22
Dec
10

arakawa bridge x bridge eleven

Arakawa Under the Bridge x Bridge Episode Eleven: Nothing to write about.

But still plenty to say.

You’d think with an episode where Recruit and Nino share a cute, couple dance, there’d be some excitement. You’d think seeing Nino dressed up in a kimono (and then dressed down in a two-piece bikini) would cause a stir. You would think Amazoness falling in love with Hoshi, and then Hoshi acknowledging her feelings for him to the point of promising to return for her and accepting her chainmail shirt made of Mr Softie-winning-sticks would be something to talk about… But it’s not.

I wanted to be excited about this week’s episode. Or should I say last week’s episode. But nothing has happened in the last month that’s made me the least bit excited about Arakawa Bridge x Bridge. There’s been no plot progression, no character development, and nothing funny enough to make any episode stand out. Arakawa: What happened!?

The “nonsensical” episodes were best served between two episodes of sense and plot. Nino’s past was the best hook to really get people invested in this so-called second season but now that there are only two episodes left, I can’t imagine how they’re going to conclude the story of who Nino is, who her parents are, where she’s off to (that is, where exactly is Venus), whether or not the Under the Bridge Community is really going with her, who the Mayor really is, and if P-Ko ever confesses her feelings to him.

I love Arakawa – I really do – but if they stretch this out to a third season, I might bail. There is a possibility of a third season succeeding, and I point to Pirates of the Caribbean as an example. The first movie (The Curse of the Black Pearl) was entertaining and did well in the box offices. With the conclusive plot line and cast of characters, it could have been a successful stand-alone movie, but what Disney did was put out a second movie – a sequel: Dead Man’s Chest – that was deliberately inconclusive so that people would have to watch the third movie (At World’s End) to fulfil the sequel to the first movie. Brilliant move on Disney’s part, and while I’m not sure that’s what Arakawa’s after, I’m also not sure it would work with them.

Anyway, all I want for Christmas is for Arakawa to wrap up nicely.

5 Responses to “arakawa bridge x bridge eleven”


  1. 1 Son Gohan
    22 December 2010 at 7:11 pm

    The problem is that the Arakawa manga is still ongoing. The anime staff won’t take the risk of creating an original ending that may conflict with the future manga ending.

    • 2 blindability
      24 December 2010 at 3:22 am

      But unless the writers of the anime plan on dragging this out until the manga wraps up, they’re going to have to “conclude” the anime somehow. I mean, even though Season One didn’t answer all the questions, had they stopped there, it would have been okay, in my opinion.

      Meh. We’ll see I guess!

  2. 24 December 2010 at 12:03 am

    I actually quite liked this epi. Though, with hindsight, there was probably more ‘relief’ mixed in with the ‘like’. Still, loved the cuteness, and the LOL moments were pretty solid for me in this one. I might have to bail on any possible third series too though, but I guess it all depends on how the final arc of this one is played out, eh…

    • 4 blindability
      24 December 2010 at 3:24 am

      I’d realized after reading your review that I was probably a bit hard on this episode but only because I’ve been so looking forward to more story – especially regarding Nino’s past. There were moments of Episode Eleven that were good though like Nino “washing” Amzoness’ face, but until I see more plot, I don’t think I can be fully satisfied.

      • 5 RP
        25 December 2010 at 3:30 am

        I have to admit that I’ve almost completely forgotten about the Venus subplot… and I’m becoming less and less interested in Nino’s past. I always got this vibe that it was something we were never going to learn about, because they never really had a plan for it, or if they did, the reveal was going to be a let down.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


