23
Jul
10

Saying Goodbye to… OneManga.com

I have been a big fan of this site and I have reading most, if not all, my manga for the past two years from this site and I have bought the series that I have liked.  Thanks to this site, I was able to keep up with One Piece and Katekyo Hitman Reborn, start new series and grow to love them in Suzuka and Kimi no Iru Machi, and occasionally reading short series like Lock-On and Love & Collage.   I had visited the site today and saw this message:

“It pains me to announce that this is the last week of manga reading on One Manga (!!). Manga publishers have recently changed their stance on manga scanlations and made it clear that they no longer approve of it.
We have decided to abide by their wishes, and remove all manga content (regardless of licensing status) from the site.”
Obviously, this is a blow to many of us since pirated scanalations have been a serious problem but the question is that will these cyberpolice and manga writers ever be able to stop the speed of the internet and the love for manga everyone has?  I think not anytime soon.  But farewell OneManga.com, and I salute those on staff for bringing me such joy and happiness in the form of art and humor.  You will be missed.
15 Responses to “Saying Goodbye to… OneManga.com”


  1. 1 Windaerie
    23 July 2010 at 7:50 am

    A sad day indeed…

  2. 23 July 2010 at 8:38 am

    Definitely some sad news to hear. Also saw a lot of the manga I followed from that site. Was also a big fan of the site. All we can do is say “nice work” to the staff and move on.

  3. 3 Noa
    23 July 2010 at 9:37 am

    this is really sad news for me..
    Onemanga was the site that i used to read from when i was first getting into manga, and i still use it today..

    they will be missed.

  4. 4 edvardaz
    23 July 2010 at 9:47 am

    well there’s still Manga Fox out there…

    • 5 SPIRAL
      23 July 2010 at 10:51 am

      mangafox will probably close down too since Onemanga and similar 100 sites are being closed down.

    • 6 SPIRAL
      23 July 2010 at 11:02 am

      over 100 similar sites like onemanga will be closed down too, so I’m expecting mangafox to say goodbye as well

      A. YoonGreat and good are rarely the same man.

  5. 7 Denys Fantasma Almeida
    23 July 2010 at 10:52 am

    Rest in Peace… and may the hunter begins!

  6. 23 July 2010 at 11:00 am

    I honestly think the publishers should’ve realized that online manga was going to be popular when they exploded back then and worked with scanlators back then.

    Now, it’s just a complete mess.

    I wrote about this and how publishers are just bad businesspeople. You can read it at:
    http://www.mangatherapy.com/post/846045104/end-of-onemanga

  7. 23 July 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I’m still in shock over the announcement. Onemanga was one of the first sites I go to when I’m online.

    It will be really weird to not have an outlet where I can just pick and choose any manga I want like that anymore.

  8. 23 July 2010 at 8:16 pm

    This totally devastated me. I think although I can understand why they did it, since there isn’t a viable alternative for me to read the latest chapters of the manga I like in English, that it is totally unfair. And the publishers really shouldn’t be bitching at all, because if it weren’t for online scanlations their work wouldn’t be heard of in western countries. Online scanlations only ever helped me decide on more manga to buy!

    But I’ve already ranted in the OneManga forums. Still, my sould is being torn asunder! 😦

  9. 11 qwerty
    24 July 2010 at 12:54 am

    Use mangafox or megaupload and forum

  10. 12 tTSubject
    24 July 2010 at 4:25 am

    I wish to express my extreme gratitude to onemanga and its fouder because from where I live there is no chance to read manga except through the internet and I’ve grown fond of them for 3 years now. Even though there were a lot of other sites onemanga was on the most frequently accesed. Once again I thank you for your kindess of sharing the asian culture and i hope there wil be other ways to read manga. As for the rest of the manga sites hang on as hard as you can guys. Fight Om!

  11. 13 DrunkenVeggie
    25 July 2010 at 12:47 am

    Really sad news…without onemanga, I wouldn’t be a fan of all the manga that I’ve purchased. I’m sad to have to move on to other places. They really helped me learn of manga that I wouldn’t have learned about otherwise.

  12. 14 Super Noodles
    25 July 2010 at 12:56 pm

    There are yet other sites around, and you can probably still visit the scanlators themselves on their individual pages.

    RIP OM nonetheless


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


