29
Mar
11

My Sai Mecha Nominations

For those not in the know, EO from THAT Anime Blog has started up the Sai Mecha Super Dimensional Robot tournament to inject some testosterone into the aniblogisphere which is currently ccaught up in SaiMoe’s moeblobbery.

Basically its a giant tournament in which some of the greatest Mecha to ever grace our screens & imaginations square off against each other in one-on-one combat. What more could you ask for? The competition is in its nomination phase, so behold my nominations.

I feel that most have covered the all the big players in the mecha genre already so I’m going to nominate those which I feel are rather unrated and deserve some recognition.

Gurren MK-II (Code Geass)

While most have gone for the Lancelot from Code Geass, I feel that it looked too much like a ballerina. So I have gone for the backbone of the Black knights, the Guren MK-II, the powerhouse of the rebellion. Zero would have been nothing if it wasnt for the might of the MK-II.

Not biased towards the pilot.

Gundam GN-002 Dynames (Gundam 00)

There were few things more beautiful in Gundam 00 than Dynames sniping his targets from a far. Unlike Setsuna in the Exia who opted for brute force taking the enemy head on, the Dynames preferred to use skill and precision to complete his missions. Which if I was a Gundam meister would have been how I would taken care of the job.

VAF-6 Alpha Fighter (Robotech)

Growing up in the bowels of deep dark Africa, Robotech was my first peek into world of anime let alone the awesome world of mecha. And like other great trilogies (Star Wars, Indiana Jones) I watched it backwards, so I saw the Alpha fighter way before I saw the Rick and Roy in their original Veritechs. I’ll admit it was the fact that it could change into a robot from an airplane that won me over, blew my mind each and everytime!

Alteisen (Super Robot Wars OG: The Inspector)

I only found out about the Super Robot Wars world last year. An entire world foll of mecha and I had never heard of it, amazing. There are so many mechs in this series I could have chosen any of them but I decided to go with hard-hitting ALT, yeah no drilling here, ALT keeps things simple – take spike and put it through whatever is in front of you. What a man!

Fuego (Rideback)

Now this a ballerina I can support because she is an actual ballerina and my is Fuego graceful. So simple too, his is just a motorbike with arms, thats all. So simple in fact that an engineering buddy of mine claimed that it wouldn’t be too difficult to build one of those. I’m still bluddy waiting!

Gurren Lagann (Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann)

I’m sorry I would have just felt guilty if I never included him, he is the epitone of manly super robotness after all. In fact the tournament should be held to decide who the 2nd best Mecha is, because lets be honest there is none that is going to top good old Gurren Lagann.

14 Responses to “My Sai Mecha Nominations”


  1. 1 blindability
    29 March 2011 at 4:15 am

    I am so not surprised you’re promoting this, haha.

    I see there’s no Ginga Bishounen love here either.

  2. 29 March 2011 at 4:51 am

    Was considering voting for Dynames myself because the pilot is Irish. Both of them

  3. 5 karry
    29 March 2011 at 4:52 am

    “lets be honest there is none that is going to top good old Gurren Lagann.”

    In your (frankly, misinformed) opinion. Lets be honest, GL is Gainax-y typical crap-on-a-stick. It is easily topped by, off the top of my head, all modern Getters including Getter Emperor, Mazinkaiser, Thrudgelmir, Godannar, Gaogaigar, Half of G Gundam, Ideon, and even that guy from Giant Robo who turns robots to scrap barehanded.

  4. 29 March 2011 at 9:59 am

    Nominations received and recorded! Though I’m still trying to find the real name of that VAF-4 mecha since the Robotech series used two or three different anime series that it mashed up and changed the dialog and whatnot for. It seems like Macross but I can’t seem to find it in the Macross entries on MAHQ. But it will be recorded under its real name. Thanks for your list and for making a post out of it!

    • 7 jGLZa
      29 March 2011 at 6:46 pm

      The New Gen series was based (copy-pasted) from Genesis Climber MOSPEADA. The real name of the Alpha fighter in MOSPEADA is the Armo-Fighter AFC-01 Legioss.

  5. 29 March 2011 at 11:18 pm

    You almost made me want to watch some mecha anime… I said “almost”.. 😀

    • 9 jGLZa
      30 March 2011 at 1:54 am

      Which one “almost” did it for you?

      • 30 March 2011 at 4:41 am

        Well, Gundam and Robotech are a “must-know-about”, even though they’ve never attracted my attention as much as to spend my precious time watching overgrown cars beating the crap out of each other… Although watching the pics you posted here I’m reconsidering.. maybe if they had good deep plots I would think differently… Perhaps Code Geass would be the closest I’ve been to watching one of the above..

        • 7 April 2011 at 6:20 pm

          RAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

          But seriously, a lot of Gundam series have very compelling, deep, and human-oriented plots, overgrown “cars” beating the crap out of each other nonwithstanding. 0080: War in the Pocket is a stand-out example of this, but most of the Universal Century OVAs exhibit pretty strong war stories, as does Macross: Frontier (albeit of a lighter sort).

          Code Geass is a fun show that shows a lot of potential early on, but it utterly collapses after the first season.

  6. 30 March 2011 at 2:51 am

    Wooooooooo nice list here! I picked Dynames as well from 00, always my favorite from that.

  7. 31 March 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Nice collection. I like gundam dynames and fuego. Thanks for shares.


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


