02
Jan
12

Team Zero’s Winter 2012 Season Preview

Winter 2012 - Bokutachi no Blog

Happy new year everyone! May the year be filled with happiness and prosperity! So let’s get to what we’re really here for. With every year comes four more anime seasons, and if the Mayan calendar is to be believed (pro tip: it isn’t) it’s the 4th last season we’ll ever see, so we’d better make the most of it! It may not be the greatest of seasons, but there’s a fair amount of really good looking shows on display here. So join us in going through every series Winter will bring.

New Prince of Tennis

MSC Sports 04-JAN Trailer

In Japan an “All Star Team” is being formed, containing the 50 best tennis players from the entire country.

Gooney Prince of tennis, isn’t that the show that says tennis killed the dinosaurs? Yeah, I’ll skip this one.
Thaivu22 The original Prince of Tennis was decent. Then, I read the “New Prince of Tennis” manga and It was a yawn-fest.
jGLZA There are far more girls that liked the original anime than boys, that’s not a good sign for a sports anime.
Blindability The original Prince of Tennis is on my ‘To Watch List’… somewhere near the bottom. I guess this can be slotted right in under it.
Loba Old Prince of Tennis?
Poro I’m too busy reading 3gatsu no Lion….
Lygophile Sports, I’ll pass.

Recorder to Randoseru

Seven Comedy 05-JAN Trailer: N/A

Miyagawa Atsushi is an 11-year-old boy. Since he is 180 centimetres tall and has a grown-up looking build, he has always been running into troubles. On the other hand, his 17-year-old elder sister Atsumi is only 137 centimetres tall and has a childish looking build. Atsumi takes good care of Atsushi, who acts his true age..

Gooney One of those shows that simply appears to be a thing. Yep, I have no thoughts on this.
Thaivu22 Normally, in anime, what you would see is that the elder sister acts childish and the younger brother behaves maturely. Finally, I see something normal!!!!
jGLZA A 4-koma adaptation, these seem to be the in thing now. So it’ll be like Working but with the odd tall joke between all the short jokes.
Blindability Seriously!? He’s 11 and 5’9!? What are these parents feeding their son that they’re not feeding their daughter? This sounds weird, although it might be pretty funny. I’m not likely to watch it though because I’m bitter enough about my own brother being much taller than me.
Loba Ha! I hit 180cm only at 12 but I have no elder sister…;_; slice of life, I guess it should be partly comedic as well.
Considering how brutally I treat my sister who is 8 years younger, I can’t imagine it being the opposite. Unimaginable.
Lygophile Mediocre synopsis, this could be funny or touching, or it could be really boring.

Area no Kishi

Shin-ei Animation Sports 07-JAN Trailer

Believing himself to be useless at football, Aizawa Kakeru opts to become the manager of his school’s football team, while his brother Suguru is its ace, and is even good enough to represent Japan. However, Kakeru may be harbouring a strong talent within himself that only Suguru can see, and the two often get into arguments over Kakeru’s denial of his skills. Things are made more complicated with the return of Nana, an old playmate of theirs that Kakeru has a crush on. Join the brothers in their journey to the national and even international championships!

Gooney I recently decided to branch out in terms of what I watch, and I’m starting with sports anime, so I’ll be checking this out.
Thaivu22 I hate soccer! Japan already has too much soccer manga…as if they need more soccer anime. I’m still waiting for a hockey anime.
jGLZA Its a new sports anime, so I’ll just march blindly in proclaiming its praises. It won’t be another Hajime no Ippo but it already has quite a long running manga so it definitely won’t be horrible. I love soccer but like Thaivu, I’ll probably cream myself when a hockey anime finally comes out.
Blindability I really, really loved Eyeshield 21 (although the anime itself wasn’t very good), so I can’t say that I don’t watch sports anime, but… I don’t think I’ll be watching this one.
Loba I only love basketball.
I’m getting impatient, where is that generic harem anime I can make fun of…. (Cross Country FTW!)
Lygophile I generally dislike sports anime, but the synopsis seems interesting and has potential. I’ll give this a try.

Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou

Sunrise Comedy 09-JAN Trailer

A gag comedy story following the humorous yet “realistic” lives of Tadakuni, Hidenori, Yoshitake, and other students at a boys’ high school.

Gooney Did anyone catch the 5 minute pre-air episode? It was surprisingly great, I’ll definitely be watching this.
Thaivu22 After Kimi to Boku, I feel reluctant to even take a look. Oh Sunrise, Please make more Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon instead.
jGLZA Im hoping that unlike Kimi to Boku, this will be more like normal boys, i.e. feature them predominantly insulting each other and making ball jokes. The OP certainly has me more interested at least.
Blindability I have to admit the PVs were amusing, and I do like the voice actors, but I’m not sure I’ll watch it consistently; maybe just an episode here and there to see what funnies they come up with. After watching Kimi to Boku, though, I worry that I’ll keep comparing the two, in which case, I’m sure I would prefer Kimi to Boku.
Loba AHAHAHAHA. Watch PV2. Was bored initially until I heard Gintoki from Gintama voicing one of the main character and kept listening.
After Gundam AGE, I have given up on Sunrise.
Lygophile I’ll leave gag comedies to others. Wondering about the quotations around “realistic”, though.

Another

P.A. Works
Horror 09-JAN Trailer

26 years ago, in a third-year classroom of a middle school, there was a student named Misaki. As an honors student who was also good at sports, the charming girl was popular with her classmates. When she suddenly died, her classmates decided to carry on as if she was still alive until graduation. Then, in the spring of 1998, a boy named Sakakibara Kouichi transfers to that classroom, and he grows suspicious of the fearful atmosphere in that classroom. In particular, there is a beautiful, aloof girl named Mei Misaki who wears an eye patch and is always alone drawing pictures.

Gooney This is my most anticipated non-sequel show of the season, I love the quietly unsettling nature of most J-Horror and I’m a huge fan of games like Silent Hill. P.A Works is doing the animation so it’ll definitely look great. In short, this looks fantastic, watch it. Oh guys, you know what’s hilarious? Jokes about the title, please make more, they’re just so incredible and I just haven’t heard nearly enough of them.
Thaivu22 Count on me to read every manga adaptations again. Like Gooney said, Another is quietly unsettling. However, It is just that and not really scary. The show is more like a mystery that walks a fine line between horror and romance.
jGLZA P.A. Works are making Another anime? LOL, sorry but I’m really becoming quite the P.A. Works fan these days especially the musical scores which they use in their anime so I’ll definitely give this a look. Not a big fan of horror or more precisely slow-moving horror anime so that might be a deal-breaker.
Blindability I haven’t been able to continue with Mirai Nikki because I thought it was scary. I also couldn’t complete Shiki for the same reason. I don’t think I’ll start another show only to not complete it because I couldn’t get past one point at which it scared me.
Loba Hm…not a big fan of horror.
If Misaki is really cute, I’ll watch. 😀
Lygophile I can’t comprehend her classmates’ decision at all. Regardless, I’ll take a look at this.

Rinne no Lagrange

Xebec Mecha 09-JAN Trailer

Madoka is the lone member of her school’s Jersey Club. She is one day recruited by a mysterious girl named Lan to pilot the robot “Vox” and protect her city from space invaders. They are joined by a third girl, Muginami, who has a different goal than Ran. Meanwhile, they still don’t know their enemies’ true goal, or what “Rinne” might be.

Gooney Coming from Xebec, this looks surprisingly good . That said, it’ll be good to see them make something genuinely good rather than something like Rio: Rainbow Gate, which was hilarious for all the wrong reasons.
Thaivu22 My only thoughts on that show is that it looks…boring.
jGLZA I’ve heard rumors that Xebec have actually put some effort into this anime, that plus the fact that it has mecha means that by default I will be watching this. What I can’t get my head around though is that apparently the english translation of the title is ‘Flower declaration of your heart’ which sounds very much like the title for a romance show but from the trailer I didn’t see much in the way of any male lead. Sooo, Yuri-Mecha? Holding thumbs.
Blindability It doesn’t seem uninteresting but it doesn’t really grab me either so I might watch the first episode to try and get a better feel for the show. I’m not too sure what “Jersey Club” is though.
Loba I agree with Gooney, it looks good. And it’s mecha so I am willing to give it a go.
da f&*k…….
Lygophile Couldn’t find anything explaining a ‘Jersey Club’. The mecha look cool though.

Inu X Boku SS

David Production
Romance / Supernatural 12-JAN Trailer

A romantic comedy between master and servant in a mansion full of mysterious secrets!! The high class mansion, Maison de Ayakashi, is better known by the name “Demon Mansion (Ayakashi-kan).” It’s said to boast the world’s greatest security system. Rumors about it abound, ranging from “nothing but weirdos live there,” to “It’s a haunted house inside,” but the truth is that the people who live in this mysterious mansion are all descendants of demons! Ririchiyo Shirakiin is troubled by her inability to interact with people, and comes to the mansion in order to change herself. There she meets her bodyguard, Soushi Miketsukami, one of the Secret Service members assigned to each tenant. There Soushi begs Ririchiyo… “Please make me your dog!”

Gooney David production is a studio that I’m a fan of, but I’m not too sure why. Ben-To was solid and occasionally hilarious, but isn’t exactly something that should make me want to see everything the studio puts out. Regardless, I’m now inexplicably drawn to whatever they put out, even if this doesn’t seem to be anything exceptional.
Thaivu22 “mansion full of mysterious secrets” Check. “Ayakashi” Check. “nothing but weirdos live there” Check. “Please make me your dog!” WHAT?! Let me watch the trailer. Oh, the dude is crying. NO COMMENT…
jGLZA I don’t like butler anime, especially ones that aren’t comedies. Plus the guy has different coloured eyes which will freak me out to no end.
Blindability The only demon I want in my mansion is Sebastian from Kuroshitsuji. The animation looks really nice though.
Loba I finished reading the first sentence and scrolled down.
I’ve lost faith in all S&M’s after Kao…. No, I don’t even want you to google this manga either. It’s probably even more f#c4ed up than this one.
Too weird.

Nisemonogatari

Shaft Supernatural 07-JAN Trailer

The black swindler Kaiki Deishu, who once deceived Hitagi, returns to town and spreads the incantation which cursed Nadeko before. Koyomi’s sisters Karen and Tsukihi try to capture Deishu but…

Gooney My most anticipated show of the season, the sequel to Bakemonogatari, a show I regularly praise for the outstanding writing and visuals. If this is even half as good as its predecessor, we’re in for a treat.
Thaivu22 Finally, Shaft and Shinbo are doing something. Depending how many times Senjougahara appears, the show should be awesome.
jGLZA Yeah, it’ll be good.
Blindability I need to watch Bakemonogatari first… I suppose I’ll go do that now.
Loba Not my type of genre.
I kinda enjoyed Bakemonogatari, but I want my Mayoi Snail back. Hopefully, even a cameo from Ararararararagi-kun would be good too.
Lygophile I didn’t finish Bakemonogatari ‘cause I got too confused.

Mouretsu Pirates

Satelight Sci-fi 07-JAN Trailer

The story centers around a spirited high school girl named Marika. She keeps herself busy with the space yacht club and her part-time job at a high-class retro café. One day, two men suddenly appear and claim to be subordinates of her dead father. They demand that she assume command of the space pirate ship Benten Maru. A privateer ship’s compact was made during a war of independence a century ago, and according to that compact, the ship must be inherited by the captain’s next direct descendant. Marika finds herself embarking on a new life as a space pirate.

Gooney Apparently They’ve been making this show for something like 4 years, so I’m eager to see if all that time pays off or leads to a flop. Anyone else find this surprisingly reminiscent of the kind of anime they used to make in the 90s?
Thaivu22 If anything, Mouretsu Pirates should at least get credits for having the best Trailer of the last few years. The main character, Marika, totally reminds me of Sora from Kaleido Star, but added with the school popularity of Utena and with the uniform of Captain Harlock. It’s definitely interesting to say the least.
jGLZA I’m conflicted, the trailer in my opinion looked boring as hell but its spaceships/sci-fi/mecha so obviously I’m interested. Satelight are cool though, they do CG well so it should all be ok..
Blindability Oh pirates and their rules. I think this could be interesting to watch.
Loba One piece in space….? Not my type of genre yet again.
## Waffles for Everyone!!!
Lygophile Seems like pirate garb hasn’t changed since the 1600-1700s. I would have preferred if they hadn’t emphasized the stereotypical pirate portion so much, but this still looks pretty good.

Ano Natsu de Matteru

J.C. Staff
Romantic Comedy
09-JAN Trailer

An adolescent romantic comedy. The three main characters are the two girls Ichika Takatsuki and Remon Yamano, and the boy Kaito Kirishima.

Gooney As a fan of both Toradora (one of my favourite series) and Anohana, I’ll definitely give this a shot.
Thaivu22 The makers of Please Teacher! and Please Twins! are working on this anime. So, there must be a taboo love relationship somewhere. Logically speaking, the 2 female leads MUST be LESBIANS!! DUN DUN DUN!!! Or maybe, the male character is secretely female!
jGLZA They didn’t even make a proper PV! How can the show be any good?
Blindability I don’t know… I guess depending on how many shows this season can prove themselves good, I might not spend my time watching a romance anime.
Loba Skip.
THERE’S MY HAREM ANIME!  I’m so glad that there is a generic harem anime that I won’t make fun of it.
Lygophile Some romantic comedies are great, some are not so great. J.C Staff makes both, I shall see how good this one is.

Brave10

Media Factory
Action 07-JAN Trailer

The Warring States Era, one year prior to the Battle of Sekigahara. The young and directionless Iga Ninja, Kirigakure Saizo, comes across Isa Nami, a Miko who escaped from Izumo and was being attacked by assassins. Isa Nami was on her way to Shinshu to seek aid from Sanada Yukimura after the Izumo Grand Shrine was burned to the ground by assailants under Tokugawa Ieyasu’s command.
Meanwhile, Sanada Yukimura tries to gather 10 of the strongest warriors to form the Sanada Ten Braves, to serve as his trump card in the brewing wars. As the brave warriors gather and battles erupt, Isa Nami ‘s hidden power begins to awaken…?!
The Sanada Ten Braves, history’s most beautiful, magnificent warriors! Together these ten hold the power to shape history!!

Gooney Sengoku Basara Season 3 anybody? This probably won’t be anything special, but I’ll give it a look nonetheless.
Thaivu22 It is the absolute same thing as Sengoku Basara, except that there is a female character that gets more screen time than most.
jGLZA The question is; will it be even half as good as Sengoku BASARA? Either way this is the place to be if you want non-mecha over-the-top action.
Blindability I never watched Sengoku Basara so I have no idea what my teammates are writing about, but somehow I really liked the trailer! So yes, I think I’ll be watching this. At least until I get bored of it or something better comes along.
Loba Shrugs. Might rock your boat if sword fights and the setting appeals to you.
My friends who enjoyed Dragon Ball Z might like this.  On a scale to 1 to >9000, somewhere in between.
Lygophile Guy meets girl, goes on adventure. Pretty common, but I like those kinds of things.

Senhime Zesshou Symphogear

Encourage Films
Sci-Fi 06-JAN Trailer

A music-battle anime following two girls in a top vocal unit named Zweiwing who fight to save humanity against a threat known as “Noise”.

Gooney This looks stupid.
Thaivu22 The trailer and song samples tell me that this is a Macross Frontier rip-off.
Blindability No thank you.
Loba Predicts PS Vita announcing a ‘Senhime Zesshou Symphogear’ game!
Macross series is probably better.
Lygophile Wwwwwwwwwwtf music-battle?

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes 2

J.C. Staff
Shojo 05-JAN Trailer

Second season of the Tantei Opera Milky Holmes series.

Gooney A sequel to a series I never watched and that I’ve only heard bad things about. No, I won’t be watching this
Thaivu22 I’d be lying if I said that Milky Holmes is a good anime.
Blindability Another no, thank you.
Loba I avoid such like the plague.
Instead of watching this anime, I’ll give you a free bowl of fiberglass, melted steel, and razors for you to enjoy free of charge and shipping costs.  The only difference is that my bowl gives you a unhealthy excess of minerals and is much less painful! 😀
Lygophile Seeing the comments above, I wouldn’t speak well about this anime even if I thought it was good. It’s not, though.

Natsume Yuujin-Chou Shi

Brains Base Supernatural 02-JAN Trailer

The fourth season of Natsume Yuujinchou.

Gooney I hear great things about this series, but I’ve never watched it and it’s unlikely I’ll pick it up in its 4th season
Thaivu22 Just like the 3 previous seasons, this one will be a top 5 anime of Winter 2012. It is that great.
Blindability YES! I love Nyanko-sensei!
Loba Heard of it before but it’s just too low on my KIV list.
Meh, I’ve got better things to do like play Counter Strike…
Lygophile Wow, there are a lot of these. If it’s been around this long, perhaps I should watch it…

Amagami SS+

AIC Romance 05-JAN Trailer

Continuation of Amagami SS

Gooney It was slow and not particularly original, but I still thoroughly enjoyed the first season of Amagami SS, but does it really need a sequel? The first season wrapped up all of its plots fairly well, so this just feels pointless. I’ll still give it a look, it could be decent.
Thaivu22 Let’s see; I only liked parts of season 1 whenever I liked a certain girl of the show. I could not give a damn whenever the anime focused on Kaoru, Sae and Rihoko. Basically, I hated half of the show. Which route will season 2 take? I don’t know. But I know I ain’t watching whenever there will a story arc about any of these 3 girls.
Blindability Darn it. We lost Spiral who loved Amagami SS. I guess no one will be covering it this time around on Bokutachi then…
Loba Another on the KIV list.
More behind the knee licking action @_@?!
Lygophile Unless I do! Maybe. Amagami’s quite good, the arcs are brief enough to not get boring (a big problem with a lot of anime for me) and they’re generally nice and romantic.

Zero no Tsukaima F

J.C. Staff Romance 07-JAN Trailer

4th and final season of Zero no Tsukaima

Gooney I still haven’t watched past the 1st season, so I might not check this out for a while.
Thaivu22 I can’t remember how season 3 ended, but it’s not like it matters. I’m just watching this for completion.
jGLZA Finally it ends.
Blindability The fourth and final season of a show I’ve never seen.
Loba No thank you.
Wow, FINAL season? There are like 30 light novels! Shakugan no Shana and now Zero no Tsukaima! All these anime production companies really want to kill off their classics that lead them to fame and riches.  Have they not learned anything from Sunrise?! These guys need to learn how to recycle a franchise 12 times over.
Lygophile I quit this anime somewhere in the third season because there was too much bad romantic comedy. I read all the English-translated light novels though!

Papa no Iu Koto o Kikinasai

Feel Comedy
10-JAN Trailer

Segawa Yuta is a freshman of a university. He lost his parents when he was small and was raised by his sister Yuri. Yuta has been living alone since Yuri got married to a middle aged man when Yuta was a junior high student. One day, Yuri visited Yuta’s apartment and asked him to take care of her three daughters while Yuri and her husband were on a trip. He unwillingly accepted the job but the plane Yuri took went missing. In order to prevent the daughters from being adopted separately by relatives, Yuta decided to take in all three girls. A life of a strange family in a tiny apartment begins.

Gooney I don’t know what to think of this, but it’ll most likely be nothing more than an unspectacular comedy. 50/50 chance of me trying this.
Thaivu22 I have read the two manga adaptations. I only liked the moments when the series did NOT focus on the 3 girls too much. That’s definitely not a good sign.
jGLZA Hello paedo/loli bait!
Blindability Nothing is going to beat Daikichi taking in and raising Rin in Usagi Drop. Plus this does seem harem-ish so I’m going to pass.
Loba Wasn’t there a similar show last season?
YES! YES! YES! Let it rain generic harem anime! Let it RAIN!~~
Lygophile Second Blindability’s comment.

Aquarion Evol

Satelight Mecha 08-JAN Trailer

The story will take place 12,000 years after the first Aquarion television series at a city modeled after Hong Kong. A new cast of characters, piloting a new Aquarion robot, will fight enemies from another dimension.

Gooney I’ve heard very mixed things about the original Aquarion series but there’s an incredibly talented staff working on this, including Yoko Kanno handling the music. There’s potential here, so I’ll be watching this.
Thaivu22 Hopefully, Evol retains the shouting clichés of its predecessor. Like the original Aquarion, the animation looks gorgeous. However, I was easily getting bored at times too. Anyway, I’m not really looking forward to this new series.
jGLZA I hope its every bit as corny & cliche as the original. Also no real need to have watched the original one, so win.
Blindability I-I’ve never even heard of Aquarion. But it does look good. I’m not sure about the story and character development but I’ll watch a few episodes and see if it’s all good.
Loba Fascinating but not interested.
I’ll be too busy wondering why not Lygorion or Ailurorion.  Is a robot of darkness or a neko robot too much to ask?  I don’t mind an anime about a robotic cat girl robot saving the earth in magical land of Hong Kong.

High School DxD

TNK Ecchi / Action 06-JAN Trailer

The story follows Issei Hyodo, a dim-witted, lecherous second-year high school student who is killed by a girl on his first date ever. Issei is reincarnated as a devil, and from that day forward, he serves as an underling of Riasu, a high-level devil who is also the prettiest girl on Issei’s campus.

Gooney Fanservice show of the season? Most likely, but my weird compulsion to at least try most of what comes out each season in the hope I stumble onto a gem means I’ll give this at least one episode.
Thaivu22 At least, the animation style is better than Maken-Ki. The trailer tells me that I won’t have to worry about the main character being annoyingly scared of B00BS.
jGLZA Phew! I was worried there wouldn’t be any b00bs this season. Hopefully it isn’t censored to death though.
Blindability No comment.
Loba
…. ( I have 4 periods; therefore, I beat Loba :D)
Lygophile There’s a problem when the main character is only described as dim-witted and lecherous.

Kill Me Baby

J.C. Staff
Comedy 05-JAN Trailer

Based on a 4-panel style manga that follows the comedic life of a typical school girl Yasuna and her assassin classmate Sonya. Sonya’s attempt to fit in often fails when her natural assassin instincts kick in and Yasuna’s attempts to be friendlier with Sonya often get her hurt or intimidated.

Gooney This doesn’t look particularly good, but it could be funny, so I’ll give it a chance, even if the first trailer I saw nearly gave me an aneurysm.
Thaivu22 I don’t see this anime being anything but a 5-minutes episode series. Anyway, it looks okay…
jGLZA Clearly for the lulz only. Will probably be a decent fluff anime to watch when you just want to kill time.
Blindability This kind of reminds me of this One Shot manga by Hideaki Sorachi (who also did Gintama) called 13 and it was about two high school students who were assassins. I don’t know if “Kill Me Baby” will be as funny as 13 but I’ll give it a shot.
Loba Slightly reminds me of Full Metal Panic scenario. Will pass on this.
Before, I thought 4-koma’s were never going to make good anime.  Then, I watched Working!… I’ll rate this as a ? mark.
Lygophile 4-panel adaptions, not my fav.

Black★Rock Shooter

Ordet Action 02-FEB Trailer

No synopsis currently available, sorry.

Gooney I’ve said this before, I didn’t like the OVA at all, but the staff working on this has sparked my interest. Hiroyuki Imaishi handling the action? That is incredible, I’ll watch this.
Thaivu22 Why is this on the noitaminA block? I thought the purpose of that television block is to broadcast non-Otaku anime.
jGLZA This is an insult to noitaminA, whoever Ordet are, they must have spent a boatload of money to get it there.
Blindability Yeah I didn’t like the OVA either but I’ll probably watch the first few episodes to see if this might be better. Maybe it’ll turn out to be like Tamayura Hitotose for me, where I didn’t like the OVA but really liked the show.
Loba KIV list is so long…
The song isn’t all that great either. Calm down Miku-fans! I like World’s End Dancehall, Rolling Girl, Just Be Friends, and Triple Baka. Please don’t bomb my house; Bomb lygophile’s: he thinks Miku is a auto-tuned mess.
Lygophile Please don’t bomb my house. And Black Rock Shooter is so… strange…

Gokujyo

Unknown Ecchi / Comedy
JAN Trailer: N/A

Kuribayashi Minami returns to Japan after a long stay in Los Angeles. She enters an upper-class girl’s high school “Gokurakuin Jyoshi High School”, so called “Gokujyo”. She tries to dominate the school with her beauty but her plan is spoiled by the silly and pervert behaviors of her eccentric classmates.

Gooney No thoughts to be found here
Thaivu22 Look no further! Here is the Anime of the century!
jGLZA Yup, definitely watching this.
Blindability I think this might actually be the fanservice show of the season.
Loba Huh?
This mirrors US-Japan’s cultural relations between civilians.  The US sees the Japanese as perverted geniuses who out smart them with their superior abilities.  The Japanese are too busy making their own, usual, perverted, silly, brilliant thing called anime to even consider the US’s opinion.
Lygophile Hey, there’s a voice actor by that name.

In closing:

This was  more than just a preview, it was a learning experience. In this one post, we learned that Loba should be the main character of Recorder to Randoseru, Gooney seems to be the only one looking forward to Black Rock Shooter, Thaivu22 found the anime of the century, Vocaloid fans should bomb Lygophile’s house,  Poro has more apathy towards High School DxD than anyone else, Blindability doesn’t know what a “jersey club” is (Shocking right? I thought everyone knew), jGLZA still sings the praises of every sports anime in the world (as long as it’s not Prince of Tennis), and everyone hates Milky Holmes.

But seriously, the season doesn’t look incredible, but it should still be decent nonetheless, with a large variety of genres. We’ll begin our first impressions ASAP, so look out for those.

Here’s hoping that everyone enjoys the season!


18 Responses to “Team Zero’s Winter 2012 Season Preview”


  1. 2 January 2012 at 8:51 am

    So here’s another season. Good job on the preview by the way :).

    It isn’t an amazing season for sure, but it’s not too bad either. Should be a few good shows in the mix.

    On another note, I’m completely behind Thaivu22. We need some hockey anime! Come on Japan give me something. Enough baseball/basketball/soccer, I want my sport.

    Some good shows though. “Another” looks to be interesting, but of course have to wait and see.

    Rinne no Lagrange – I’m always up for more mecha. At least from the trailer the action shouldn’t be bad.

    Inu X Boku SS – Trailer had me curious about it, so will at least have to see how it goes.

    Nisemonogatari – Well enjoyed Bakemonogatari so can’t see why I wouldn’t be enjoying this one. Though I seriously hope Shaft has its act together this time. If I have chunks of an episode where the lips don’t move because they didn’t finish animating in time again…

    Mouretsu Pirates – Good trailer. Guess I can get behind some sci-fi pirates.

    Natsume Yuujin-Chou Shi – Will probably be my favourite anime of this season and probably top 5 or so for the year. Natsume is just quality each and every episode, and don’t expect that to change in this fourth season.

    Amagami SS+ – Well suppose they could use this to make up for the screw-up that was Rihoko’s arc. I mean what a waste to just friend zone the whole thing. And if we have that stupid narrator again…

    Zero no Tsukaima F – They better now screw it up….again. The third season was done so badly my mind can’t even recall it. Still it’s got good material to work with so they just have to get it done right and not go for cheap laughs.

    Papa no Iu Koto o Kikinasai – It will be matching right up against Usagi Drop and probably won’t look good in comparison. Still might check it out.

    Aquarion Evol – No idea since ‘someone’ used C3’s summary instead.

    Black★Rock Shooter – Curious to see how they handle this.

  2. 2 January 2012 at 12:51 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only who doesn’t like horror anime. At Sekijitsu, everyone but Tofu and me are horror nuts. 😦

    Gooney, you’re not the only one excited for BRS. I wish it wasn’t in Noitamina, but it looks really cool. The newest preview sealed the deal. 🙂

    Nice job on the preview. Really clean graphics and easy reading. And funny, too. 😛

  3. 9 RagnaXBL
    2 January 2012 at 8:18 pm

    looking forward to “Another” and “Nisemonogatari”
    from the preview trailer’s “Another” looks pretty good and there definitely aren’t enough horror anime’s these days.i wonder if they’ll ever try actually making horror anime’s scary though, they could learn a thing or two from j-horror’s, not that i’m expecting it to be scary anyway.

    Watched bakemonogatari just recently after i saw the trailer for Kise monogatari actually and it was awesome, there was just somkething so epic about the dialogue in that anime and some very short but awesome fight scenes as well don’t think nisemonogatari will be anything like bakemonogatari, looks more like a comedy/slice of life type thing, but i figured i might as well watch it since bakemonogatari was so awesome and the upcoming movie kisemonogatari amazing as well

    • 10 jGLZa
      2 January 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Yeah really doubt it will be scary at all. Might be a scene or two that gives you the jumps but I think the mystery aspect of the story will be the primary focus.

      Hell if the whole horror part is just that the show is shot in a darker lighting I wouldn’t be shocked at all.

      • 11 Gooney
        2 January 2012 at 10:22 pm

        I’m kind of in agreement that it doesn’t look that scary, but if you watch trailers for silent Hill 2 (oft considered the scariest game of all time) they aren’t that scary, it could surprise us, but that could just be cautious optimism speaking, and I’m just glad to get a new horror anime, what was the last one that aired anyway?

        • 12 blindability
          4 January 2012 at 5:24 am

          IF a seriously scary anime airs, I’m going to make you review it Gooney!

          I would say maybe Shiki was the last “horror-esque” anime (and that creepy little girl in episode 8 is the reason I had to stop watching the show) but then again, I am the girl who couldn’t get past episode 4 of Mirai Nikki because of… Yuno’s secret.

          • 13 Gooney
            4 January 2012 at 8:38 am

            I’ll gladly review any horror you send my way! Anyway, the only things I can think of that have genuinely scared me in recent years was Silent Hill 2 (when you realize the lovecraftian horrors plaguing the protagonist may just represent parts of his fractured psyche, that makes everything exponentially scarier) and Saya no Uta, there’s something about its concept that scares me to no end, I had to take a 2-week break midway through playing it because I just felt utterly crushed.

            I never watched Shiki, I’ve heard good things though.

  4. 8 January 2012 at 4:15 am

    Great winter preview as always. I was a little touched that you rememerbered how much I loved Amagami as a game 😉

    For me, there are a couple of good shows that could turn out good such as Area no Kishi and Another.

    For now, I’m blogging Amagami SS +, Area no Kishi, and (*gasp*) Highschool DxD

  5. 17 elior1
    10 January 2012 at 7:08 am

    just finished watching the first episode of ano natsu de matteru and as expected from the director of onegai twins and onegai teacher he make the characters and all the things in this anime rialistic


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


