29
Jul
09

Hetalia Axis Powers episode 27

Or you could call it Hetalia Axis Powers Season 2 episode 1 if you wish. That line is only there for people who decided to google the Season 2 option. From now on it’s just going to follow the numbering from last season. Heck I really don’t see why any place is classing this as a season 2. They didn’t even change the name of the anime so therefore it isn’t a second season. There, end of discussion.

MS Paint FTW!

MS Paint FTW!

Now lets get down to our good old weekly history lessons.

Whut, no pasta?

Whut, no pasta?

With no mention of the fact that this was a second season, this episode still felt slightly like it was returning to the basic Hetalia formula as a sort of re-introduction to the series in case that week long wait meant we had forgotten what this anime was about. Yup, we were back to Italy being absolutely hopeless at everything he does and this time with some historical reasoning to it. Italy sucked miserably during it’s desert campaign during WWII and actually lost battle to armies with no freaking gunpowder! And yes, Germany had to help him out on so many occasions when different countries attacked him, such as sending Rommel into Africa to help him. As for the Bulgaria gag, I think it was pretty obvious what was going on there.

Everyone bow down to Deens amazing ability to constantly re-use animation

Everyone bow down to Deens amazing ability to constantly re-use animation

And what a start to this season (not that this is a new season or anything), I absolutely loved this episode! It stuck to the basic Hetalia formula that made me start watching this series, back to focusing on what the title actually means. BTW if you still don’t know what the title means then you have some serious levelling up to do. It played on the relationship between Germany and Italy again, something that has been building up steadily over the course of the series. In many ways it’s better done than America/England relationship because at no times has it felt like the creators had to force the relationship to make it work. Germany/Italy is the basic straight man vs. wacky character. The tsundere and the idiot, like Nodame Cantabile or this seasons Sora no Manimani. I mean, who didn’t go ‘awwww’ at Germany’s “he’s my only friend”.

Notice the difference from older versions?

Notice the difference from older versions?

Plus there’s a new ending song sung by Germany, who is quite obviously less musically talented than Italy. I doubt they will use this same closing song for the rest of the series. Apparently every character has different character songs so my guess is they’ll use a different one every episode, or maybe spread them out over the rest of the series. Personally i can’t wait for Russia’s version, which will undoubtedly involve the massacring of kitten. Hey stop grinning! As Germany would say, this is all serious business to me!


15 Responses to “Hetalia Axis Powers episode 27”


  1. 1 luffyluffy
    29 July 2009 at 12:21 pm

    YES FINALLY! *glomps* My god, I doitsugasmed when I watched the raw, and the sub made me go “… ;-;”

    I’LL BE YOUR FRIEND GERMAYYYY!!”

    As for out beloved Doitsu’s singing talents… Go on youtube and look up “Hetalia – Ore Wa Doitsu Sei” and “Hetalia – Einsamkeit.”

    Now.

    Germany’s singing voice is even better than Igggggggy’s~ It’s so deep and niceeee…

    Yeah, it’s easy to tell what my nationality is… XD

    Also, YAY SCREENSHOTS! All the chibi-Germany’s made me giggle this episode, though, the random appearances by Bulgaria and Egypt just made me go “HAHAHA, WTF, WHY IS EGYPT IN?” and “… Is that Spain?”

    ._.

    Say… This should make you wtf, America and Kamina share the same voice actor, France and Vash the Stampede are the same, And England and Sasuke are the same.

    AMERICA IS THE SAME AS KAMINA. GURREN LAGANN KAMINA.

  2. 2 luffyluffy
    29 July 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Oh yeah, Italy wasnt bad at everything. That “cleaning the countertops” sequence where Germany is the sexiest housewife ever show’s Italy making pasta… By hand. You know how many hours and hours and grueling hard work it takes to make pasta by hand? Yeah, let’s not go there ):<

  3. 3 Humanity_Cat
    29 July 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Ahhh, good, I had heard that it was coming out on Friday, but I’ll take Tuesday, or Wednesday, or whatever day it is in the world. 😉

    Haha, I loved this episode! I thought they did a great job on it. 🙂

    And it’s funny, I had just watched a few videos on YouTube about the offical alternative endings and then it popped up here…hurrhurr! ^ ^ It’s nice that we’re learning more history…..haha, I actually do learn stuff……

  4. 30 July 2009 at 3:50 am

    I think I’ll leave the new ending songs for when they appear in the series. That way if there’s another episode devoted to Chibitalia at least I get to hear an amazing musical performance by America

    Kamina and America….does not compute…

  5. 5 luffyluffy
    30 July 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Italy is also voiced by Daisuke Namikawa.

    AKA Michal Trinity~

    He’s also Bleach’s Ulquiorra, and Pokemon’s Lucario.

    Heh, Ulquiorra eatting pasta X3

  6. 31 July 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Well, most of the main cast have their own version of “Marukaite Chikyuu” planned (but you can only get them on the DVD’s) but they haven’t been released yet (The only ones avaliable are Italy’s, Germany’s, England’s, Japan’s, America’s, and France’s)

    This episode made me glad that I studied European History last year… it made the Africa joke that much funnier xD

    And as for Germany’s nonexisting musical talent, well, he has is own character CD which you should totally check out… it’s just as amuzing (one of the songs is an ARMY MARCH… IT’S AWESOME)

  7. 31 July 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Oh god I’m sorry, that’s the instromental version… here’s the actual one

    -feels like a moron-

  8. 8 luffyluffy
    31 July 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Let’s not forget that Germany’s holding a puppy! *shot*

    Dont forget Einsamkeit. God, that song is so heartwrenching once you know the lyrics. The name itself, it the German word for Loneliness, and throughout the song, Germany is lamenting how he wants to be able to smile and be carefree but his face looks weird when he laughs and ARG, GERMANY, SO SO UNEXPANTLY MOEEEEE?!

    As for the army march, that’s Ore Wa Doitsu Sei aka I am German-Made. Makes Ludwig sounds like a Naaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaziiii!

    Ah well, he’s my nazi and I freaking love him to bits 😀

    And for his delicious half-brother Prussia, I believe HIS character CD is coming out soon, in which I’m going to die happy of excitement and be reincarnated as one of the many chickies in Gilbert’s hair.

  9. 9 Humanity_Cat
    2 August 2009 at 12:37 am

    I haven’t heard France’s yet….but then again I don’t buy the CDs or anything….haha, I just go to YouTube. Oh gosh…there’s a Prussia one coming out? Five guesses to what his lyrics will be…….. and then going along with the voice actors singing, we can’t forget Romano’s Delcious Tomato Song! (Yo Spain! We’re going to pick a hell of a lot of tomatos this year! *coughjackas**) Ahhh….I love that song! 😉

    (Don’t go after me on lyrics….this is coming from no referance in front of me…)

  10. 10 luffyluffy
    2 August 2009 at 1:10 am

    Whoopsie, I lied, It’s really his DRAMA CD

    But apperently, he sings a song to the people who bought the cd. Have I mentioned… On the cover… HE’S HOLDING A DAISY?!

    It’s a sign that he’s going to deflower someone with his five meters *cough*Germany*cough*

  11. 2 August 2009 at 2:26 am

    But none of these songs have subtitles:(

  12. 12 luffyluffy
    2 August 2009 at 4:31 am

    The answers are only one click away ;D

    The lyrics are floating arond LiveJournal somewhere

  13. 13 Humanity_Cat
    3 August 2009 at 10:38 am

    Oh Prussia… ^^

    Anyways, while I was searching for Hetalia pictures, I accidentally clicked on a screenshot of China and I randomly browsed through the webpage it was one and was interested to find another webcomic similar to Hetalia called Afghanis-tan, which is pretty much Hetalia except about Afghanistan, Pakistan, ect. I did a little research and eventually found a scandelation of the 25+ page webcomic….I read through them, and their okay, but not as good as Hetalia…not as funny…….but it’s interesting that this was actually started quite a few years back……

  14. 14 cutepiku
    17 August 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Yeah, they are suppose to have versions of America, France, China, and Russia singing the theme song coming out in the near future.. you can find a preview of America and France quite easily on youtube.

    Prussia singing kind of made me double-take. If they make Prussia sing.. what other minor characters will get to sing? I’m voting for Canada. Lawls are a guarentee.

  15. 15 Boredom
    25 August 2009 at 12:44 pm

    I wonder how many times he says ore-sama? I was to lazy to count. But come on! Metal Prussia! How is that not amazing?!?!


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra