regardless, she is on the swim team. I think her name is Ai Nanasaki and hopefully we get to see her arc soon (spoilers from the PS2 – it’s pretty entertaining as far as high school love-arcs go). Back to the scene, I really liked the way that AIC introduced her character since the other girls just popped out randomly. The bread scene was well tied into Kaoru’s introduction and it’s obviously going to be Ai Nanasaki having a crush on Tachibana, if I do know AIC.

I thought that this girl was a bit ditsy but she’s going to play a bigger role later I guess. She’s Sakurai Rihiko and she’s a childhood friend of Junichi – she seems like the type that doesn’t seem to care about the aspects of love but she actually does in her head. More on her later, since she really didn’t do much in this episode.

Class representative Ayatsuji Tsukasa – there must be a good reason why you are the cover girl for Amagami SS so we’ll expect more from you.

I’m sorry Junichi but you’ve just been rejected!  Well, curious to see how the next three episodes go… maybe she’ll fall for Junichi?

The first episode did nothing but just introduce the characters so it’s starting from the second arc that we will get to see the true potential of this anime.  Since Haruka is the first arc, we can naturally assume that Junichi will not go with her in the end and that she’ll learn to move on or something cheesy like that.  AIC seems to have a kimikiss lookalike series so we’ll see which one turns out to be better.

11 Responses to “Amagami SS episode one (first impressions)”


  1. 1 RP
    3 July 2010 at 1:46 am

    You were in korea? For what?

  2. 3 Metalsnakezero
    3 July 2010 at 4:10 am

    “quiet/shy girl” is Sae Nakata not Ai Nanasaki.

  3. 5 Lem
    3 July 2010 at 6:15 am

    Nice to have you back. Though to be honest, I didn’t know you were gone in the first place. =X My bad there. Anyways, I get the slightest inkling this show is gonna pull a Clannad and make all these arcs in parallel universes or something. Since the episode and the number of girls is rather… even. I dunno, I just noticed it could be put into a sort of pattern. Then again, it is a tad too early to judge how the show is going to flow after all.

    Sakurai also has a big appetite, that point sticking out about her. Ah well, I’ll be looking forward to seeing how this anime goes.

    Bonus points so far for not having retina-scarring hair colors.

    • 6 SPIRAL
      3 July 2010 at 8:19 am

      I thought something along the opposite lines. I feel that the anime is going to go along the lines of every girl’s arc coinciding somehow with each other’s events. I mean, why would they have Junichi getting to help Sae Nakata if they were going to redo the whole arc to differ from the current Haruka one? So yeah, I think all the arcs are going to connect somehow.

      Yeah, the hair colors are doing us good. For now.

    • 7 Salamandra
      4 July 2010 at 8:36 pm

      Boo, I want a girl with purple hair.

  4. 9 thaivu22
    4 July 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I was expecting class rep to be first on the pimp radar lol

  5. 10 keith
    1 August 2010 at 11:00 am

    the brown haired twintail girl is sae nakata,ai nanasaki is the stoic short haired one

  6. 11 nanasaki ai
    21 November 2010 at 12:08 am

    do you now where i can see amagami SS the chapter 23 with subtitles in english?


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


