13
Apr
12

First Impressions – Jormungand

Black Lagoon is my favourite action show of all time, it’s wonderful blend of extremely well-directed hyper-violence, cynicism, great characters, and humour stemming from a heart of black served to create one of the most entertaining shows I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching. Lord of War is what I consider to be one of the most entertaining films of the last decade, for being an incredibly stylish, yet still human look at the world of arms dealership. You give me an anime that combines those two things the way Jormungand seems to be going, and I’ll go insane with joy.

Jormungand could very easily be called derivative of Black Lagoon, and the comparisons are almost unavoidable if you seen both of them. They’re both action shows dealing with the seedy underbelly of humanity that places large amounts of focus on a group of incredibly interesting protagonists who are far from good themselves, but I can hardly fault Jormungand for doing this, because what it’s done so far, it’s done extremely well. The dialogue is sharp, the action is fantastic, and not a single scene bored me. (The meeting scene with Kroshkin for example, was terrific)

I have very few complaints here, except maybe that the music didn’t seem to commit to any one style and ultimately ended up just OK in all of them (except for the great closer) and that perhaps the stable of characters is a little too large, and I’m worried not all of them will get fleshed out, though even if they won’t, Koko and Jonah seem like they’ll be able to carry a large amount of this series on their own. (Particularly in the hints of Jonah’s backstory, which I’d love to see more of)

So this post is a little short yeah, I’m sorry about that, but there really isn’t much more to say, just that I’d like a little more information as to where the story is headed, as this first episode didn’t give much indication. Apart from that though, this has easily been my favourite first episode of the season, and I can’t wait to see more.

Oh, and whoever made that next episode preview song needs to die.

Will I blog this?

Yep, and I’ll have more to say about subsequent episodes to boot.

12 Responses to “First Impressions – Jormungand”


  1. 13 April 2012 at 4:12 am

    The music was a little strange throughout the episode. The song during the preview of the next episode was one of the worst thing I have ever heard.

    • 2 Gooney
      13 April 2012 at 8:53 am

      Yeah, the music was odd, it starts off with some Middle-Eastern chants, moves into techno, blends that techno with rock, goes entirely rock, and in the preview it turns into weird, really shitty… Something. but y’know, her name IS Koko, and she IS loco.

  2. 13 April 2012 at 4:17 am

    Hey, I actually LOL’d at the preview music. haha

  3. 6 zleihsh
    13 April 2012 at 4:25 am

    I am qouting from JD for the 1st ep plot….

    Koko & co have sold some upgrades to that country’s air­force that puts it on par with its neigh­bours. A rival fac­tion inside the army (the land forces, I think ?) think that’s a bad thing, since this will obvi­ously trig­ger war in the region in short order. So they seized Koko’s ship­ment before it reached the air­force and were going to dis­pose of it. Hence why our team rushed to retake it.

    – Now that Koko has shown that there was a mar­ket for selling weapons in that coun­try, a clue­less rival moved in to get a slice of the pie too. Koko disapproves.

    I do agree that put­ting both of them in the same epis­ode does a dis­ser­vice to both. (I’m not even sure I’ve under­stood the first one right, and the second one is so short it makes the rival look like a moron.) But hey, hope­fully it’s only a prob­lem in this first epis­ode (whose job was to intro­duce the set­ting and the main characters).

    It is not that con­fus­ing if you listen their dialog …… Overall this is a solid 1st ep. I can not wait for next Tue.

    • 7 Gooney
      13 April 2012 at 8:51 am

      Yeah, I think they’ll handle the plotting a little more solidly in future episodes, not that it was bad here, just as you said, it was a bit rushed, but overall I really love what they’re going for here, and like you, I can’t wait for the next episode

      • 8 zleihsh
        13 April 2012 at 11:07 am

        Thank you for the reply, actually, the 2nd, 3rd and 4th paragraph belong to JD, I take no credit for those. However the 1st and last paragraphes are mine……
        Sorry, I did not meant to be picky, I just want to give the right credit to the right person.

        Also, if you have time, DO read the manga. The action scenes/dialogs are very charming, and I will be very happy if the anime follow the manga, It is really well written.

        Also,

        “Why do you sell weapons?”
        “For world peace”

        …………I.. see……did she like to watch the world in a jam?!
        Nevertheless, I am very happy this got animated [jumping around like a maniac ].

  4. 9 zleihsh
    13 April 2012 at 12:32 pm

    Continue my last post,
    ………..Her “world peace” may be true to some level, because due to weapon dealing, the world are kinda stable. Major countries like US, Russian, and China all have nuclear weapon and almost equal land,air,and naval force. If advance weapons are saperated equally then World War III or almost any war will not likely happen……

  5. 15 April 2012 at 11:52 pm

    It looks like I’m one of the few people who didn’t think Jormungand was that similar to Black Lagoon. For whatever reason, this episode was a mix of action and boredom. I think it had something to do with the plot, which may have been introduced too quickly.

    This show so far reminds me of Phantom ~Requiem for the Phantom~, which is a Bee Train show, and all Bee Train shows are terrible.

    I’m still mad that Roberta lost her arm and other appendages in that last arc of Black Lagoon.

  6. 20 April 2012 at 8:36 pm

    i believe we all have the same sentiment about the series’ music…it was rather dull and i don’t know how to feel about it…uhm, wait….i think is really boring 🙂 but one thing that makes up for the boring music is the way that girl holds her guns 🙂

  7. 12 Jabzizi
    1 May 2012 at 5:26 am

    The second my laptop is fixed, I need to watch this…


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


