14
Mar
13

manga: Onepunch Man

blindability penginIt’s not often I write about manga that I read – actually, this is the first time I’ve posted about manga in general. But there’s something about this particular manga – Onepunch Man – that’s work mentioning. I happened upon this manga by accident; it was one of those times where you fly through the entire list of manga offered by one site, stop randomly, and give whatever you land on a shot. Basically, I was bored. And I know I was bored because despite a lack-lustre preview image (I don’t remember which site I was on when I stumbled upon Onepunch Man) and a fairly uninspired summary (basically about a hero who decimates his opponents with a single punch), I still went on to read it. And I’m very glad I did, because Onepunch Man is pretty awesome.

onepunch duo 01

The first thing I noticed was the art. Aside from the fact that it was detailed, articulate, and beautiful, it was also oddly familiar. I racked my brain to remember where I might have seen this style of manga artistry before… and then it hit me: Eyeshield 21. Eyeshield 21 not only cultivated an interest in American football in me, but it aided in my understanding of the game in a general sense; I even went on to watch real matches played by real people afterward. However, this would not have been possible had it not been for the immaculate illustrations, penned by one Murata Yusuke.

onepunch scene 01

Now I know pretty pictures aren’t enough to keep one captivated for even one chapter, nevermind 25, but in my opinion, Onepunch Man is a good read! It’s funny with interesting characters. Sure there are more gags than serious storylines at this point in time, but that’s part of Onepunch Man’s charm; trust me, considering the personality of the main character, if it got too serious… well it would just be weird, and something terrible would likely happen to the entire world.

The manga was started earlier last year, and hopefully it’s got a long way to go. So if you’ve got a minute – or the next time you’re bored – give Onepunch Man a try! It might be a knockout!

(Okay: I retract that pun.)

5 Responses to “manga: Onepunch Man”


  1. 1 Karry
    14 March 2013 at 9:59 am

    “I even went on to watch real matches played by real people”

    Why would you do that ? Or anyone, for that matter. Baseball and USian handball are two of the dullest ball games known to mankind. The only good sport that came from that landmass is basketball, and now even that is pointless to pick up if you are not black.

    • 2 blindability
      14 March 2013 at 11:01 am

      Well… I started watching American football because I found it interesting, and that’s because I had read Eyeshield 21. I’m not a hardcore fan or anything; actually I’m not a real fan of any sports. I’m also not American, so your comment about baseball and basketball are falling on deaf ears. (Or blind eyes.)

  2. 20 March 2013 at 8:23 am

    Dude…the action scenes? Involving the scenery? That took pages and must have took a lot of work. It was like an incredibly detailed flipbook. Kudos to the mangaka for that.

    • 4 blindability
      21 March 2013 at 11:00 am

      YES! The art is absolutely stunning! I’d read somewhere that the series is poking fun at other series, like Dragonball, that take a really long time to tell their story, spending frames and frames upon pages and pages with “motion” images, and no real progression in the plot (or very, very slow progression). Taking the latest chapter (chapter 25) as an example, even though not much happens, each panel is superbly detailed. There’s an astonishing difference between a “filler panel” in Onepunch Man, and oh let’s say Bleach. And quite frankly, I’d much rather enjoy my moments reading Onepunch Man than Bleach these days.

      • 21 March 2013 at 2:43 pm

        I agree that it is parodying other shounen series where it would take ages just to finish a battle whereas Onepunch-man does what he implies. However, the fight when his disciple fights him in the OP image was incredible and caught me off-guard. Imagine him doing seinen work with fighting scenes. Intense. Naruto/Bleach? They’ve gone to crap these days, I say. The plot has taken a nosedive for the worse(if not worst).


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra