23
Nov
10

Learning with Star Driver

Now I know Star Driver operates on a certain degree of ridiculousness (ie the things they wear) but… Is this really how males bond?

Now I’m not a guy (though I suppose there’s no real way for anyone to verify that, so you’re just going to have to trust me) so I don’t understand the whole fighting-each-other-in-order-to-grow-closer business.

Are there rules to the fight? Like does a woman need to be involved? A woman that both men are equally affectionate towards and feel the need to protect? Is it like: “I’m going to protect her and you’re going to protect her, so in order to assess whether or not we’re both fit to protect her, we should fight each other.”

I guess, in the end, it’s just anime. And what does anime ever really teach us….?

5 Responses to “Learning with Star Driver”


  1. 1 anon-101
    23 November 2010 at 1:14 pm

    It’s hard to explain.
    Frankly, I myself wouldn’t believe it until it happen to me.

    It happen during middle school. There is this one boy the I dislike and it seem the feeling is mutual. Something happen and we fight.

    After that we end up as friend.
    It is not something that I can explain.

  2. 23 November 2010 at 3:40 pm

    From goku and vegeta in dragonball to kenshin and his fellow gang to uhm, i don’t know, real life? I guess that’s the case for some people but not all. There is probably a psychological case study on how fights lead to friendships but I’m no expert

  3. 23 November 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Well, sometimes a punch up can cause the tension to evaporate between two guys if they’ve been squabbling before. But it can also just be the breaking point for their relationship to finally sour. Depends on the context I guess

    Though by far the most important part is to spend 10 minutes breathing deeply at each other. VERY IMPORTANT

  4. 4 IronSingh
    6 December 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Well, from my experience. It seems to work because one or both believe they are better than the other.

    So when a fight takes place for a senseless reason, two things happen.

    1) They find out that the other guy is not a wuss.

    2) New respect is formed between them.

    This may lead to friendship/reverence or feud depending on how the fight went.

    Does that make sense to you?

    • 10 December 2010 at 6:54 am

      Yes… and no, haha.
      I guess what I don’t understand is the method – which is the fighting – but maybe I just have to challenge my best friend to one to experience it for myself, haha.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


