27
Sep
10

Fall Season Preview 2010

Due to some changes on our writing team, I’ve been asked to produce the 2010 Fall Season Preview. …You can tell the team’s desperate to get this done and up when they ask me of all people to do it. So bear with me people, and please: be nice. My sources include Google (always a good starting point if not tiresome to filter through), Chartfag’s Den of Lesbian Enterprise, Anime News Network, Anime Paper, and your site. Yes: yours.

Our Guest contributor this time around is FlareKnight from Xebek’s Blog. It was a pleasant surprise for me that he’s agreed to lend us his thoughts for this Preview; I’ve personally had the joy of ranting about Ookami Kakushi with him a couple of seasons ago, and from that I know he’s a good guy.

M M!

Synopsis: The story centers the life of Taro Sado going through high school. He came to realize his masochist personality and attempts to conceal this from his crush. To fix it, he enrolled in his school’s “2nd Volunteer Club”.

Studio: Xebec | Air Date: September 26 | Episodes: 12

Additional Info: Based on the Light Novel by Akinari Matsuno, illustrated by QP:flapper.

FlareKnight: Well at least this time the male lead is openly masochistic. At least if the male lead is going to get beaten up, he will be enjoying himself. Not expecting much from this one. I’ll probably watch if the lead isn’t too pathetic.

blindability: Aside from the fact that I think the girl in that picture is cute, there’s absolutely nothing about this show that interests me. I’ll wait and see how other people review it though in the off chance it’s actually quite funny like B Gata H Kei was.

SPIRAL: I have nothing to say – bland as generic descriptions go, this is as generic as you can get.  I’ll pass this off as a comedy and perhaps an underdog of the season.  I mean, with such a lame summary, the show couldn’t be lamer than that, right?

Poro: =.=

Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt

Synopsis: A company of ghosts has moved into Daten City, taking advantage of human greed. Two angels, Panty and Stocking, are sent from heaven to exterminate them – but in reality they got kicked out for bad behaviour.

Studio: GAINAX | Air Date: October 1 | Episodes: 13

FlareKnight: Wow….What happened to the Powerpuff Girls? Kind of hard to say anything without asking if the people behind this series are insane. No thanks.

blindability: I have to admit I like the animation style but the story looks like it’s going to be really cheesy. So I’m afraid I’ll have to pass.

SPIRAL: Panty?  Stocking?  The only two places I should hear that are in bed and during Christmas.

Poro: D: *facepalm*

Super Robot Taisen OG: The Inspector

Synopsis: A second project based on tactical simulation role-playing games, from Bandai Namco’s SR Produce Team. The anime will feature the designs of several accomplished mechanical designers.

Studio: Asahi Production | Air Date: October 1 | Episodes: 13

FlareKnight: Have no idea about the source material here. Though I have been hoping for some more mecha series so this is kind of answering that. Could end up being pretty cheezy. Well at least there will be some action and explosions. Will probably check it out at least.

blindability: Oh I love Transformers! …Isn’t this Transformers? Well the animation and character designs look pretty good, and I am interested in checking out what these “accomplished mechanical designers” come up with in the form of mecha.

SPIRAL: Why would you make a Japanese version of Transformers when you already have Asura Cryin’, Gundam, Evangelion, and… well, other robot shows?  And the designs don’t look enticing nor original.  Let’s get that sailing-away-from boat out!

Poro: This has a big LOOK-5-YEAR-OLDS-AN-ANIME-AND-ACTION-FIGURES-TO-WASTE-YOUR-POCKET-MONEY-ON!!! label on it.

Iron Man

Synopsis: The first part of four projects in a combined effort between Madhouse and Marvel to create a remake of famous super-heroes.

Studio: Madhouse Studios | Air Date: October 1 | Episodes: 12

Additional Info: The first episode of Madhouse’s Iron Man anime series had its world premiere at Comic-Con International, which ran from July 22 to July 25 in San Diego. The anime will then hold its television premiere on Animax in Japan on Friday, October 1st at 10:00 pm. Marvel Entertainment had previously stated that the series would premiere during the second quarter (April-June) of the year. Marvel Anime: Iron Man and Marvel Anime: Wolverine were slated to air in the United States next year. (The other two projects will center on Blade and X-Men.)

FlareKnight: Actually never cared that much about Iron Man when it came to super heroes. Still this could be a pretty cool series to watch. Think Madhouse knows what it is doing and could turn this into a great show. Worst case scenario it still has a ton of explosions and action which is reason enough to watch. Nothing against Iron Man so I’ll watch it.

blindability: Finally! This better have been worth the wait and all the hype. I wasn’t (I’m still not) a fan of Heroman so Marvel and Madhouse had better put in their A-games and make this good.

SPIRAL: Iron Man?  I doubt that this anime will please after Robert Downing Jr.’s outstanding portrayal of billionaire Tony Stark.  Then again, it’s Marvel AND Madhouse, so we should expect to be blown away.  The good blown away.

Poro: I doubt this will be a success:

1. American viewers will be estranged from the 2-D style of Japanese Anime

2. Japanese people aren’t familiar with Iron Man

3. American comics and Japanese manga are fundamentally different in their potrayal of events and thoughts.  e.g.

American comic: Superman is holding kryptonite and thinks “Oh CRAP! KRYPTONITE!”

Japanese manga: Superman’s thoughts aren’t given to us but the picture obviously shows that he is becoming weakened by the rock.

This is a major, subtle difference that make fusion of American stuff complicated and hard to do.  I doubt that Madhouse will be the first.  Success Rate (in %): pi

Loba:I know I know, been on a hiatus for too long but this is the life of an engineering student, reduced to watching bleach, naruto and dragonball (and House MD) on his samsung galaxy s (supports 720p mkv with ass srt subtitles woot). So well, this is the only show I’m going to comment on: ironman been around long before it hit the big screen in 1963 when it appeared in the comics ‘Tales of suspense’. I have watched the movie multiple times as have many fans, read the ironman comics from volume 2 till present (there’s 291 chapters in volume 1 awaiting me), watched the animated series (man it sucks compared to spiderman, superman and justice league). Yea, I’m a big fan of ironman so I’m really really glad that there is actually a 2nd animated series for ironman with Madhouse helming it.The only concern I have is how to fit Tony stark’s prolong presence in Japan into the plot other than a short business trip excuse. Other than that, it’s going to be real cool watching out for the technological gadgets used and yes, the fireworks of explosions with metal versus metal. I might blog it, I might not, time will tell.

Bakuman

Synopsis: Bakuman follows talented artist Moritaka Mashiro and aspiring writer Akito Takagi, two 9th grade students who combine their skills to reach their dream: to become successful mangakas, and to get an anime adaptation. Mashiro also promises the girl he loves that if their dreams come true, he will marry her.

Studio: J.C. Staff | Air Date: October 2 | Episodes: 25

Additional Info: Based on the manga Bakuman by Tsugumi, illustrated by Takeshi Obata.

FlareKnight: Now this could be a pretty good series. A series about making manga could be something different. Haven’t followed the manga so no idea how good this could turn out to be. The premise has me curious which pretty much guarantees I’ll be watching.

blindability: I’m going to watch this for sure – but I’m not sure what to expect since I’ve been reading the manga as well. Sometimes, when a manga gets adapted into an anime, it ruins it. I just don’t want Bakuman to get ruined.

SPIRAL: Supposedly the big project after Iron Man, I imagine that the series will be very down to Earth yet somewhat entertaining.  However since it’s down to earth, we shouldn’t expect anything extraordinary except… as it says, the lives of manga artists.

Poro: I really liked the manga following it til Chapter 96.  The manga was good enough for me to call dibs on this to blog.  Success rate: 74.44444444444444444444444%

Psychic Detective Yakumo

Synopsis: In order to help a friend possessed by a spirit, Ozawa Haruka knocks on the door of her university’s movie research association. There she meets Saitou Yakumo, a rude, unkempt young man with a red left eye, who is said to have spiritual powers. At first Haruka is skeptical, but she comes to believe him when he conveys messages from her older sister, who died when she was a child. Together, they work to shed light on the terrifying events happening at their university. But this is only the prologue of what’s to come…

Studio: Bee Train | Air Date: October 3 | Episodes: 13

Additional Info: Based on the manga by Manabu Kaminaga.

FlareKnight: While not that original I’m not yet tired of series about ghosts. A series with some mature characters could be worth following. With a solid cast and Bee Train behind it, I think this series could be good. Will probably end up watching it.

blindability: I think this could be good to watch as long as it’s not too creepy. Shiki was on the border of being too scary for me to watch (which just goes to show how easily scared I get). The nature of the show does make me wonder if there’s going to be an over-arching storyline to follow though, or if it’ll be an isolated story/incident each week.

SPIRAL: Oooooh red eyes?  Ghosts?  Spirits?  University?  Girls?  ……..

Poro: Is it just me or those that red eye remind me of Lelouch.  Success Rate: ???

Hyakka Ryōran Samurai Girls

Synopsis: The story takes place in Japan in the early 21st century in an alternate reality where the Tokugawa Shogunate has remained in power. In this reality, student councils are tasked with oppressing schools. Yagyuu Muneakira is a high school student who rebels against his student council with the help of girls who’ve had the names of famous samurai heroes passed on to them.

Studio: ARMS | Air Date: October 3 | Episodes: 12

FlareKnight: This actually looks promising. A male lead who can actually fight and a solid voice group should make it a fun show to follow. Liked the cast so far from the early first episode. If they can fit some good action into this series it should be good. No doubt I’ll be watching this one.

blindability: I almost want to say yes because the action looks promising, but I have a bad feeling it’s going to be all boobs and butt in my face – which isn’t something I like or want. So I might check out the first episode and weigh the action versus the flying female anatomy.

SPIRAL: I’m blogging this already, so just read my thoughts on my ‘First Impressions’ on this show.

Poro: … Success Rate (again in %): 43.21

Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai

Synopsis: For several years, Kyousuke’s relationship with his younger sister Kirino has been cold, to the point that they only share greetings. But one day, Kyousuke finds a moe anime DVD fallen in their entry hall. His interest piqued, he looks for the owner, only to realize it belongs to Kirino. He’s shocked, but more surprises lie just ahead…

Studio: AIC | Air Date: October 3 |Episodes: 12

Additional Info: Based on the Japanese Light Novels written by Tsukasa Fushimi, illustrated by Hiro Kanzaki.

FlareKnight: I’ll have to keep asking the anime universe why I couldn’t get a cute little sister…. But yeah it doesn’t sound too bad. Could actually see myself laughing while watching this one which is a positive. Will probably end up watching it.

blindability: I don’t get the synopsis. So they get along after the brother realizes that his little sister likes moe anime? As long as they don’t fall in love and begin an incestuous relationship I’ll give this one a shot. Brothers and sisters should never, never fall in love.

SPIRAL: Isn’t this basically like Nogika no Himitsu, except that the two people are related this time?  And we all know how much Nogika no Himitsu was awesome… [sarcasm intended].

Poro: I have a cute younger sister, and I could care less.  I dun need to watch a show about an otaku, cute, little sister.  I already have one.

Star Driver Kagayaki no Takuto

Synopsis: On a cross-shaped island in the South, a mysterious and gigantic humanoid robot known as the “Cybuddy” is discovered sealed in the underground ruins for untold ages. A group known as the “Order of the Glittering Star Cross” attempts to remove the seal by abducting a girl named Wako Agemaki, who they dubbed the “shrine maiden” and is the key to activating the robot. A boy named Takuto Tsunashi arrives with his own Cybuddy named Tauburn to rescue Wako. Thus begins a struggle to unlock the secrets of the advanced technology and prevent disaster.

Studio: BONES | Air Date: October 3 | Episodes: 13

Addtional Info: You can flip through an online art book for the show on the official site. It briefly describes the main characters and a few of the locations. Or at least I think it does; unfortunately I can’t read Japanese.

FlareKnight: This series proves there is always room for another weird looking mecha. It could either turn out to be something great or it could fail completely. Show certainly has a good staff which gives it some hope. I’ll give BONES the benefit of the doubt with this even though I’m kind of uncertain about it.  Will watch the series and see how it turns out.

blindability: “Cybuddy”…? Really? I’m going to watch this despite the fact that their mechanical counterparts are called Cybuddies. Parts of this seem borderline ridiculous (like the Sailor Moon-esque transformation) but I kind of like the character designs and kind of want to see how the story goes. Just kind of…

SPIRAL: At least these robots have a unique design.  Not a great story, but something that’ll pique my interest.  Interesting characters makes the show worth a shot.

Poro: Cybuddy? Glittery Star? Harem? Anime-crazy-hairdo-stereotype? Please shoot me.

Shinryaku! Ika Musume

Synopsis: Squid Girl has come to the land from the depths of the sea to conquer humanity for its pollution of the ocean. Unfortunately she ruins the first house she uses as an invasion base and has to work to pay for repairs. Of course, she can’t overcome the Aizawa sisters who manage the house, so who knows whether she can subjugate humankind.

Studio: Diomedea | Air Date: October 4 | Episodes: 13

Additional Info: Based on the manga by Masahiro Anbe.

FlareKnight: Good thing this is a comedy since from a first glance it’s impossible to take the lead seriously. Might be funny, but have a feeling the lead is going to be too sad to watch. Probably won’t be following this one.

blindability: I may have watched Umi Monogatari to completion (that is, including the OVA) but I’m not going to watch this one.

SPIRAL: Pollution is bad…. mmkay?

Poro: This is Index trying to take over the world.  Go figure.

Otome Yōkai Zakuro

Synopsis: In an alternate history of the Meiji era where humans and magical beings known as “younin” live side by side, half-younin girls team up with army lieutenants to fight younin wrongdoers.

Studio: J.C. Staff | Air Date: October 4 | Episodes: 13

Additional Info: Based on the manga by Lily Hoshino.

FlareKnight: At least the premise sounds a little interesting. Watching youkai and human culture crashing in this kind of setting could be fun. Might even get some decent action out of this. It’s something different so I’ll at least give it a chance. Will probably end up following this one.

blindability: As a girl, I feel like I’m being targeted: Pretty men in uniforms; pretty women with cat ears; cute, bouncy, furry yokai; shades of pink and blossoming trees. …Everyone falls in love with each other too, no doubt, and from that love is born the peace that will save both youkai and mankind. …But I’m not watching, thank you.

SPIRAL: Interesting… youkai teaming up with humans.  Too bad I’m already playing Sengoku Rance.

Poro: After Asobi Ni Ikuyo, I have lost all faith in… ooo is that a rabbit with the protagonist?

Yosuga no Sora

Synopsis: Kasugano Haruka and his sister Sora have lost both their parents in an accident, and with them all their support. They decide to move out of the city to the rural town where they once spent summers with their late grandfather. At first everything seems familiar and peaceful, but changes come as Haruka starts to remember things from his youth.

Studio: feel. | Air Date: October 4 | Episodes: 13

Additional Info: Based on the manga by Takashi Mikaze.

FlareKnight: Well not sure what to expect here. Still the twin angle at least has me curious to see how it will turn out. The summary is pretty generic other than the twin thing which makes it hard to get much of a feel for the series. I’ll probably end up watching if only to figure out what is really going on.

blindability: Meh. The art is kind of cute and all the characters look somewhat pleasant, but at the end of the day, this isn’t something that really grabs me as worth watching unless I’ve got time – and unfortunately I don’t, so this one is out on my list.

SPIRAL: Every game I play is turning into an anime.  The game was beautiful and the story was very very deep.  Hopefully they can translate this to the anime and not turn out to be a disappointment like its Amagami SS counterpart.

Poro: No incest please.

Miyanishi Tatsuya Gekijō: Omae Umasou da na

Synopsis: Also known as “You Are  Delicious”, the story centers around a Tyrannosaurus who comes across an Ankylosaurus baby all by himself and says, “Rawr! You look delicious.” However, the Tyrannosaurus ends up adopting the baby as his own.

Studio: Asia-Do | Air Date: October 4 | Episodes: 1

FlareKnight: This could be the answer about what would happen if one decided to become friends with their lunch. Doesn’t sound that bad, just a bit silly. But doubt I’ll be watching that.

blindability: Heehee~ It’s really touching that the T-Rex didn’t eat the baby and instead adopted him into his family. Orphans need a good home with a loving guardian. If I can find this, I’m totally watching it.

SPIRAL: nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom…

Poro: FlareKnight made me laugh until I imagined myself marrying a sandwich.  Success Rate: 64.4444

Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai

Synopsis: Keima Katsuragi is an avid galge gamer known at his school as “Otamega” (a derogatory term combining the words Otaku and Megane) and on the internet as “The Capturing God.” One day he receives an e-mail offering him a contract to “capture” girls. He accepts thinking it’s a challenge and a demon from Hell named Elsee appears. She asks for his help in capturing runaway spirits that are hiding in “real” girls. He refuses stating he only like the girls from the game and she tells him that if he refuses then both of their heads will be cut off.

Studio: Manglobe | Air Date: October 6 | Episodes: 12

Additional Info: Based on manga by Tamiki Wakaki.

FlareKnight: I just don’t like the premise here. The kind of harem series I’d rather just avoid. Guy is manipulating the girls (for their own good of course) to fall for him when he isn’t interested in any of them. Just no.

blindability: Why glorify a useless guy whose greatest accomplishment is having video game girlfriends? Plus he’s given a cute supernatural girl to work with, and what’s their task? To steal the hearts of real women… This show is made just to make those guys whose only chance of romance is with a computer program feel better; you know, the guys who are waiting for Chobits to come into actualization. I agree with FlareKnight: NO.

SPIRAL: So it’s like Pokemon except the Pokemon are girls and Ash is a lame otaku who wastes his life on the computer.  And they are glorifying this?  Chobits actually seems welcoming now.

Poro:  Read the manga.  The comedy is decent enough for me to forget the fact that this is a harem show disguised to be a parody of it.  *comercial break* SPIRAL U DUNT LIEK CHOBEETS?!?! …. well I only like it because the opening is so cute.  *end commercial break*  Basically it gets kinda repetive.  You should watch it and test how many haremette arcs you can watch before you feel like you want to shoot yourself.  My record: chapter 100

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes

Synopsis: In an imaginary world where “The Age of Detectives” is in full swing, phantom thieves overwhelm the cities and private detectives race to catch them. The story follows four girls aspiring to become detectives.

Studio: J.C. Staff | Air Date: October 7 | Episodes: 12

FlareKnight: Oh man I can’t help laughing when thinking about this series. Also who would be a criminal in an “Age of Detectives?” I mean really it’d be a horrible idea with so many people gunning for you. Just not that interested in moe girls solving crimes. I’ll just ignore this one unless it turns out to be really good.

blindability: Surely the author of Sherlock Holmes is crying in his grave. Unless he had a thing for moe girls.

SPIRAL: I think that author is Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, blindability… but yes, I shall join him in his grave and cry with him.  Plus, it’s JC Staff…. ‘nough said.

Poro: GUYS!!!! YOU FORGOT THE CRACK-HEAD!!!! Edgar Allen Poe. You know! The guy who actually began the first detective stories.  Probably foresaw the future and went on an drinking binge because of it.

Togainu no Chi

Synopsis: Several years after the end of a war, the city of Toshima has fallen into decay and been taken over by the crime syndicate Viscio. There, the head of the syndicate, Il Rey, has convened the battle game “Igura.” Meanwhile, Akira, falsely accused of a crime, has made a deal to earn his pardon: go to Toshima, defeat Il Rey, and destroy the syndicate.

Studio: A-1 Pictures Inc. | Air Date: October 7 | Episodes: 13

Additional Info: Based on the manga by Suguro Chayamachi.

FlareKnight: Certainly seems like it will have some solid action though not exactly a yaoi fan. If it is kept minimal might check it out otherwise….yeah might steer clear of this one.

blindability: If I watch it, it’ll be for the action. I’d rather watch good looking guys fight than women with huge breasts fight (though I’m not a fan of yaoi either).

SPIRAL: Ooh, fighting.  Reminds me of Tenjou Tenge for some reason but should be fun.  I’ll give it a shot.

Poro: I don’t have a clue to what to think.  I honestly don’t have an opinion.  I couldn’t care less but couldn’t care more either.  Success Rate: ???.???

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru

Synopsis: Seaside Maid Cafe in the Maruko Shopping District, at first glance, seems normal. But its three employees are rather odd: Hotori aspires to be a detective, Toshiko is a perfectionist, and Uki is an old woman with a fondness for maid outfits.

Studio: SHAFT | Air Date: October 7 | Episodes: 12

Additional Info: Based on the manga by Masakazu Ishiguro.

FlareKnight: We’ve finally reached maid comedy. This really will be hit or miss for people. Might check it out, but probably won’t watch past the first episode.

blindability: This makes me think of Working and that didn’t go over too well with me. I might watch the first few just to see how much like Working it is, and whether or not it’s interesting enough to keep me watching.

SPIRAL: Strangely, I thought of Working too.  Never heard of the manga writer… but then again, it features maids.  Conclusion?  One episode, bash on it, and leave it.

Poro: Get back to you later when I have seen it.

Fortune Arterial: Akai Yakusoku

Synopsis: After a childhood full of school transfers, Hasekura Kouhei’s parents finally send him to a traditionally-Christian boarding school so he won’t have to move with them. Finally free to have the calm and uninterrupted school life he’s always wanted, he instead find himself busy with a swarm of idiosyncratic friends.

Studio: feel. & ZEXCS | Air Date: October 8 | Episodes: 12

FlareKnight: Why is it always the vampires? Story sounds pretty familiar though that doesn’t mean it’s going to be bad. Probably will just be an average series at best. I’ll probably still check it out since I’ve got to watch some series this season.

blindability: …This is about vampires? I didn’t know that. But since I’m not interested in this show in any way, shape, or form, it doesn’t really matter what it’s about.

SPIRAL: Vampires?  Vampires?  Then no.  Ironically it’s in a Christian school.

Poro: I hated Rosario+Vampire.  Guess what I think about this one?

Kuragehime

Synopsis: The story follows a girl who travels to Tokyo to become an illustrator. She moves into Amamizukan, an apartment complex full of fujosi who absolutely forbid men. One day, Tsukimi invites a stylish and fashionable woman  to stay at her room – only to discover that the guest is not quite who “she” seems to be.

Studio: Brains Base | Air Date: October 14 | Episodes: 11

Additional Info: Based on the manga by Akiko Higashimura. Oh: And something about being in the “noitaminA” time slot.

FlareKnight: Ok this could be weird. It could be good, but I’m thinking it will just be weird. Do my best to avoid traps when it’s possible. Probably not following this one.

blindability: To be honest, I still haven’t gotten around to finishing Tatami Galaxy… But I’ll probably watch this one anyhow and see how it goes. It looks good and the plot sounds interesting, so I don’t see why I wouldn’t give it a try. It’s just a question of whether or not it’s something I keep up with after the first few episodes.

SPIRAL: What?  I got lost in the summary.

Poro: JELLYFISH!!!! FOR THE WIN!! YEAH!! + o.o cross dress!?!? = biggest turn off ever.  Still. It is worth a try if you liked Arakawa Under the Bridge and are into those zany animes.

Sequels

Sora no Otoshimono: Forte

Synopsis: The story follows Tomoki Sakurai, a pacifist middle school boy. A strange girl appears in his dream to ask for his help, but he cannot remember her face when he wakes up. His life is once more complicated when an unidentified, mysterious animal falls from the sky, which turns out to be an angel called Ikaros.

Studio: AIC A.S.T.A. | Air Date: October 1 | Episodes: 12

Additional Info: Sequel to Heaven’s Lost Property.

FlareKnight: Didn’t watch the first season so won’t be following this one. Moving on.

blindability: If I wanted to watch boobies and shiny over-exposed skin I’d at least watch the Samurai Girls one with the potential for good fighting. I ignored the first season of this and by golly I’m going to ignore this one too.

SPIRAL: AHHHHHHH I want to blog this only because it was one of my first series that I blogged coming to this site.  AHHHHHH we’ll see how things turn out.

Poro: FLYING PANTIES!!! (I love spamming my caps lock button on my keyboard)

Tegami Bachi Reverse

Synopsis: A continuation from the first season, Lag Seeing is a young boy who was born on The Day of Flicker, when the man-made sun inexplicably vanished. His ambition is to be a Letter Bee, couriers that deliver mail throughout Amber Ground, and follow in the footsteps of the disappeared Gauche Suede, a precious friend from his early childhood.

Studio: Studio Pierrot | Air Date: October 2 | Episodes: 13

Additional Info: This is the sequel to the first season of Tegami Bachi. Both are adapted from the manga Tegami Bachi (literally: Letter Bee) by Hiroyuki Asada.

FlareKnight: Finally the return of Tegami Bachi. Took me a while to finish the first season but the ending left me waiting for this. I’m curious to see how the second season turns out in terms of the story. I’ll be watching and hopefully I won’t take a long break before finishing this time.

blindability: I never completed the first season – actually, I barely started it, but only because I’ve been following the manga and couldn’t fit the anime into my watch schedule. To be honest, I don’t know if I’ll have time for it this season either.

SPIRAL: LETTER BEE!  I love you, have my kids.   😄 I’ve actually never got around to finishing the first season… so that first, and then this.

Poro: I dropped it for good reason.

Hakuōki Hekketsu-roku

Synopsis: A continuation from the first season, Yukimura Chizuru has come to Kyoto looking for her father, a doctor who has gone missing. While there, she witnesses a fight between an Oni and the Shinsengumi. Taking her into custody, the Shinsengumi debates on what to do with Chizuru when they discover that she is the daughter of the doctor they are also looking for. The Shinsengumi then takes Chizuru along on their search after the missing doctor, from adventures to adventures.

Studio: Studio DEEN | Air Date: October 2 | Episodes: 12

Additional Info: This is the sequel to the first season Hakuōki Shinsengumi Kitan which is adapted from Idea Factory’s romance adventure game for PlayStation 2 and Nintendo DS.

FlareKnight: Didn’t even know there was an original Hakuouki. No idea what’s going on with this series so can’t say that much. Won’t be watching unless I ever decide to check out the first season.

blindability: The first season was pretty dull to watch. But for what it’s worth, all the guys are great looking. Watch the second season: No. Flip through all the animation art posted online: Yes.

SPIRAL: I remember watching this.  And I remember my anger at it as well.

Poro:  I remember never watching it but thinking I should.  Now that there is a sequel, I will probably never get around it.

Arakawa Under the Bridge x Bridge

Synopsis: In the dry riverbed of Arakawa River, undefeated elite Ichinomiya Kou (aka Rick) met the lovely homeless girl Nino, a self-declared Venusian. Their awkward love stirs up trouble among the other strange inhabitants of the riverbed.

Studio: SHAFT | Air Date: October 3 | Episodes: 13

FlareKnight: Another one where I didn’t watch the first season. Honestly the comedy just didn’t reach me so I dropped the first season pretty fast. Won’t be following this one.

blindability: Like many others, I don’t think Arakawa needed a second season, kind of like how I didn’t think K-On! needed a second season. But a second season we got and so I’ll watch it and hope for the best. K-On‘s second season was used to tie up the story line but I wonder what the crew of Arakawa will come up with. I hope they don’t squander away the success of their first season though, because that was fantastic.

SPIRAL: I enjoyed the first season and am looking forward to a good second season.  (Passes the blogging baton).

Poro:  This anime is about messed-up mofos living under a bridge and just doing awesome shit. Or so my friends say.  I have a tolerance for looney anime characters.  Sorry.

Yumeiro Pâtissière Professional

Synopsis: Presumably a continuation of the first season which follows Ichigo Amano, an average, sweets-loving, 14 year old girl who dreams of becoming a pâtissiere like her grandma. One day, she is scouted by a genius pâtissier to enrol in St. Marie Academy – an elite patisserie school. Here she meets new friends and the Sweets Spirits, which partner with humans to help make their dreams come true.

Studio: Pierrot | Air Date: October 3

blindability: I put this here for my own benefit. I watched the first season, complained about it every week, but love the show through and through. And despite the many predictable, cliche, and irritating aspects of the series and its characters, I can’t help but want to watch the plot progression and character development. Not to mention all the sweets they make.

*

Motto To Love-Ru -Trouble-

Synopsis: A continuation of the series. Yuuki Rito is bathing when a mysterious, nude girl called Lala appears out of nowhere in his bath tub. It’s revealed that she’s the heir to the throne of the planet Deviluke, but her father demands she return and marry. She decides to instead marry Rito so she can remain on Earth, leading him to fight off the other alien suitors.

Studio: Xebec | Air Date: October 5 | Episodes: 12

FlareKnight: Pretty sure I got about 10 episodes into the first season and just forgot about it. Have some issues with this kind of harem set-up. Might check out a few episodes, but probably won’t stick with it.

blindability: Heard of it. Not interested in watching it though.

SPIRAL: Oooh I heard that they were concluding the actual manga plot into this… ahhhhh maybe.  Either this or Sora no Otoshimono.

Poro: *blankly stares and scrolls down*

Toaru Majutsu no Index II

Synopsis: A continuation of the first season, set in a world of Science and Magic. In a huge college that has power development in its curriculum, Touma lives with “Index”, a living library, and gets caught up in various incidents revolving around the divine, supernatural abilities, and the occult.

Studio: J.C. Staff | Air Date: October 8 | Episodes: 13

Additional Info: (Apparently) The sequel to Toaru Majutsu no Index.

FlareKnight: Blogged the first season so I have been waiting for this. Know plenty have issues with Touma, but I never disliked him that much. Hopefully this second season will spend less time explaining everything and will just get into the action a little more. I’ll be watching this one.

blindability: …I won’t be watching this one.

SPIRAL: Watched the first season.  Enjoyed it.  Don’t have the time to blog it though.

Poro: YAY! >:3 I have this anime to myself! MWAHAHAhAhahaha…. ahah. ha…

You get my point.

Hetalia Axis Powers Season Four

Synopsis: By now you either know it or you don’t.

FlareKnight: I actually kind of gave up on the series from the start when I realized Canada wasn’t represented. What really amazes me is that they’ve managed to keep this idea going for this long. Not watching, but that kind of durability has to say something.

blindability: Now that Scamp’s stopped blogging it, is it even worth watching still?

SPIRAL: SCAMP!  SCAMP!! HEIL SCAMP!!!!!

Poro: I hated this anime for various reasons.  Still do.  Nothing personal.  just…

-HAVE A GOD DAM PLOT!!!!

-GTFO CHIBITALIA!!!

-WUT ONLY 15 MINUTES per EPISODE!?!?

ahem.  I hoped you enjoyed our 2010 fall season preview.

GET CHANCE AND LUCK!!! peace.

**End of Poro’s rant**

As always, Thanks for reading through these incredibly long Season Previews. I have the utmost respect and appreciation for Scamp and Spiral who did these before. In fact, I applaud anyone who compiles Season Previews. While this was only my first, it’s most likely also my last.

(And you thought RP’s was the last Fall Preview you were going to read. Ha.)

18 Responses to “Fall Season Preview 2010”


  1. 28 September 2010 at 12:49 am

    Just in time guys. I was in total disbelief over what I was going to watch this season. Cutting it close hey… I’ll just watch Legend of the Galatic Heroes though /sadsadseason 😦

  2. 28 September 2010 at 4:05 am

    CHOBITS WAS AMAZING YOU GUYS ALL SUCK FOR NOT LIKING IT RAAAWWRRR!!!

    *eer-hum*

    Ah Hetalia~! Despite long having overrun its course, it will always hold a space in my heart. I wonder if they ever do make an Irish character?

      • 4 luffyluffy
        29 September 2010 at 12:30 am

        I find it funny that the new guy forgot Canada.

        And you know Scamp, once you dropped Hetalia, it got radically better, even having DETAILED BACKROUNDS AND ACTUALLY FUNNY JOKES.

        Oh, and Prussia.

    • 4 October 2010 at 2:56 am

      Chobits is really amazing. And one of the most romantic manga ever.
      Let me be with youuu~

      Also UK represents both England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, but in the “english family” he’s England, and Scot, Ireland and Wales are his older brothers (who hate him. Thats why he was so attached to America, because he was the lovely brother he never really had.) It should be in this strip.
      http://aph.starry-sky.com/sntr.html

  3. 6 luffyluffy
    29 September 2010 at 4:23 am

    Oh and Poro, it does have a plot, although a loose one.

    Chibitalia’s been done for several seasons now.

    It’s FIVE minutes per episode.

    I know that was a rant, but doing your research certainly helps you make better when you rant ❤

    • 7 M.R. Hill
      29 September 2010 at 4:41 am

      Don’t be too hard on them. They got the show’s name right at least inside of that.

      On plot thing, truly, it’s not a “plot” show really nor does everything NEED a plot. It’s an episodic comedy. If one is going to attack it on those points, might as well fall that distinction for EVERYTHING that doesn’t have a plot. Damn you, Robot Chicken, get a plot!

    • 29 September 2010 at 12:29 pm

      Actually I find ranting is a whole lot easier when you don’t know what you are talking about. Let’s the thoughts flow rather than getting caught up in things like facts :P. A rant is about the heart.

      Kind of amazing that almost all the comments are about Hetalia. Feel bad for the other series in this season.

      • 9 blindability
        30 September 2010 at 12:05 am

        Whether people love it or hate it, Hetalia brings the world together. For such an unassuming show in its drawn-out-fourth-season, it does steal the limelight, doesn’t it?

  4. 10 RP
    2 October 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Fortune Arterial’s about vampires? Whoa, either I missed that or completely forgot about it… which I guess is no big deal since I have no interest in watching it. :-p

    Nice job on the preview!

  5. 11 Poro
    5 October 2010 at 3:01 am

    LOL I fail at grammar! xD “Unfort, I have a tolerance for looney characters” yeah still a scrubby writer… fail. I go slit my wrists nao

  6. 12 william kendrick
    26 November 2010 at 10:49 am

    spiral that jab at chobits shows how much of a idiot you are. its ranked 24th of all time on anime news network.. i wonder how it got up there.. must be some sort of mistake.
    make no mistake. chobits was ACTUALLY a good anime. fancy that. i guess that makes you an idiot doesn’t it?

    find a better pastime. you’re no damn reviewer, you’re just some idiot watching anime. i could do your job 100 times better than you ever will, due to your… rather bland, and unexciting tastes. grow up, and someone please ‘fire’ this guy. his opinion is worthless.

  7. 13 UntherLiebe
    7 May 2011 at 1:01 pm

    @FlareKnight: oooh poor baby, Canada isn’t in. Although there are hundreds of countries in the world, tens of countries that fought in the war and only a dozen or so of Hetalia characters the fact that Canada isn’t in makes poor baby cry and take his toys and leave.
    And I thought only Americans considered themselves center of the universe lmao.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


