31
Aug
11

Kimi no Iru Machi ch. 148… Lezzo’s attack!

Yo! During my hiatus I started watching some doramas out of pure boredom. Sure it might sound weird, but that’s just a reflection of how interested I am in the current anime shows. Other than laughing a while with BtTtS2 and screening my imagination with Usagi Drop, I can’t find anything that really pulls me away from my Wii-playing-couch (Damn Mario Sports Mix, it’s quite addictive!)… Ok, got out of the topic… Coming back to the doramas, what I wanted to illustrate was the Asian drama way. Being from Mexico, I’m used to watch some soap operas every now and then, specially those with a historic background, and have found out that the points that make them so popular is that they’re live fairy tales, where the poor cute girl finds her sissy-face prince and live forever happily after defeating countless obstacles, bringing down numerous opponents and convincing his mommy that the raggedy princess is actually worth his love.. (hold on, I’m about to puke.. *gulp*.. ok, let’s keep going).

Asia on its side has a little more dark sight of life, while it keeps the stories light by adding comedic gestures to the crews. While sometimes using even more fantastic situations, the feeling is still realistic, specially when you find out that the lovers are actually brothers, or that the girl has a terminal cancer that will be spread to the first person to hold her hand, or stuff like that.

Bored already? Well, you should, cause even I got sleepy after writing all this wiki-article out of nowhere, but the point of doing it was to illustrate why Kimi no Iru Machi is so successful amongst not only girls, but also some manly males like your always favorite BnB writer (no, I wasn’t talking about Blindability.. keep thinking!). All human kind likes to watch people find happiness, but not before paying for it with tears and blood (yeah, we’re all sadistics, accept it or not…) and that’s what this manga brings to us every week.

After pursuing Eba all the way to Tokyo, fighting with his almost-dead boyfriend for her love, splitting apart after the boyfriend hung the snickers, wasting 3 years with a tomboyish girlfriend (that will always live in my memory as the girl who forgave everything!) and finally kicking everybody out his way to be with Eba, it seems that Haruto still has one more wall to hammer out of his happy way:  a  cute blonde girl who lives next door, and that actually seems to have an “interest” on Yuzuki after meeting them.

At first I felt naturally rejected to this new character because of her timid and demurring attitude (I’m usually mistrustful of  sluggish people..) but once she started to speak with Yuzuki and show rejection towards Haruto… nah!, I actually felt the same :P! I mean, she’s got something under her sleeve, I’m sure about it, but I think we’ll have to wait for a while before we find out what it is, I just hope that the newly-formed couple won’t split out, cause I won’t be able to hold another year of only-Haruto chapters!

A couple of comments before closing this post:

First and most important: KnIM OVA is confirmed for Spring 2012, at least that’s the latest I know, if somebody has fresher data, it’s welcome!

Second, I just wanted to mention to all of those boxing manga lovers a new series that I’ve been following. Its name is RRR (Rock ‘n Roll Ricky) and it’s quite good (at least so far…). Feels very Hajime-No-Ipoish with a touch of… Hajime no Ippo.. :P. It’s still on its 20’s so there’s a lot of room for it to grow up,  or completely sink, but for the time being it’s good to witness the born of a new sports manga with such good quality.

As always, thanks for your attention and hope to read your comments soon!

PS. Why did I make all the soap operas fuss on the beginning? Well, probably just because I wanted to speak my heart out about doramas, probably cause I feel deep inside that this story won’t have a happy ending (dunno why, but I’ve been thinking a lot about School Days lately..), or probably just because I wanted to break the 700 words frontier… make your choice!

Ja ne!

3 Responses to “Kimi no Iru Machi ch. 148… Lezzo’s attack!”


  1. 31 August 2011 at 5:22 am

    that new girl is surely to become in love with Haruto and will bring more drama in order for Seto Koji to drag on the series. Quick Haruto, just knock Eba up and the series will finally meet its end. lol

    • 31 August 2011 at 5:42 am

      Actually I think she will be somehow over Eba… And it would be disappointing if it ends after they finally become “adults”… but according to Seto’s tradition, they will pass from bed to church in one chapter :S

  2. 5 September 2011 at 10:17 am

    The fun just continues with this series. Though to be fair I’ve not really been keeping up with it. Keep checking in to see what horrible thing will happen next since the characters in this manga can’t actually be happy. Still there is at least another enemy in Haruto’s way to be with Eba.


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


