16
May
11

Revisiting old films: Final Fantasy VII Advent Children

The Turks make this awesome to watch.

So what do you do on a day when you are 1) down with fever + dry cough and 2) bored to death. Rewatch old films! Final Fantasy VII advent children, first released in 2005, then again in 2009 as bluray. The latter is the director’s cut which I just rewatched and well, the extra scenes don’t really make a big difference. This might sound heretic but I never finished playing FFVII, I installed it on my computer back in 1998 and it wasn’t powerful enough to run it. I installed it again in 2007 and it was too old to be run on windows xp. I tried playing it on PSP but then I lost my PSP! Now I have the chance to play it on Galaxy S but I’m selling it! Perhaps I might complete it on my new phone Samsung Galaxy SII but it seems I have digressed too much. Let’s see what made this movie rock and not rock from the point of view of a person who never ever completed Final Fantasy VII nor Crisis core on PSP. P.S. There has on and off rumours that there could be a remake of FFVII for PS3. If that happens, I’m so borrowing a PS3 from my uncle.

Rock


1. The turks, reno and rude are totally hilarious. (Picture above)

The comedic duo might not be the best fighters in the game, heck they keep getting their ass handed to them on a silver platter but hey, they went out with a blast in the end hehe.

2. Tifa looks totally hawt

Enough said.

3. Gravity defying moves that are totally outrageous and fun to watch

This guy leap off from a building, shot at hidden bombs causing a huge explosion, continue shooting at his opponent while on the way FALLING DOWN and managed to survive the blast, his opponent and the fall. Now how awesome is that?

4. Bad ass Sephiroth who returns from the dead.

Spoiler Spoiler! Too late =( Well, it’s pretty obvious right from the start so no surprises here.

Copyright given where it’s due. This is my favourite bad ass scene in the movie. Who needs a gun sword when you have a long sword to pierce your enemy like some…marshmallow!

Does not rock

1. Cloud strife

He emo-ed his way through the 1st 1/3 of the film. It’s been 2 years, shit happens yada yada, blame self, run away. Man, he’s like a freaking spoilt brat. Flame me if you would but SOLDIERS are not just physically fit but they are supposed to be mentally FIT AND HEALTHY as well. Quite pathetic for a main character but well, he’s the guy who provides much of the entertainment so let’s give mummy’s boy a break here =D

2. Emo little kiddo boys

They materialised out of nowhere, cries whenever they think of their mother, have no idea what’s going to happen if they do what they want to do, basically puppets with no meaning in life. The living crying dead. Begone. Did I mention they kidnapped kids for no reason?

3. Cloud’s bike has too many gunblades to be fair!

I apologise but I couldn’t find the scene with the “many gunblades in my bike” scene so I just have to include this one!

Now isn’t this more fair? =D I’m just nitpicking because I can’t think of anything else that doesn’t make the movie not rock!

Well, all in all, I would say this is a high quality production based on a I guess, solid fanbase and story plot though by itself, you really kinda wished you know what really happened in the past and how it led all the way to the present, 2 years after the ‘main event’ of Final Fantasy VII. I might empathise with Cloud more but who cares! This is a pretty aesthetically pleasing film  with solid sound track and voice actors. Thumbs up for a brainless rainy day movie. Or sick day.

6 Responses to “Revisiting old films: Final Fantasy VII Advent Children”


  1. 1 Anonomyous
    16 May 2011 at 6:13 pm

    The director’s cut for the omnislash i much better i think. Gotta agree with the Turks, they are funny stuff

  2. 16 May 2011 at 10:41 pm

    I remember watching this movie after I finished FFVII (yeah, it took me a while to finally play it..) and although I loved the action scenes, I really didn’t enjoyed the ending and thought it would have been best to stay only with the game’s finale… Will watch it again this week, probably my perception has gotten better (or dulled…)

  3. 7 October 2011 at 2:24 pm

    wew … final fantasy idol ..

    • 5 Obsessed
      21 December 2011 at 1:46 am

      I was with you up until you bashed on Kadaj, Loz and Yazoo.
      Yes, they’re puppets, but they kidnapped the kids to use. And it wasn’t really kidnapping since they’re orphans and they were cured in the end.
      But without these three Sephy wouldn’t have come back, soo yeah..


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


