07
Oct
09

Hetalia Axis Powers episode 37

Has anyone watched ‘Blatent Attempt to Cash In on the Success of Hetalia’ episode 1 yet? Why of course I’m referring to Miracle Train. Why, even I may decide to cash in on the success of Hetalia and make a post solely dedicated to it. No, that’s not this post. This is just your everyday Hetalia episodic post.

vlcsnap-2009-10-06-17h36m24s247

Not that I can have such a thing as a normal Hetalia post. This show just inspires me to start babbling on about the weirdest stuff.

vlcsnap-2009-10-06-17h35m52s153

This was the episode that finally made reference to the Germany/Russia pact of 1938. I believe it was simply called a non-aggression pact, which is an international politicians way of saying we won’t blow your legs off just yet. To be honest, I’m a little bit disappointed by Hetalia on this matter. OK, I still laughed at the panic both countries had at the prospect of meeting each other, but you could do so much more with that area of history. I mean think about it. You have the two evilist men of the 20th century, both of whom hate each other’s guts, meeting together to agree not to start fighting for another 10 years. I hope Hetalia returns to this are of history again because there’s so much more it could have done. Then again, the writer of Hetalia picks some of the most obscure parts of history and Hetalia’ses them into something hilarious, I can’t see them returning to this subject again.

vlcsnap-2009-10-06-17h37m08s175

Much more successful was Hetalia playing off the usual Italy/Germany relationship. This time it’s Italy who’s worried about losing his friend rather than Germany. It’s been a while since Italy took centre stage but yet again it was France who stole the show, what with his ‘just show him your arse’ suggestion along with his fancy bed he slept in while on the phone. France is probably the most under-rated character in the series. He’s sort of the forgotten member of the Allies. England and America usually play off each other, China hangs out with Japan and does other random Asian things and Russia is…well, Russia is just Russia. France doesn’t really have a character to play off. He just works well with anyone and always manages to make me laugh. Hetalia needs more France. So does this post in fact.

vlcsnap-2009-10-06-17h37m53s116

Hurrah for more France. Has anyone typed ‘french military victories’ into google and hit I’m Feeling Lucky? I mentioned this way back around episode 13 but I’m not sure how many of you have read those really old posts so here is a reminder. The result should explain to you why France has been called the ‘Italy of the Allies’.

The return of the trembling trio!

The return of the trembling trio!

Hetalia has been a huge success in Japan, as you can see from the decision to create Miracle Train. How many other personification bishie fests can you create? While countries is a pretty obvious one, picking trains is really damn obscure. What about soft drinks? Oh wait, they already did that with the thoroughly awful Akikan. They could bishi-fie mobile phone manufactures or car companies. How many more do you think we’ll see? Is this the phase anime is going to go through when moe finally dies? Bishies are the new cancer that’s killing the industry…yeah bloody right. If instead of Kampfer we get another Hetalia then I’ll gladly embrace this turn to bishie-hood.


43 Responses to “Hetalia Axis Powers episode 37”


  1. 7 October 2009 at 5:05 am

    “They could bishi-fie…car companies”

    YES!!! Being the huge Japanese car nerd that I am I would be overjoyed at this, though I doubt it’ll happen. Mitsubishi would have to be a jerk playboy who’s always on the edge of bankruptcy, because if anime and live-action Japanese TV have taught me anything, it’s that only jerks drive Lancer Evolutions. Honda would have to be obsessive about details and (almost) only like FFs. Toyota would have to have a cool past but has become boring, even though he tries to convince everyone that he’s not (*cough* MR-S *cough*). Mazda would try to turn everything into a circle since they love rotary engines.

    Miracle Train isn’t the Hetalia of Tokyo train stations though, unfortunately. I watched and posted about it, and it seems more like female fanservice than comedy. Still, I welcome the wave of personification bishi-hood that you mention since moe only worked for me when it was being made fun of or subverted.

  2. 7 October 2009 at 5:13 am

    Yes, France needs more screen time ^^ Huzzah for France!

    I do hope that we get more Stalin-Hitler pact stuff, too, in the next episode, though of course, after the incident of America’s Storage Cleaning that started in one episode and then, three episodes later, was finally returned to and finished, I suppose that if 38 doesn’t have it, 39, 40, or even 41 might.

    Hopefully. Because Russia also needs more screentime.

    BTW, I did google ‘French military victories’ after episode 13. It was rather sad.
    (Did you mean, ‘French Military Defeats’?) XD

  3. 3 luffyluffy
    7 October 2009 at 7:23 am

    We need more Gilbo. NOW DAMNIT.

    Also, did anyone else notice that Italy’s letter was pretty much “LOL, GERMANY, BFFL? BTW UR WURSTS SUCK, ILU BYE”?

    you deserve so much more Ludwig~ ALSO, HITLER SHOWED UP 8D I SEE THAT STASH THERE BABY!!

  4. 4 heyheyho
    7 October 2009 at 9:00 am

    Ohhhhh I’ve seen it.
    It’s laaaaame.
    And I even tried to see the good things, but it didn’t work.
    And its such a ripoff- errr I mean so typical!

  5. 5 heyheyho
    7 October 2009 at 9:03 am

    Oh and-
    YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THE BEST PART OF THESE RUSSIA/GERMANY STRIPS. THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING.
    Believe me.

    If deen decides to make it of course…

  6. 6 heyheyho
    7 October 2009 at 9:07 am

    (Sorry to make MORE spam but…)
    But you could say France belongs to the Bad Friends/Badass/Bad Touch -Trio. (+ Prussia + Spain)= Practicaly the best thing ever.

  7. 7 October 2009 at 11:48 am

    They could actually put two Japanese obsessions together, bishies and food, and make a series in which one bishie personifies sushi, another personifies curry, etc. Cake-bishie could fall in love with Curry-bishie, while Ramen-bishie secretly has a thing for Bento-sama… OK, I’ve officially lost my mind. 😉

    This was a decent enough Hetalia ep. Bringing things back to Germany and Italy always works somehow, and we even got a bit of Romano thrown in there. I like France as well – have you heard his seiyuu’s ending song? That guy can really sing!

  8. 7 October 2009 at 11:51 am

    Whoa – Sorry, didn’t mean to embed a You Tube video on your blog without permission – how did that happen?? I just copied the link for the video, and it turned into an embed(!). Feel free to delete it…

  9. 9 Humanity_Cat
    7 October 2009 at 12:00 pm

    I agree with HeyHeyHo, they play the Russia/Germany pact better, but hopefully it is to be continued in the anime…AND RUSSIA KOLKOLKOL’ed again!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved how when he KolKolKoled at Liet his scarf went up in agitation….lol.

    I found it kind of sad that they finally continued this since like what? The 14th episode or something?I’ve been waiting for it to return and it comes back like 15 strips later…hurr…. -__-

    Gods I wanted to be Belarus….Lithuania is so cute! (sorry, fangirl moment….I want to hug him…..) Hell, what am I talking about? This episode had almost all the Hetalia countries I have a crush on…minus Austria and China…..
    Damnit, did that come out?

    Whoever subbed the video I watched did a terrible job….blah, so I have no idea what the Japanese words said… -__- I’ll have to find another video…for some reason Veoh didn’t come up with anything.

  10. 10 anon
    7 October 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Actually, France is very active in the comics (he did the April Fools thing and the Christmas Rampage special). The anime simply doesn’t cash in on his… uh… well… libido.

    It’s a shame. I wanted to see the “It’s something you do with someone you like!” animated. XD

  11. 7 October 2009 at 7:13 pm

    @ExecutiveOtaku

    You totally out-nerd me when it comes to car companies. All I do is watch Top Gear occasionally. Maybe if they turned the English premiership teams into bishies, then I could join in. Actually I see real potential in that formula. Quick, get me Studio Deen on the line!

    @ksfwolfe

    There’s more of this pact? Hurrah, I really did feel they didn’t explore the numerous comedic possibilities in this episode.

    @heyheyho

    I’m still waiting for Prussia to actually do something in this anime. There’s still another 15 episodes for him to finally show up.

    @Jan Suzukawa

    Ah, personifying food! That’s such an obvious idea, why didn’t I think of it! Quick, get Studio Deen on the line now!

    Don’t worry about the embedded video, loads of other people have done it. I didn’t even know it was frowned upon to do that…BTW, I’ve been deliberatly avoiding character songs for now in hopes that they finally show up in the anime as an impromptu closing song.

    @Humanity_Cat

    Ah so it wasn’t just me, I noticed that problem with the subs too. Normally gg have been excellent at subbing this so maybe it was a troller pretending to be gg.

  12. 12 luffyluffy
    7 October 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Well actually Scampy, theres 3 character songs for each. I’ll use Ludwig: He has Marukaite Chikyuu, Einsamkeit, and I am German-Made! Marukaite Chikyuu, You’ve already heard, Einsamkeit is an emo potato song about how he’s sooo lonely and how no one understands him(All while perfectly accented by his BEAUTIFUL VOICE), and I am German-Made… is a war march. A beautiful delicious NAZI WAR MARCH. ALL ACCENTED BY HIS PERFECT VOICE, SINGING IN GERMAN!! IN GEERMAN!!

    Let’s see… Italy has Let’s Boil Hot Water! and Romanos Delicious Tomato Song(If you listen to no other, listen to this one~), Germany has I am German-Made and Einsamkeit, Japan has Country from Where the Sun Rises, Jipangu and Excuse me, I am sorry, England has Absolutely Invincible British Gentleman and Pub and GO! and France has…. Embrace the Tres Bien Moi and Paris is Indeed Splendid.

    *headdesk*

  13. 13 Humanity_Cat
    7 October 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I haven’t listened to the charactersongs…I keep meaning to, but I haven’t gotten the chance yet….oh, well I have listened to Germany’s march song and the Delicious Tomato Song….heehee.

    ~Scamp

    Oh…I thought I had just chosen a bad video…damn, well I’ll have to search for a different one tonight. The words were really small (for somereason I couldn’t view fullscreen… -__-) and they never subbed the words…..>.<

  14. 14 heyheyho
    7 October 2009 at 11:38 pm

    THEY WILL NEVER PUT THE CHAR. SONG IN THE ANIME. NEVER.

    *cough*
    Anyone have heard the new France char. song?

    If you make work a SEX SCENE in the middle of a song YOU KNOW IT’S GOOD!

    YEAH I’m talking about the PARIPARAPARIPAPARI PARIPAPAREDOOOOOO

    And the other one is… um I don’t know, I guess I’ll like it better when I get to know what’s he’s saying.

    http://www.horror-vacui.net/hetarchive/index.php?audio

    Here are all the songs and translations, but I hope the entries aren’t member-locked…

  15. 15 Chez
    8 October 2009 at 12:40 am

    Hahaha….nice episode 🙂
    Russia KOLKOLKOL indeed scarry…
    Hurrah for France..best advice ever
    Yay Belarus was mentioned by Liet, wonder what will happen to their date?

  16. 16 luffyluffy
    8 October 2009 at 5:54 am

    Both of France’s songs suck, to be honest. Atleast the broadway one is damned catchy(Even England was singing it, posted it as his status on facebook~) But other than that… lame~

  17. 17 sesquipedalian
    11 October 2009 at 5:05 am

    I just watched Miracle Train. It sucks- every train character looks like it was based on a character from Hetalia.

    Loved the blog, but I think that some of the sketches weren’t as funny as other episodes…

  18. 18 luffyluffy
    11 October 2009 at 8:32 am

    …. I enjoyed it, DONT HURT ME *cringes*

    I… I like Shinjuku… T-That loveable France clone~

  19. 19 blissfullynaive
    11 October 2009 at 7:01 pm

    i saw the raw version, liek, really early. and then i watched the subbed a day (or more) late. and then i’m late at commenting here. 😥

    i really like this episode because of France, Russia’s kolkolkol (and the 3 Baltics), and Italy’s.. uhm, weirdness. xDDD

    the subs in this one is not that good though. 😦

    Oh, and don’t worry. There’s more to this Germany/Russia Pact in the strips. I hope Deen will animate it. (i can’t wait for the faucet part!)

    And true. France is sooo underrated in the anime. He’s sooo funny in the strips. But i guess, because they needed to tone his “character” down, all the funniness decreased.

    @that train thingy: i actually saw a picture of it a couple of months ago. I googled it and well.. i dunno. It didn’t interest me that much. Although i might give it a chance once sembreak kicks in. But for me right now, Hetalia all the way~!

    @character songs: i love most the songs, especially Buono Tomato (catchiest of them all!!!!) and France’s songs. I love how he keeps praising Paris hahahaha. And he does have a wonderful voice. I dunno.. i like it.

    THEY NEED TO SHOW POLAAAAANNNDD!!! Please Poland. ;___;

  20. 11 October 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Yikes, I haven’t responded to comments in ages! Right, lets get down to business!

    @luffyluffy

    I’ve never been that interested in the character songs myself bt it’s clear that many of my readers are hugely interested in this topic. Hmm…that gives me an idea for the next post.

    @Humanity_Cat

    gg used to allow comments on their site but when people kept posting stupid comments they discontinued that feature. Which is a shame because that’s the only way I know how to communicate with the subbers and tell them when one of their jobs were below par

    @heyheyho

    The only anime I’ve ever seen where they put character songs in it was Seto no Hanayome so I guess you’re right with that one

    @Chez

    Ah, you’re chez, the girl from MAL! Sorry, lots of names makes it hard to remember who’s who

    @sesquipedalian

    I still haven’t watched Miracle Train yet myself. I think I might just so I can make a post to say how terrible it was

    @blissfullynaive

    The thing is, everyone likes France but nobody has him as their favorite character. The comments on this post has proven that everybody secretly loves the guy

  21. 21 heyheyho
    12 October 2009 at 1:00 am

    @Scamp

    Wait WAIIIIT

    France IS my favourite character, right next to Russia.
    And then Italy.

    And the others…

  22. 22 blissfullynaive
    12 October 2009 at 3:08 am

    Well, i like a bunch of characters. I really can’t point down one character. Well, prolly two.. China and Russia. But then, lots of characters would then pop in my mind. And i feel guilty with just mentioning just two. lol xD (With Hetalia, i can mention 5+ fave characters. And i can’t rank them properly OTL)

    France is awesome. His pervy ways are funny. His oniichan aura comes out funny. His role in History becomes funny. And he’s cool too. With a rose to boot. xDDD

    His seiyuu sings really well, and has this voice that girls would like to hear. *laugh xD

    I won’t ever forget France’s April Fool’s day strips and that Christmas Blood bath. xDDD

    (again, i want Poland to appear next episode! T__T huhu)

  23. 23 luffyluffy
    12 October 2009 at 3:09 am

    Next episode is Deff more G-R Nonagression Pact, btw. I checked the website 8D

  24. 24 blissfullynaive
    12 October 2009 at 3:18 am

    Well, maybe they wouldn’t really use the whole 5min for the G-R pact. And Poland’s part at that strip is liek.. half way or sth. So i think Poland won’t make any screentime right? D:

    *is still hoping Poland will show up in the next following episodes* xD

  25. 25 Humanity_Cat
    12 October 2009 at 3:22 am

    I think Polands showed up like once in the first episode, lol. Russia, China, and Austria are my favorites personally. 😉

  26. 26 luffyluffy
    12 October 2009 at 3:26 am

    Tbfh, Poland pissed me off~ He has this deep ass voice, AND HE’S SUPOSSED TO BE A VALLY GIRL!! >___<

    As for my favorites… GERMANY, GERMANY, GERMANY. GIVE ME YOUR BABIES DEUTSCHLAND!!

    Germany, Prussia, Sealand, Sweden, Canada, Latvia, France, and Denmark~

  27. 27 Humanity_Cat
    12 October 2009 at 3:30 am

    Yeah I know…they totally got his voice wrong! *steams*

    Lol, we’re totally spamming this post…. XD

  28. 28 heyheyho
    12 October 2009 at 4:16 am

    @blissfullynaive
    Poland’s anime models appeared in a special of an anime magazine that was published this month.
    I heard the audio of tomorrow’s episode, he won’t show up. The next after that will probably be the battle for america strips.(YAY FIN AND SU-SAN)
    But Poland will definately appear, that proves it!

    You know what, just see it here:
    http://maplecake.livejournal.com/1111.html#cutid1
    XD

  29. 29 luffyluffy
    12 October 2009 at 4:31 am

    DAT POSTER ❤ ❤ ❤

    OH BAD TOUCH TRIO, HOW I LOVE YOU~

    Full poster, OH LUDWIG~

  30. 12 October 2009 at 5:21 am

    @Humanity_Cat

    Spam away. It makes my posts look even more popular the more comments I have

  31. 31 Humanity_Cat
    12 October 2009 at 10:46 am

    Lol Scamp! XD

    Nice poster! Prussia’s all like, I love you so much brother that I don’t even know that I’m embarrassing you and killing you! FTW Prussia! XD

  32. 32 luffyluffy
    12 October 2009 at 10:48 am

    I love SPAIN teasing Ludwig too XD

    And how France is just in the back checkin out Prussia’s ass XD

  33. 33 blissfullynaive
    13 October 2009 at 3:18 am

    Yeah, Poland showed up in ep 1. And his voice was quite deep, i agree. But i’d still love to see him in the anime. Liek, omg, that would still be totally awesome, imo~. xD

    Yeah, i saw the scans from that magazine. I forgot if that was Pash magazine.

    I’ve already watched the raws too. Looks like the battle for America strips, indeed. ^^
    yay more Finland. Finland’s seiyuu was Rolo’s seiyuu and is Jun’s (from SZS) seiyuu too, so i ❤ finland xD

    I want to see more Belarus, Liet, Poland, and Sealand, btw. .__.
    Oh, and Shinatty-chan!!! D:
    I wonder if Shinatty-chan will make an appearance.

    oh, and more Russia would be fine too. And France. 😀

    Ah~ The Bad Touch Trio with Prussia’s little brother haha. xD

    On a totally different note, i’m really feeling sad that Korea didn’t manage to get into the anime. I was showing my friend some Korea strips and i can’t help but laugh again while reading it. He’s sooo funny and such an amusing character, it’s such a shame he won’t get animated. Ever. 😦
    *Byung Hun pose*

  34. 34 Humanity_Cat
    13 October 2009 at 8:29 am

    He is quite a character…it probalby has something to do with angry Koreans….lol, don’t flame me.

    Haha, that would be funny to see Shinatty-chan….hurrhurr

  35. 35 Chez
    13 October 2009 at 9:33 am

    NOO…i not a girl….i’m a guy lol
    Just bcoz my MAL username is quite girly, it doesn’t mean that i’m a girl
    That name was my favourite character from Gintama…Kagura
    Nevermind….maybe you misunderstood that name either…

  36. 13 October 2009 at 7:49 pm

    @Chez

    Sorry…I tend to assume everyone other than me who watches Hetalia is a girl

  37. 37 Humanity_Cat
    14 October 2009 at 6:28 am

    *Shakes head* THere you go again Scamp…upsetting half the male Hetalia posters on the blog….tsktsk

  38. 38 luffyluffy
    14 October 2009 at 6:29 am

    Hey hey, my boyfriend watches Hetalia, and he’s a guy!

    or IS HE?!

  39. 14 October 2009 at 6:32 am

    I know, I’m terrible. The thing is that there is no sex on the internet…actually theres a lot of sex. What I mean is there’s no gender.

    I’m a guy BTW. Hope I’ve made that clear by now

  40. 40 Humanity_Cat
    14 October 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Nice phrasing Scamp….

    And darn, you’re a guy? *sigh* I guess I can’t talk to you about makeup now….

  41. 41 blissfullynaive
    14 October 2009 at 5:10 pm

    i lol’d at that. xDDD

    Well, it is hard to determine the genders here in teh interwebs.
    But i try to know based on how the person types his/her messages.

    Oh, and i’ve influenced another male friend (again) to watch Hetalia. He likes history and is amused on how Hetalia presents stuff from History. Yayz ;__;

  42. 17 October 2009 at 4:51 am

    Character songs…I want a link for those!

    BTW, I found this random thing on Youtube. I have no idea what they’re yammering about, but you can recognize the voices and just hearing Italy’s PASTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA is worth it.

  43. 43 luffyluffy
    17 October 2009 at 5:36 am

    Here, I’ll list you~

    Italys: Let’s Boil Hot Water! and Romano’s Delicious Tomato Song
    Germanys: Einsamkeit and I am German-Made!
    Japans: Excuse me, I’m Sorry. and Country from where the Sun Rises, Jipangu
    Englands: Pub and GO! and Absolutely Invincible British Gentleman
    Frances: Embrace the Tres Bien Moi! and Paris is Indeed Splendid
    Americas(Come out November 25th): HAMBURGER STREET and W.B.C~World Dancing~
    Russias: Come out January 20th
    Chinas: Come out March 24th


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra