03
May
11

Hanasaku Iroha Episode Five

As I write this post, I’m listening to Bakacast because Scamp told me to. I’m not even really listening to what they’re saying; I kind of just tune in when I hear the Irish come in.

Hanasaku isn’t bad as Canaan was (yet), but it isn’t as good as its first two episodes were. I’m sort of… losing interest in the story of the show as a whole and find the story of each individual episode a bit tedious, even if it does bring our three main girls closer. I think part of me is bitter because I’d gone ahead and started guessing what was going on with Tohru only to be completely let down by a twist that wasn’t really a twist, and that I really should have seen coming. And, in the end, Tohru isn’t dating Yuina, he’s not working at Fukuya, Minchi doesn’t confess her feelings to him, and Ohana doesn’t get along with him any better. So basically… after twenty-five or so minutes, nothing’s changed. Other than Ohana is allowed to call Minko “Minchi”.

But… Mint and Renn’s dreams may come true!

Is Ko planning a trip to where Ohana is!? How cute. I’m actually a bit surprised that Ko hasn’t given up on Ohana; I’d written off their relationship early because I didn’t think it was plausible, but silly me, this isn’t real life: it’s anime! And more importantly, it’s an anime centred on a group of 16-17 year old girls, so of course Ko is going to see Ohana. Probably just in time for the Bonbori Festival, where hands will be held and wishes will be made.

I know this review is rather short but… what else is there to say about this episode? It was basically watching a rumour develop from an assumption, then run amuck among a small group of people, only to be dispelled by a very dull truth. I think my favourite part (aside from Ohana thinking about Ko again, and seeing that Ko’s still thinking about Ohana too) is watching the Giant Heron scare Ohana back up the stairs.

Oh, and I appreciated how Ohana was shown to be tired after running all the way to Fukuya. There are so many times when people get all worked up about something and just “take off” for whatever distance and show up just as energetic as when they started. That’s not realistic. Unless you’re running next door. I had also hoped Ohana simply running off in the middle of the night to scold Fukuya would teach her some sensibility though, because you can’t just run over to another establishment – or person, for that matter – and accuse them of something that you had no concrete proof of. I’m surprised her grandmother didn’t slap her because of that.

It seems Hanasaku’s flair for drama is starting to get misplaced and misdirected; it’s all so menial. What happened to the trauma/drama of Ohana’s upbringing? The shock of being uprooted from your home and shipped off to live with family who didn’t show very much love for you? What about being told to die by people you were hoping to become friends with? Can Hanasaku really last 26 episodes at this rate? Well… it’ll last, I’m sure, but will we?

4 Responses to “Hanasaku Iroha Episode Five”


  1. 3 May 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Yeah, the excitement of those first two episodes is fading. I hope they can get the mojo back. Maybe Grandmaa slapping Ohana would have been the ticket. It’s not like there weren’t cute aspects of the episode, but it feels to me that this show has been coasting for three episodes. Three out of five is bad.

  2. 4 May 2011 at 6:37 am

    My problem is nothing is really happening. It’s all been exposition, with shoddy stories meant to rush them along. While it isn’t bad by any means, I hope it moves past this soon, before everyone becomes exasperated with it.

  3. 4 May 2011 at 7:03 am

    Although I certainly won’t complain about the Ko/Ohana (stay away from her, Tohru >:o), I feel like the writing’s getting a little stale. I agree not much happened this episode. I also think what I loved about the show was that it had an elegant atmosphere (or it was elitist or pretentious or something :P), and then it squandered that in episode 3. Oh, well. I definitely still like it, but I’m no longer rushing to download it as soon as it comes out.

  4. 6 May 2011 at 12:14 am

    I wish something would actually happen. The show has been losing its steam lately.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra