26
Aug
10

k-on!! episode twenty-one

I’m not sure how many boys will be able to relate to this episode, but I’m sure most girls, if not every girl, has either experienced – or feared – the “self-cut”.

And the only thing better than a bad “self-cut” is a group of friends who lie to you about how bad it is.

It’s not often we get an episode where the focus is on Yui and she’s not entirely annoying. Though when she cut that chunk off her bangs, I did think for a moment: “Serves her right”. And I’m glad they didn’t gloss over the fact that it was a bad cut. But only Yui would cut off that much due to a sneeze; most people just get shaky or can’t quite see what it is that they’re doing. I say she’s lucky she didn’t lose an eye on that one.

And she got spoiled by her friends afterwards.

This wasn’t the first time we see how closely Ui and Yui resemble each other, the only differing characteristics being their hair and polar opposite personalities. But though it’s not the first time, it’s still creepy. I know some siblings look extremely similar, but Yui is Ui – with different hair. I noticed Yui’s clips in Ui’s hair; I just didn’t think anything of it. Yui could have done without them for a day or two; I almost wished she’d put Nodoka’s big paper clip in her hair, haha. Hey: desperate times call for desperate measures. Just like how it’s fun to see our girls in casual and different clothing, it was fun to imagine them (and in this case, see a few) with different hair. The most we’ve gotten this season is Mio and Mugi with ponytails – which isn’t a detail overlooked in vain. I’ve seen many a comment about Mio and Mugi’s ponytails.

Azusa went without her usual twin tails for a few minutes of the show too. While I’m not a huge fan of twin tails, personally (they take so much time to construct!), I think Azusa needs them – or perhaps she’d look okay with a ponytail too, but the girl needs to do something with that long hair of hers; hanging straight down doesn’t suit her at all.

Speaking of Azu-nyan, the issue – and fear – of her being the only Light Music Club member left arises again, though only for a brief moment. It might not have been done quite as poetically as some of the other times this season, but it was placed well alongside the silliness importance of graduation-photo-hair, and Ritsu, Mio, and Yui’s post secondary education plans. It was sweet when Mio’s revealed to have forgone the recommendation for any school of her choice to attend the Women’s College with Ritsu and the others. Of course Ritsu and Yui still have to make it into the College – which begins with passing their exams and actually graduating from High School. Depending on how that goes (next episode), Azusa might not be so lonely after all.

But let’s not forget the most important lesson learned this episode: Girls really do brush and style each others’ hair for fun.

6 Responses to “k-on!! episode twenty-one”


  1. 26 August 2010 at 11:40 pm

    When they spoil Yui about her newly cut hairs, I just thought that it was so ‘Japanese’ to do so. Things would have been the opposite around my neighborhood 😛

    • 2 poro
      27 August 2010 at 9:43 am

      this post made me relive one of my 5 year old living nightmare thanks ^_^; I thought that it was Japanese to do so too. My otaku fantasy that Japanese girls are pretty and nicer than the girls in America is a falsity that I will up hold until I go to Japan. Despite the fact that this false belief is in no way shape or form plausible with my knowledge, I still believe!!!! All the other countries I have been to had nicer girls (maybe not prettier) with better manners. Or was just because I was a foreigner….?

      • 3 blindability
        28 August 2010 at 1:58 am

        Depends on where you were visiting and what you look like (to be honest). If you’re good-looking, you’ll attract a certain kind of reaction from people. You’ll also attract attention if you have “green card” written all over you.

    • 4 blindability
      28 August 2010 at 1:55 am

      I hadn’t realized there was anything cultural about the spoiling; you learn something new everyday.

  2. 31 August 2010 at 11:06 am

    Witch channel can i watch this?


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


