28
May
07

Weekend in Kota Kinabalu

So it has been a week since my trip to Kota Kinabalu (Sabah) with my family. It was my first trip there, so I was not really sure how Kota Kinabalu would really look like. For starter, I had the chance to visit Sabah during matriculation before but my dad refrained me to do so as he promised to bring the whole family there. Considering that I will get financial backing from my parents, I don’t mind to wait. But if I had known my dad better, he will always fulfill his promises after a long period of time. This promise he made to me nearly two years ago. Now that’s long. Same goes with my laptop, our home PC and other stuff he promised me.

Terminal Two KKIAArrived in Kota Kinabalu Anyway upon arrival, I was impressed of how beautiful Sabah is – this is judged from the aerial view of the city. At touchdown, I noticed Terminal One of Kota Kinabalu International Airport (KKIA) is a old rundown airport but is currently undergoing upgrading constructions. Our Airasia flight destination however is Terminal Two of KKIA – Sabah’s own Low Cost Carrier Terminal (LCCT). It looks very close to what we have in LCCT-KLIA, only smaller and somehow looked a little more modern. Then I realized the terminal is not passenger-friendly. There was not path or lane for the passengers to move from the plane into the terminal, unlike LCCT-KLIA that provides roofed pathway for the passengers. What’s worst is that it was about to rain at that time. What a letdown. Also as I had predicted, the interior of Terminal Two looked similar to Miri Airport and other airports constructed by Global Upline (as owned by Dato’ Ting Pek King). To the least, it looks comfortable and fully facilitated.

Terminal Two KKIATerminal Two, Kota Kinabalu International AirportSabah really gave me a good first impression. I was impressed of how beautiful and well planned Kota Kinabalu city is. For the record, Kota Kinabalu (KK) was declared its city status on the year 2000. 7 years passed and development is going well in KK. This made me rather disappointed with Kuching, which lacked proper development despite declared as city earlier on 1989 (if I am not mistaken). However nothing prepared me for the shocking truth about KK. Camouflaged by brisk modernization is the small size of the city centre. Even Miri city is bigger than KK. In fact, KK is back boned by only three main roads. The city develops along these roads. One good thing about this though is that all the main shopping malls of KK are all in walking distance. That equals to saving up the taxi fares. From one end is Wisma Merdeka, then to KK Plaza, then next to Centrepoint that is only opposite of Warisan Square (the latest mall in KK), and at the other end is Plaza Wawasan (Parkson is the main tenant of this mall).

KK PlazaKK Plaza

Le Meridien HotelLe Meridien Hotel and Warisan Square in the backgroundKK is also beautiful and scenic. Facing the South China Sea with overlooking islands, the view of the city seaside is breath-taking. But the sea has an unbearable stench. In regards to this, people always commented that many Filipinos and other illegal immigrants can be seen in KK, along with low level of cleanliness plus the rubbish scattering all around. Well I don’t see such sight. There were not many immigrants in KK and the city is reasonably clean. For me, Kuching city is cleaner, probably the cleanest in Malaysia. Nonetheless the waterfront of KK is spectacular, though more could be done. They should emulate the scenic Kuching Waterfront.

Scenery from KKThe view from the seafront of Kota Kinabalu

Scenery from KKMaze network of pedestrian bridge Among all the malls, Warisan Square is definitely my favourite. The obvious reason is not because it is new, but because it has the only Starbucks Coffee ever be found in the whole of Borneo. That’s right, Starbucks addict from Borneo. If you ever need an adequate dose excellent ice blended coffee (hazelnut mocha…), head over Warisan Square in KK. Another reason is my favourite clothing boutique is also there – Padini. Even better, it is a Padini Concept Store in Warisan Square. To my delight is a Quiksilver store nearby. I also like Quiksilver products but limited to their pants and flip-flops. In fact, other mid-range clothing label can be found in Warisan Square – Esprit, Island Shop and Salabianca. It didn’t matter. Starbucks and Padini are all that I need. So I got myself a great coffee (of course) and a new pair of jeans. But the spending spree did not stop there.

Warisan SquareWarisan SquareWe had visited Centrepoint, which is located behind Warisan Square. Coincidentally, Sony Fair was also held. I checked on the digital camera corner. Nearly got myself a new camera there but I contemplated with my decision. I dropped my intentions. I did not leave Centrepint empty-handed anyway. Got myself a new wallet. The next day, we headed to Plaza Wawasan. I shopped at Parkson and also made an unexpected purchase of a new watch. At this point, I have spent quite a fortune here. But what comes next left me jaw-dropped. My dad bought me a new digital camera – Nikon Coolpix S200. Not exactly what I had in mind but it fits the budget. Finally a digital camera of my own. After 36 hours of shopping and exploring around KK, we rested for our departure the next day. We never knew that we really needed that rest.

CentrepointInside Centrepoint, while Sony Fair was ongoingWe checked out quite late as we had an early breakfast. We left the hotel about 7.15 am while our MAS flight is 8.15 am. One hour to go. We rushed by taxi to the airport. I was surprised to see the state of the airport. I understand that the airport is under going reconstruction but it was simply hideous and not pleasant. We checked in just in time, not without a warning by the check-in officer. He told us to be aware of the 45 minute period for passenger check-in but he let us go. When we headed towards the departure hall, our names were announced by the airport authorities to proceed to the gate immediately. Heck! We were still stuck at the immigration counter. I rushed to the plane – my folks were behind me. I entered the plane and I felt that as though everyone inside the plane were waiting for us. Thought of a VIP or some sort. Thankfully the plane was not full, so I could ease myself despite the tensed moments earlier. Finally after one hour, we have reached home once again.

Terminal One KKIAThe shabby condition of Terminal One KKIA Not to forget are my goodies from KK. I came to me that I spent well a lot for a weekend trip. Well it’s worthwhile. Overall KK is a must-visit city, probably not for the shopping or night scene. KK (or Sabah by whole) is a wonderful place to be when it comes to culture and natural wonders. I am committed that I will climb Mount Kinabalu when I return to KK once more.

My new digital cameraNikon Coolpix S200

Other new stuffNew wallet, new watch


6 Responses to “Weekend in Kota Kinabalu”


  1. 1 Leen
    6 August 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Was searching around for info on shopping in KK and came into this. Thanks dude!! Padini is great eh!!

  2. 2 Jann
    20 August 2008 at 10:54 am

    was also searching for shopping in KK and found your blog.. useful information, i plan to stay at Radius International just above Warisan Square for the convenience to all the shopping malls.

  3. 3 Yen
    20 December 2008 at 1:25 am

    I just visited KK last week, i didnt get to go to the warisan square..what a pity! But my friends and I managed to grab a cab to Borneo Mall. I think everyone should try there, got almost every brands- Padini(my favourite), starbuck, addidas, Mango, quicksilver, Bodyglove! This time of the month is on sale, so we got a great time shopping!!

  4. 4 KTG
    26 May 2010 at 3:53 am

    I had been there in March 2010 Really a very nice place especially Borneo 1 Mall, Nexus Resort, Karamun singh Mall, Sutra Resort etc. etc. I also went to KKIP

  5. 5 Shamin nadiah
    5 April 2012 at 6:55 pm

    Hi, I am a KK-ian 🙂 Stumbled upon your blog and Thankfully u like kk enuf:) Well, the airport KKIA is now superb looking, and if u have time, u might come and get a taste of places like at the tip of borneo, kundasang, sipadan etc. I myself love having trips with my family every year within sabah. Have a nice day!!

  6. 24 May 2015 at 5:24 pm

    There are hundreds of different cameras available today as technology increases and cameras are made with specific features for specific uses.
    Thus, it becomes clear from the above discussion that
    buying a projector at an affordable rate is no more difficult now.
    A little later that evening when my buddy and I were enjoying the game I
    decided to change the channel.


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra