24
May
11

Now that the world didn’t end.. READ!

Hey there! I hope there are many survivors out there, otherwise, writing down this post for purposes other than keeping a personal diary would be meaningless…

While waiting for the world’s end (again…) I had nothing I would like to die watching, hence I started checking on my manga sites and found out some really good titles (well, not all of them, but some where highly recommendable…). So I thought to myself that if another apocalypse is about to happen soon (you know, every 2 or 3 months the world is about to end at one point or the other… ) these are some titles that you could read while your parents wall the doors, granny prays in unknown languages in front of a set of candles in a corner of the room and your neighbors run like headless chickens around your yard (for those that are laughing, this is not a joke, but an anecdote…).

So, hope you like these recomendations, and if you don’t, I’m always open to suggestions (and donations, of course..)

1. Doubt

-"But she's not scared of bunnies.." - "Well, if she isn't then SHE WILL BE!"... extra point to those who know where these lines come from...

For those that don’t know yet, other than romantic-slice-of-life styled mangas (Kimi no iru machi), my favorite titles are those of psychological thrillers, sports, horror and comedy in that order (order actually depends on my mood, but since I’m usually me, that’s the most common one..). Doubt is a clear example of it. In this story we get a SAW like plot (remember the freaky puppet riding a tricycle?) where a group of strangers are locked up in a building and try to find the murder amongst them. It has nice graphics and it’s quite short (20 chapters, can be read in half a morning..), but most of all, it has some really interesting approaches into human reactions against fear and trust. Could be called a HnNKn clone, but with less repetitions. BTW, it’s complete, so, no over-thinking after you finish reading it.

2. Liar Game

Don't let those creepy eyes trick you.. she's boring.

Ok, keeping up with the psycho ones. This one is one of my favorites of all times. Although the plot can be considered as dull and predictable (sissy girl gets involved in a game where you gotta deceive your opponents for money or loose it yourself, asks for help to a smartass ex-convict and together they try to bring the whole mess down…), the truth is that the human facts shown have true scientific basis and more than once I bet you’ll get reflected with the characters through he situations they get involved in. The puzzles are clever, and so far, I haven’t noticed any solution that is created out of nothing like in some dumb and plain animes we’ve watched before (*ahem* Gosick *ahem*). I’d like to put this in the same level as Death Note, but it lacks the intriguing motives and the deep character development, but the mind-to-mind confrontations are really something. The art is tried to be realistic, although I can openly say that I’ve seen better. It’s not complete, but it’s long enough to let you survive until it’s continued.

3. One Outs

This outter has issues with eyes...

Hehe! Thought I’d change to sports so soon? Well, in a certain point you could say so, since this one has a baseball front, but in the back its author (same as Liar Game’s… read above) has put some really weird and amusing psychological theories in practice. Ever felt that before shooting a penalty kick the goal gets smaller, or that when trying to hit your oponent in boxing he’s just to fast for you, or that even when you’ve done 100 in-shots from the free throw line you can’t get one while in finals?. Well, read this and you might get a clue on what’s going on. Even though it’s a little more fantastic than its brother, this story is also very interesting and more light hearted. The characters get a good development time during the chapters and the conclusions are quite good. Cons? Well, there seem to be some gaps in the chapters’ scanlations, so I suggest that if you really like this manga, you should try to get the originals so you can get the full story together. Imagine how good it gotta be for me to recomend it although it’s incomplete… Oh yeah, an anime aired around 3 years ago. I like the manga better.

4. Noblesse

Ignore the guys' gayness.. They have SUPERPOWERS!! WOW!

Ok, now THIS is a change. While surfing aimlessly through the manga lists, I found this weird vampire’s manwha (note that this isn’t a manga, but its Korean equivalent). Nothing really interesting about the story: a guy wakes up after 820 years of hibernation (that’s what i call a nap!) and founds out that the world has changed (nah!). Along with a group of students, he goes through lot of comic/serious adventures for readers amusement. Actually if I hadn’t read this personally I wouldn’t find anything good to say about it, and even after having done so I still have some issues to find anything interesting about this work that could pull you into it. All I can say is that it is somehow very entertaining and funny, easy to read and follow, and although nothing new comes up, you won’t get bored. If nothing better comes out, try it out and let me know your comments (offensive ones, please post them in Poro/Lygo’s posts…). BTW, it’s ALL color pages!

5. Various with Animes

I didn’t know how to group all these together, so I thought a little more (*smell something’s burning*) and came up that they all have anime counterparts. Some of them, like Claymore, have original crappy endings for the TV shows, while the story is quite better in the manga (really, if you like the first 15 episodes of the anime, then hurry up and move on to the pages..). Other ones, like Beelzebub or Bakuman, somehow are just much better read than watched. This way you can imagine the right voices, movements and audio effects, instead of depending on the stingy studios that bought their rights. Other were just demolished in the screen, while in the ink they could be considered master pieces, Gantz is a good example. Some others were nicely animated, but left behind a long time ago, and I don’t have the patience to wait for the business guys to get a decision, so I rather keep reading what happens later (Hajime N0 Ippo)

NOTES:

  1. Just for you that were waiting for me to mention mangas such as Bleach, One Piece, Fairy Tale and other sh**s… Keep waiting, perhaps someday I’ll even recommend some mecha ones, too…
  2. I omitted some masterpieces as FMA andย  Death Note for obvious reasons.
  3. If ANYBODY knows where can I find the full set of Ashita No Joe for download, I’ll be eternally in debt.

Well, hope that this post provided something new for all of you that still have the good old habit of using your imagination and not depending completely of crappy studios or fresher seiyus for enjoying amazing stories.

Please let me know of any other mangas that are worth the time of risking my job while downloading kids’ drawings into my desktop ๐Ÿ˜€

Ja Ne!

16 Responses to “Now that the world didn’t end.. READ!”


  1. 1 Hogart
    24 May 2011 at 7:47 am

    You and your Simpsons references ๐Ÿ™‚

    How about stoptazmo.com/manga-series/ashita_no_joe/ ?

    • 24 May 2011 at 10:33 am

      Looks like we have a winner! Douh!

      Thanks for the link for AnJ, but it’s the same as what I read before, looks like either nobody has translated the final volumes of the series, or they’re as hard to find as Osama’s corpse…

      Thanks for the link!!

      • 3 Hogart
        24 May 2011 at 11:17 am

        Ah, that’s right, no one’s translated past ch64 to my knowledge. I’ve been hoping for an official translation for years.

        • 24 May 2011 at 9:50 pm

          After a whole night of putting my bots to search for it, I couldn’t find any site that hosts past ch64.. not even in raw versions.. will have to search for the original volumes in ebay.. :S

  2. 5 lygophile
    25 May 2011 at 1:18 am

    *End of the world delayed to October 21

  3. 7 jGLZa
    25 May 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Doubt looks interesting, would probably give that a look if I still read manga.
    Back when I did read manga, One Outs was one of my favorites – good choice for sports lovers.

  4. 28 May 2011 at 12:49 pm

    I’d just lol in heaven if the world ended on December 31, 2012 at 11:59 p.m.

    • 29 May 2011 at 12:24 am

      I really doubt that people who enjoys anime and manga will reach that heights… but I’ll be sure to enjoy down there if what you say happens.. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. 11 Julia
    29 May 2011 at 10:04 am

    whoo I had a little fangirl moment when I saw Doubt and Liar Game up in your list xD Been addicted to those manga for a few days now. &now I’ll give One Outs a chance, even when I don’t like sport themed manga ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. 30 May 2011 at 8:28 am

    I haven’t read that much manga. Doubt sounds really interesting especially for a romantic-slice-of-life and psychological fangirl like me. The art also looks nice.

    Thanks for the recommendation.

  7. 30 May 2011 at 10:12 am

    Doubt succeeded to boil my blood. It’s a really thrilling manga.

  8. 30 May 2011 at 12:00 pm

    Good to know that you liked those titles! I’ll try to keep posting some random reviews on the mangas I finish… Right now I’m about to reach “The Breaker” final chapters… quite good.

  9. 16 Hogart
    9 January 2012 at 11:04 am

    I’m amazed I remembered this post, but in case you hadn’t noticed, you might want to check out mangaupdates.com .. looks like they’re finally getting around to volume 8 ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


