27
Nov
10

arakawa bridge x bridge 08

I’ve always wondered what makes a guy – who’s already got a great girl – leave her for someone else. And while I know it isn’t entirely Recruit’s fault, as he was hypnotized by Amazoness’s pack of Tengu, I still couldn’t help but get upset with him acting the way he did.

According to the rumours I’ve heard, Amazoness isn’t from the manga, so I could only assume that this episode was a “filler”. To which I’m not surprised since there’s probably still another episode or two to go before we’ll get any more plot progression. But with her (Amazoness) return, I now understand why people didn’t like her the first time she showed up: she’s annoying. Sure I thought she and her group were amusing back in Episode One, and yes I was open to the idea of her and her Tengu showing up again in the series, but between Episode One and Episode Seven, I realized how unnecessary she was and how good things were with our usual band of characters Under the Bridge (Captain cameos included since he drew that interesting picture of Ninohei underwater). It was more fun to see more of Last Sumrai, Billy, and Jacqueline than to hear Amazoness drone on and on about how lonely she was. Oh please: From a woman’s perspective, we’ve all heard that sob story before. And it only works on saps (unless you’re super hot; then chances are, it’ll work on any guy).

Saps like Recruit. Who, in his defence, turned her down at first, but later succumbed to the Tengu Hypnosis. Recruit! If you were a real man, hypnosis would have no affect on your true love for Nino! Have you learned nothing from Billy? Thankfully Nino didn’t take Recruit’s idiocy lightly and did what most women really want to do when their men run off to drink milk on a couch with another woman:

Nino: You are my hero.

The only plus to having Amazoness show up was that she pushed Nino to show how strongly she feels for Recruit. It was a treat to see how cute Nino was when she was waiting to go on her date with Recruit, and did anyone notice that she was still smiling when Recruit showed up six-hours late? That’s love. I suppose Recruit also had the opportunity to reflect on his relationship with Nino (after he’d been knocked unconscious) and it was kind of sad to see him relate more to Amazoness and her supposed loneliness (I’m still not buying her “delicate flower” shill). After all this time and despite everything he’s gone through with Nino, I guess part of him still feels like he’s not fully integrated into the community yet, and that isolates him from Nino. Or maybe I’m over-analyzing this.

In the end Nino wins her battle against Amazoness with her pure heart, and Recruit regains his will and breaks free from the Tengus’ Hypnosis – with or without help from Hoshi, I’m not sure (at least Hoshi wasn’t about to help the Tengu though; part of me was sure that he was going to. Good for you, Hoshi). Nino suggests that they get married – which in her mind is to sit on a couch and drink milk together (a reference I don’t get, probably because I’m not Japanese?) – and while this isn’t what Recruit had in mind with “married”, he’s happy to join her.

And happy are we who get to add another image of beautiful Nino to our collection.

5 Responses to “arakawa bridge x bridge 08”


  1. 27 November 2010 at 7:12 pm

    run off to drink milk on a couch with another woman

    I’m going to have to remember that euphamism. He’s gone off to drink milk on her couch, if you know what I mean

    • 2 blindability
      28 November 2010 at 12:25 am

      Drink milk with you on a couch? Why I thought you’d never ask.

      I suppose it doesn’t translate 100% because Nino’s also a foreigner.

      • 3 luffyluffy
        28 November 2010 at 10:31 am

        I think of the “Son, your father is really the milkman” trope.

        • 29 November 2010 at 1:39 am

          OMG Nino’s father’s a Milkman?! Hold up, that makes PERFECT sense; all that calcium she must have gotten growing up! They should totally use her for a ‘Got Milk?’ advert, or whatever the Americans call them, the sale of milk would increase SO much. Then again, the sale of anything would increase if she became their poster girl. Mmm, milk…

  2. 5 Lucy+Loki
    4 December 2010 at 10:45 am

    Just stumbled onto your blog, and I like it already!!! 😀 Keep on posting.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


