02
Jul
09

What makes Pandora Hearts so enjoyable

Because it makes arm-wrestling fabulous!

vlcsnap-70889

This post is mainly just an image dump but there’s some genuine thoughts about Pandora as well. Plus a picture of Alice and who doesn’t want to see more Alice.

Pretty Sharon

These pictures are all taken from episode 12 (the arm-wrestling one if you have a short memory span) and don’t worry for there’s no spoilers at all. Unless pictures of how damn cute some of the women are in this show counts as spoilers.

vlcsnap-70597

With anime like Eden and FMA tossing their weight around, I sometimes forget how much I’m enjoying this show. While each season I may be looking out for what will be the next absolute classic you also need some second tier anime to pass the time and Pandora Hearts can easily hold it’s own against the likes of Cross Game, Hetalia and Guin Saga.

Pretty Echo

I didn’t give this anime much thought at the start of the season due to the fact it was made by Xebec. And yes, the animation is pretty poor quality and you can’t help thinking how good this could look if Madhouse picked up this manga. That’s pretty much my only problem with this series.

Pretty Emily

What makes these pictures so damn awesome is because the characters are so much fun. They play off each other and any new episode brings together two other people to start arguing or bonding or both. I don’t think there’s been an anime since School Rumble have I enjoyed watching character interactions as much as this. Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of Break looking fabulous so you’ll just have to imagine that.

Pretty Alice

But she is the real reas0n I’m watching Pandora Hearts. When it comes to the greatest contractors, Alice beats Hei hands down.


11 Responses to “What makes Pandora Hearts so enjoyable”


  1. 1 scarlet
    3 July 2009 at 12:01 am

    Personally, I think PH is the most underrated series of this season, mainly because it’s Xebec’s >________<

    Ah, but worry not. If they manage to make an open end, with a lot of luck, maybe another better production company will do the animation? Just a small ray of hope xD

  2. 3 July 2009 at 2:07 am

    Yes, highly underrated. Nobody else seems to be talking about this intelligent, amusing show. I think this is an example of a show that has gotten better as it goes along, as opposed to getting worse, which is more common. I don’t even mind the look. I think it fits the subject. And the voice-acting is great, especially Kawasumi Ayako as Alice.

  3. 3 blindability
    3 July 2009 at 4:58 am

    I too enjoy Pandora Hearts, though for some reason I thought no one else did. I’m glad to see that I’m wrong.

    Although, (maybe because I’m a girl …or maybe not) I much prefer Hei as a contractor. It’d be interesting to see who’d win an Eating Contest between the two of them, though.

  4. 3 July 2009 at 5:31 am

    @scarlet

    I seriously seriously doubt it…

    @hashihime

    Actually I think it’s been pretty strong since the start it just took me a while to get used to the animation. Plus it also took me a while to accept that Xebec had actually made a good anime

    @blindability

    I never really liked Hei even if he did have wonderful collerbones 🙂
    Hei would win the eating contest definitely. Alice goes all dewy eyed at the sight of food but she doesn’t actually eat a whole lot. Hei on the other hand eats like a hippo.

  5. 3 July 2009 at 8:45 am

    a lovely drawings… I will watch this anime for sure…

  6. 6 scarlet
    3 July 2009 at 1:29 pm

    There might be a hope you know… They ‘ve showed THAT guy in the OP. If they wanna go for an open end, they’ll go with THAT chapter.

    I agree a lot with your opinion on animes that start nice… and went way past downhill. Yeah. Like for example… Shana, wile it got interesting concepts in the beginning and I was all MEH?! OAO after the second season. Then there’s Naruto and Bleach. They’re only exciting in the beginning nd turn craps soon enough.

    Perhaps Ph’s strategy was to make people had low expectations on it but still got interested then it shows its true color later to those who root for it till the end xD

    I had this talk with some fellow PH fans. We talked about how if PH got an anime remake? Sure we get some better animation rtc but there’s no guarantee that they’ll keep the whole seiyuu and not butcher the godly storyline… I mean it, while Xebec is pretty famous for making horrible anime-original endings, they’re not alone in that route :p

    Anyone here would like to promote PH? xD

  7. 3 July 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Well Madhouse would be the best. They are fantastic at adaptations and have great animation quality. JC Staff are good too but this isn’t their type of thing. Bones have fucking godly animation but they don’t pick up manga series too much anymore. Brains Base are a good studio on the rise. Sunrise or Gonzo would animate it better but would be disastrous for the storyline.

    It’s all idle speculation anyway. Pandora is actually fairly popular believe it or not. I think it’s like the 4th most watched show on MAL for the spring season behind FMA, Eden and K-ON.

  8. 8 scarlet
    4 July 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Ahaha. But Seriously, making a PH remake doesn’t sound very good anymore but I’m still in for a better studio for the second season xD And yes, I’m counting the godly Madhouse and Bones to do it. NO JC Staff, Sunrise and Gonzo though. I know what JC Staff has in mind for Alice’s voice actress *cough*RieKugimiya*cough* Brain Base… while they disappoint me greatly for D.Gray-man, I still like their Natsume so they might be okay. But who knows? Maybe Xebec might get lots of cash when the second season strikes in (IF WE GET ONE) and they will do something like The Third (i heard it’s one of Xebec’s best work in the term of storyline and GRAPHICS)

    Just for your information, right now Xebec is sucking n the fans’s money through their irresistable goodies… Let’s see… PH DJCD with Oz’s xcharacter song in it, lots of extra episode for the first DVD along with some extra mangas from Mochi-sensei, playing cards with PH characters on it, blinder for the extra mangs, DVD box, etc…Ahhhhh, evil Xebec… >_<

    Really?! Funny I hardly see blogs about it… and most forums with "YOur Spring Anime Ranking" threads usually have very few PH and even if they are some of them, they would be bashing it for the GRAPHICS.

    Aw come on, have they ever heard of the saying never judge a book by its cover?

  9. 4 July 2009 at 5:24 pm

    If it was Madhouse you would need GOOD Madhouse because there’s two sides to that studio. LOL at JC staff but to be honest I think she would do a fine job as Alice…just saying, don’t shoot me!

    Every company has to milk their product or else they won’t have any money. A lot of money made on anime is through spin-off prodicts with high percentage profits. The DVD sales cover the cost of prodction mostly. Besides, Xebec are nothing compared to Gainax for milking a project.
    Plus if they are raking in money from this I doubt they’d want lose it to another company. I guess we’ll have to stick with below-par animation for now

  10. 10 Gotank
    23 August 2009 at 10:49 pm

    No no no, no Kugimiya for Alice… I almost broke down laughing as soon as I saw your comment about knowing JC staff’s voice actress choice… My thoughts exactly.

    Kugimiya, while talented, would not fit this sort of character at all. The voice needs to be far darker most of the times. I can’t really imagine a better voice than what we have right now with Kawasumi Ayako’s voice anyways.

    The anime is interesting. OST is very good indeed, and character designs are praise worthy actually. The lacking animation quality is a little unfortunate, as it does drag down the occasional fight scene (ep 2 for example could have been much more exciting). None the less, the story is very complex and attractive.


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra