12
May
11

hanasaku iroha episode six

Is anyone even still watching Hanasaku? Tell me I’m not alone in tolerating this show – although, I would be sad if there was more than just me still tolerating this show. What happened!? How did this happen? I know there’s still plenty of time for Hanasaku to make up for its lack of good content – twenty episodes, to be exact – but the bigger question is whether or not anyone’s going to still be watching if and when this show tries to pick up.

I wasn’t one of the people who complained when there was fanservice in Episode Three; I didn’t commend it either though. I simply ignored it. But this time around, I couldn’t ignore it because it was so ridiculous and unnecessary. (I’m only going to ignore Tohru’s puppy-love-struck look. I hope he was envisioning Tomoe in that dress and not one of the other under aged girls.) Why stop at a Chinese dress if you’re going to show off Nako’s busty figure? You should have gone with the skimpy swimsuit; and if she protested, the writer and Ohana could have tied her up and changed her into it. Oh: You mean because Kissuiso isn’t one of “those” hot springs. Ironically, for me, the best part of this episode was the uniform change – but the ones that Ohana’s grand-mummy had made and worn back in the day. But… what was the point of only wearing them for one day?

Actually: What was the point of this entire episode!?

It was interesting to see so little of Minko this episode too. She’s still as cold and curt as ever, but what can we expect from a teenage girl who’s popular with the boys but pines for the only man she can’t have who just so happens to want someone else? Actually, if nothing else, Hanasaku does manage to show how emotional and easily influenced girls can be at this tender age. You should be friends with this girl, but instead, you hate her guts because the jerk guy you have a crush on is friendly with her (even though he’s always teasing her in these interactions).

…I should’ve picked Ano Hana to review this season instead. Now those teens are interesting to watch.

16 Responses to “hanasaku iroha episode six”


  1. 12 May 2011 at 11:56 am

    Well, blindability, this show hasn’t been an entire train wreck …(yet), but it certainly doesn’t have that same kind of zest as it did when we all witnessed the first episode. Seems to be the trend with the Spring 2011 shows. Powerful first episodes, and the quality decreases as we go along. I can’t say that for ALL the shows, but certainly in some such as Sengoku Otomoe, 30-sai no Hoken Taiiku, and Hanasaku Iroha.

    Not that Hanasaku is bad, but the lack of actual plot development is rather stressful. After all, Hanasaku is not a slice of life show (I think), thus it has no excuse to have one-shot short stories for an episode or 2.

    Still, I believe Hanasaku Iroha will be able to pick it up once everything gets settled in, and especially when Minko stops being the tsundora she is. She’s not a tsundere. There’s no dere side. Just free tsun-tsun service. It’s not even complementary too, it’s mandatory.

    God Bless Hanasaku Iroha…

    • 2 blindability
      13 May 2011 at 10:31 am

      The lack of plot is quite stressful, but I feel like the lack of character development – or the lack of good character development – is worse. If they focused on revealing more of the characters in a tangible and episode-one-and-two-esque fashion, we could overlook the story not really moving. There are twenty-six episodes, after all: Get us to love the characters, and then blow our minds with an amazing story.

  2. 12 May 2011 at 1:38 pm

    I’m still watching the show though I watch the episodes now mid-week instead of on Sundays. It’s not an awful show, but it didn’t live up to its promising first two episodes.

    Minko is pretty insufferable. I can’t stand Tohru, but if Minko becomes heartbroken over him and Ohana, that works. Ideal situation is still Minko gets her heart broken by Tohru, Tohru gets his heart broken by Ohana, but I’m not really invested in these characters anymore, so I’m okay with anything. xD

    • 4 blindability
      13 May 2011 at 10:33 am

      Yeah. I find I’m struggling to be excited about this show. It’s not so much “oooh. Hanasaku is out” as it is “I guess I should watch Hanasaku since I have to review it”.

      I don’t like Tohru or Minko, so I think they should get together and be the couple that everyone hates.

  3. 12 May 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Actually: What was the point of this entire episode!?

    FANSERVICE!

  4. 13 May 2011 at 4:58 am

    I haven’t watched this manga personally, but I have noticed a slip in the caliber of a lot of the anime/manga these days they tend to really fit a common mold and have a lot off filler episodes. Truely dissapointing.

    • 10 blindability
      13 May 2011 at 10:34 am

      Watch the first two episodes and then STOP. We’ll let you know when you should start watching it again after that.

  5. 13 May 2011 at 8:04 am

    I’ve followed this regularly from the beginning. It isn’t as spectacular as it was, but it’s focusing on Ohana again, which was what made it interesting in the beginning.
    Maybe I’m just too optimistic, but I think it’ll get better from here.

    • 12 blindability
      13 May 2011 at 10:38 am

      I love how optimistic you are! And I hope you’re right, but I’m not going to hold my breath over it. Unfortunately, I feel like even Ohana is disappointing me. I mean, did she really think higher leg slits would be better for business? Does she know what kind of business it might be good for?

      But… if I borrow your optimistic cap, I can look at that in conjunction with her knowledge of “tying knots” and her unbashfulness in reading the writer’s perverted manuscript, and speculate that her mother must have exposed her to these things when she was young and therefore, Ohana simply has a mature outlook on these sort of matters. And good for her on that.

      …I think you’re better at the optimism than I am, haha.

      • 14 May 2011 at 9:41 am

        Optimism’s a difficult thing to have with a quality rollercoaster like this. Unlike other shows that I’ve dropped, this had legitimately good writing and a definite spark of something bigger in the beginning. I’m just hoping it gets back on track, since I do think it has a ton of potential to become fantastic.

        To be fair though, I’m not too fond of Ohana as a character either. While I can empathize with her parental issues, my patience with her very real character derailment and stubbornness is wearing a bit thin. I just noticed that HanaIro was better when it didn’t focus on trying to defrost Minko.

  6. 14 May 2011 at 2:31 am

    I ship Tohru x Ohana just for the joy of watching Minko suffer…because I’m mean like that xD Not that I even care that much anymore though. In the beginning I thought it would be one of the best shows of the season, but now it’s getting hard to find the motivation to continue. It’s a shame. :<

  7. 22 May 2011 at 12:48 am

    Is anyone even still watching Hanasaku? Tell me I’m not alone…

    Of course we are, B! We were probably just waiting to see what route it was going to take. Well, it’s clearly not the serious SoL show some of us thought it was going to be from the first couple of episodes, but I’m glad I carried on watching it after the incongruous no. 3, as I think it’s a pretty (in more than one sense) fun show. It just doesn’t take itself too seriously, nor leave you feeling horribly depressed afterwards. In short, probably not a future classic, but I’m quite enjoying it and look forward to seeing more character development from the others.

  8. 16 crunchycupcake
    20 June 2011 at 10:16 am

    i love hanasaku iroha, i see from her point of view and, although the characters don’t seem deep, im sure they will get better. and it does have plot line, its a plot about relations ships like that minchi likes tohru but the shows been hinting that tohru likes ohana, that ko-chan told ohana that he loves her and that in the last episode ohana shows that she loves him too.


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra