28
Jul
11

Why Persona 4 the Animation excites me

Persona 4 is one of my absolute favourite games of all time, it was a rare case where there wasn’t a single aspect of it that I didn’t enjoy. I like the setting, the story, the characters, the music. I could go on like this but that would sort of ruin the point of why I’m writing this. Anyway if you play videogames, and if you even slightly enjoy RPG’s and you haven’t played Persona 4, I suggest you do so as soon as possible. Trust me, it’s worth it.

A few months ago an anime adaptation of Persona 4 was announced for this fall, I’m going to tell you why this makes me so happy it hurts.

A new trailer was released just a few days ago, if you haven’t done so already, go and watch it. Now.

That, my friends, is glorious, and it shows just a few of the reasons I’m not sceptical of the whole thing:

#1: The music will be incredible

You heard that song, right? Iffy English lyrics aside, I love it, and it fits in perfectly with the music from the game, and so it should. It was written by one of the best composers in videogames today, Shoji Meguro. He did the music for the recent Persona games, and his work is easily recognisable, there’s just something so cool about it that I can’t resist anything with his name attached. Take the battle theme from the game as an example, does it make you think of combat at all? Hell no, but it made every single fight feel so much more energetic. I’m eagerly awaiting anything new he makes for the anime.

#2: It’s incredibly stylish

Yeah, this is partially due to the music, but my god does Persona have style. The art style of the game is great despite aged PS2 graphics, and the transition from game to anime should help those visuals look even better than they already do, and the character design is still pretty stellar.

#3: The director is surprisingly good

The anime will be directed by Seiji Kishi, and while he hasn’t done very much, and isn‘t particularly famous, he’s demonstrated surprising skill with some of his recent work. He previously directed Angel Beats, Which I loved despite the abrupt mood swings it suffered, and he’s currently directed Kamisama Dolls, which I’m thoroughly enjoying.

#4: The story and characters are terrific

To be honest, I actually preferred the story in Persona 3, but I believe that Persona 3 & 4 have some of the finest stories in videogames, it’s really just a case of personal preference more than anything else, and both of them suit the weekly format really well. Regardless, I thought Persona 4 had far better characters than 3, mostly due to the fact that in Persona 4, the characters were incredibly believable, they felt like actual high school students, not 30-somethings masquerading as teenagers. The characters are all flawed in some way (which factors into the plot a fair bit), they are at turns cocky, awkward, unsure of themselves, and in one characters case, sexually confused. I’m also very interested in what they do regarding the social links in the game, and how many of the side plots they’ll keep in.

#5: Chie Satonaka is Mai Waifu

HNNNNNNG

So there you have it, 5 reasons I cannot wait for this adaptation. October better hurry up and get here already, in the mean time, I’ll be replaying the game in anticipation for this. Time to spend the next few days locked up in my room.

12 Responses to “Why Persona 4 the Animation excites me”


  1. 28 July 2011 at 11:12 pm

    I’ve never played a Persona game, yet I’ve still been playing that trailer on repeat for the last few days. Fuck me, that thing is stylish

    • 2 Gooney
      28 July 2011 at 11:25 pm

      Even if you’re not into RPG’s, you could check the game out purely for it’s aesthetics. Seriously, watch the game’s opening.

  2. 28 July 2011 at 11:31 pm

    I’m loving this because of the game – It drained me of 85 hours of my life last year and I’d like to ask for them back…only to get sucked into the world again by the anime. Oh dear.

    • 4 Gooney
      28 July 2011 at 11:35 pm

      Same situation for me. I got into it last year, spent 90 hours (I died, a LOT) finishing it, and now i’ve just started playing it again.

  3. 28 July 2011 at 11:40 pm

    As a person who never played the games, am I safe to assume that it won’t crap and traumatizing like Persona: Trinity Soul? lol

    • 6 Gooney
      29 July 2011 at 12:38 am

      Ugh, Trinity Soul, that was pretty bad, but this follows the same events as the source material whereas Trinity Soul was a 10 years later sequel to Persona 3. This should be far, far, better than that.

  4. 29 July 2011 at 1:15 am

    I’m so fucking exited. Oh, and Kanji is totally mai husbando.

  5. 29 July 2011 at 2:10 am

    While the 5th reason is less solid (could replace her with a few different characters) I’m completely with you in terms of being excited for this anime. Persona 4 is definitely one of my favorite games (having beaten it quite a few times already) so I’m excited to see how the anime turns out. The trailer looked though which gives high hopes.

    We have great characters, a great story, and a game that should turn into an anime pretty easily. Just too bad we still have to wait for fall to actually get here :).

  6. 8 September 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Woah! That was some great review/preview from a real fan. I am very happy I read this. Here is a little preview I wrote: http://wp.me/p1Ooje-48 . Since I barely know the games, I’ve decided to make mine more informative and skip personal opinions.. yours is so different!!! I love it!

    • 11 Gooney
      8 September 2011 at 9:02 pm

      Hey, I enjoyed your preview as well, it’s good to get many different perspectives on these things, not just a fan’s view, so it was nice to read something more fact-based. Good job, and thanks for the compliments!

      • 16 September 2011 at 4:51 am

        Thank you too. I am also happy for your blog.. it is so easy to read with all the nice stuff that you put here! I even read about chihayafuru lol, and it’s so not my genre 😀

        Btw, a new person 4 the animation trailer (a pretty good one, but) is available. Naturally, I worote about it, but I am not linking to my blog once more since i don’t want to span yours. Just check the official persona 4 website 🙂


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


