23
Oct
11

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – Episode 3

There are very few times I outright prefer one sub group over another (except that I always go for FFFansubs when it comes to Ika Musume, I hate squid puns) but I’m going to suggest that everyone stick to Mazui for Tomodachi. Aside from just being generally high-quality subs, the shouting matches with Yozora and Sena become way funnier with insults that I’m not sure I’m entirely allowed to post here. (I really wish I could, but I’m not sure how NSFW I’m allowed to go)

Anyway, the episode begins with Sena playing Eroge (which is totally not The Sacred Blacksmith) on her laptop in the clubroom; Yozora unplugs her headphones in the middle of a sex scene. Leading to the aforementioned hilarious argument, mostly due to the fact that playing it in a church could be morally grey. Sena tries to defend the game, saying that it’s not at all vulgar and that it’s just a part of a literary masterwork. Yozora takes her up on this, saying that if it’s just literature, Sena should have no problem reading an extract aloud. She agrees. This scene was hilarious.

We’re later introduced to Kodaka’s younger sister Kobato. Turns out that after watching an anime called Full Metal Necromancer (yep, this show loves tweaking names ever so slightly), she began to pretend she was a vampire inspired by the show.

The next day, Sena is playing another dating sim, and asks Kodaka to teach her how to swim, claiming she doesn’t want to disappoint a character in the game she’s playing. Kodaka agrees to teach her, and that weekend they go to a pool for the lessons. This goes well until Sena is confronted by three guys, Kodaka goes to help, and the guys start to leave until Sena insults them again. So Kodaka has to help again, and he scares them off by grabbing one of the guys and… Pushing his hair back? What, I’m pretty sure that’s not a very effective scare tactic. Then again, I don’t really get involved in fights, so maybe there’s something I’m missing out on that no one mentions ever.

OH GOD THAT HAIR AND BLUE FILTER ARE SO TERRIFYING

We learn that Sena likes the nickname Yozora gave her “Meat” just because it’s the first nickname anyone’s ever given her. This sparks memories of an old friend Kodaka had who is very obviously Yozora, and the show gives really obvious hints about this, but they won’t tell you outright until a dramatic reveal which I’m guessing will happen near the end of the series.

Yet again, another really funny episode which was helped by the fantastic subs. (seriously, go for Mazui) Looks like most of the remaining cast will be introduced next episode, so the dynamic of the show will probably change quite a bit, and it remains to be seen whether or not this will be for the better, but It was all good in the manga, so I’ll remain hopeful.

5 Responses to “Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – Episode 3”


  1. 23 October 2011 at 9:27 pm

    “Aside from just being generally high-quality subs”

    Oh, i see. I was wondering what those and meant, but apparently those are signs of quality. I get it.

    • 2 Gooney
      23 October 2011 at 10:05 pm

      Huh? I’m not sure I understand, I think you’re saying that I think the insults make them high-quality, but I could be wrong. Anyway, I don’t think the insults make the subs high-quality, but I haven’t had any problems with the subs so far, and I just believe the insults spice things up a bit.

  2. 23 October 2011 at 11:00 pm

    Agree with you, the scene when Yozora push Sena to reading an extract loud was hilarious. Gosh, Sena in swimsuit :nosebleed:

  3. 24 October 2011 at 12:05 am

    In before Kobato acting cute. *_*
    I love her! *_*


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


