17
Oct
09

Hetalia Axis Powers episode 38

Been a bit of a hectic few weeks on the blog, what with the new season, first impressions, new writers and the entire about page being updated. Bokutachi no Blog is back to being a proper team blog once again. But I’ll never stop blogging Hetalia so don’t worry there.

vlcsnap-2009-10-17-15h58m51s217

How could I stop blogging Hetalia? There would be fangirl (and boy, apparently Hetalia has more male fans than I realised) outrage.

vlcsnap-2009-10-17-16h00m12s12

Before I get into the episode, I’d like to talk a little bit about Miracle Train. I watched the second episode of it in my anime club in University (the guys in that club apparently haven’t heard of that wonderous invention known as deodorant) and it’s absolutely dreadful. I was slightly planning on devoting a post to how awful it was and calling it ‘blatant attempt to cash in on the success of Hetalia episode review’ but the thing is the game it’s based off was made before Hetalia was. So in fact instead of Miracle Train copying Hetalia, Hetalia was making fun of stuff like Miracle Train. Besides, Miracle Train isn’t even a comedy. At least, not intentionally so. I did still laugh at lines like ‘he reached deep inside her’.

vlcsnap-2009-10-17-16h00m33s252

Back to the episode at hand, it appears that the new scenario to make new gags from is the G8 summit (which China never attends). Personally I prefer Germany’s training regime. You know, the one where he yells ‘NUMBERS’ at the start. For some reason that always made me grin, even after the 5th time it happened. What I found lulz worthy in this episode was the fact that Sealand had disguised himself as Canada to get in. Think about that for a second. Sealand: teeny weeny island that England left in the middle of the ocean because he didn’t really care about it. And Canada: the second biggest fecking country in the entire world. Does not compute.

vlcsnap-2009-10-17-15h59m20s4

The other half of the episode was dedicated to the Axis of Steel aka: Germany and Italy. On the surface if felt a lot like fangirl fodder to watch Germany and Italy being all cute and stuff. However it was watching this strip that what Hetalia does to history really hit me. The Axis of Steel, the combination of the two most powerful fascist nations, agreeing to attempt to conquer the world together. This was at the very brink of WWII and the great war was inevitable. And yet Hetalia turns this entire thing into a moe moment between two bishies. It’s truly extraordinary the level of bastardisation of history that occurs in  “>Hetalia. That’s the difference between Hetalia and Miracle Train. Miracle Train takes aspects of each train station and plays it straight, Hetalia turns the entire subject of history into such a level of farce, removing all levels of tension that the scene it’s depicting had. And I love it. It may not be consistent but I love that idea that’s at the very heart of Hetalia.

vlcsnap-2009-10-17-15h58m37s76

Hetalia is entering it’s final quarter now and I’m not only going to miss watching it, but really miss blogging it as well. So I’ve come up with a bunch of ideas for random Hetalia centric posts before the end. Now I’ve noticed from the comments that you lot seem to love listening to character songs. I’ve never had any real interest in character songs whatsoever so I’d be a terrible person to turn to write a post about them. So instead I’m asking you lot. Would any of you like to be a guest writer for the blog for one post? Specifically one about Hetalia character songs. If you are interested, send me an e-mail at 5camp _at_ live _dawt_ ie (hah, try figure that one out spambots).

Position filled. Good luck to you luffy 🙂


39 Responses to “Hetalia Axis Powers episode 38”


  1. 18 October 2009 at 12:30 am

    Miracle Train had a game??? o_o since when?

    I think Hetalia has already been around as a webcomic years before (around 2006 or 2007 I guess x_X), but I like the idea of Hetalia making fun of MT xD I don’t hate MT thought. Hehe.

  2. 2 heyheyho
    18 October 2009 at 1:09 am

    I love that about Hetalia, too~

    I’ve never pay attencion to any character song before, either, but the Hetalia ones are…
    nghhhh… I dunno, don’t suck at all.
    Maybe because they’re mainly pure epic crack. And have the music from each country and everything.I like all that stuff.

    I hope someone responds your adverticement XD

    Oh and: The next episode is going to be based in a strip with so much awesome stuff that everyone is gettin’ excited.
    But then Deen puts something totally unrelated at the beggining.
    And I bet you won’t like IT.
    Just wanted to tell you thet just ignore the beginning, because the rest is great and different.

  3. 3 blissfullynaive
    18 October 2009 at 1:36 am

    I find it funny that Sealand tried to sneak in the G8 meeting. He really wants to be recognized as a country. xDDD Sealand’s actually one of the characters i want to see more. I dunno.. i really went “awwwww~” on his first appearance. :3
    but i still want to see Poland. He’s epic in the strips

    That’s what i like about Hetalia too. It simplifies History stuff oh so much. hahaha xDD

    Hmm.. Miracle Train eh? I might watch the first two episodes during sem break (which is like a week away). I hope it has substance.

    @heyheyho: Hahahaha.. yeah, Scamp should totally ignore the first part. xDDD
    i actually find it cute, but.. weird and off. I mean, it’s quite random xD. But still cute.

    The rest of the next episode is great, i agree~! :DDD
    i like young France hahaha

    As for this season, i think they’ll surprise the fans at the end with a season 3 announcement. I mean, they posted character images in this magazine was it Pash?. And it included Poland, Belarus, young UK, and a bunch of other character designs we haven’t seen in the anime.

    So here’s hoping they’ll announce Hetalia season 3. And broadcast it right after season2.

    As for your invitation, hmm.. i’m not that confident with my writing skills (and how i’ll critic it) ^^”. So i’ll pass, atm. but who knows, i might get an inspiration and email you hahahaha

  4. 18 October 2009 at 4:51 am

    The moment ‘Canada’ announced himself so loudly I suspected something was up…Canada is just not that assertive.

    China isn’t even in the G8, right? What Russia’s weird obsessed with him? Commie budz? O.o

    I’m sad that the season is coming near it’s end…here praying Deen decides to go ahead with a third season…

  5. 5 heyheyho
    18 October 2009 at 5:00 am

    A third season out of nowhere would be GLORIOUS.

    @blissfullynaive:
    Trap! France is the greatest thing ever for some reason.

    “cute but.. weird and off.” Is the best explanation for that insert I could think of. XD

  6. 6 Humanity_Cat
    18 October 2009 at 6:30 am

    Alrighty, I’ll get down to my boring post!

    I loved how during the Pact of Steel scene right before it when Germany was telling Italy that he wouldn’t forget him after Russia and he looks so……dreadfull…lol. Well, maybe not dreadfull, but he looked like he would regret it later.

    (Quote from ksfwolfe)
    ‘The moment ‘Canada’ announced himself so loudly I suspected something was up…Canada is just not that assertive.’

    Haha, when I first heard Canada say ‘here’ (or whatever) I thought he was really China in disguised to attend the meeting….hey, China’s pretty short, sooo….But Sealand’s so funny! ‘Don’t pull out my hair! My dad did that for me!’ …isn’t England his dad…..or maybe he was referring to Sweden, haha.

    (Quote from ksfwolfe)
    ‘China isn’t even in the G8, right? What Russia’s weird obsessed with him? Commie budz? O.o’

    I believe not…whenever they have the G8 meetings I never see China….and on this one list in deviantArt I saw China was not listed. I thought it might have been a typo or something, but this comfirms my suspicion that the country of China was not involved in the meetings.

    As to Russia’s weird obsession with China…..do you guys remember waaaayyyyyy back to like the first ten episodes when they were *continuously* stranded at the beach? And this one time Germany draws a diagram in the sand showing all the countries feelings/relationships towards eachother…or at least the Allies… So if I remember right, the relationship between Russia and China was that Russia wanted China….most likely for communist reasons and something else that I’m blanking on right now. But yes, China was a communism country during that time….actually, the country just celebrated 60 years of communism about a week ago or so.

    Ah, a third season would be absolutely wonderful……I’m sure that they have gained quite the attraction from doing Hetalia Axis Powers. Not to say that if they have no third season anime fans will lose interest in Deen…well, maybe.

    I actually haven’t listened to the character songs other than one of Germany’s and both of Italy’s…haha. I am considering your proposition, but I’m not sure. Between homework and my poor writing skills, I’m pretty sure it would be very good, ahaha. But I’ll try and think of other reasons to keep blogging about Hetalia even if the season ends. 😉

  7. 18 October 2009 at 1:31 pm

    This was a fun episode. There’s nothing better than both Canada and Sealand being in an episode, with the exception of SEALAND-KUN ACTUALLY PRETENDING TO BE CANADA. Epic!

    @ksfwolfe
    Russia crushes on/is obsessed with China. In the China-Japan history episode (ep 17? not sure), Russia is disguised in a panda suit and approaches China on the street. Not sure what part of history this alludes to (have Russia and China ever been connected to each other in any way?).

    @Humanity_Cat
    I think England is Sealand’s older brother. England’s human name is Arthur Kirkland and Sealand is listed in official Hetalia stuff as “Peter Kirkland, age 12.” Don’t know who Sealand’s dad is, though…

    Yes, the next ep looks like little feral America is about to get discovered… woo hoo!

    @Scamp
    I’m a yaoi/BL/bishie kind of fangirl, so I already have my eye on watching at least a few episodes of Miracle Train. I’m not expecting it to be Shakespeare or anything too profound. 😉 Bishies as trains?/train stations?/Tokyo neighborhoods? – too odd to be missed.

  8. 8 blissfullynaive
    18 October 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I didn’t really burst out laughing at the Sealand G8 part because i’ve read it in the strips already. But i still laughed, of course. Sealand’s sooo cute. 🙂

    And Sealand was sneaking in the G8 because he want the other countries to acknowledge him or sth. xDDD When he spoke, it was quite obvious from his voice that he wasn’t Canada (His speech pattern “desu yo” is a dead give away, too xD). But it was funny that they didn’t recognize him right away, not after he said “Igirisu yaro!” (Jerk/Bastard England. Which is what he calls England all the time). I lol’d when the sub said “faggot” hahahaha. I think that was too much.

    And yes, his dad is Sweden. Deen didn’t animate it chronologically right again. I guess it’ll be explained/shown later. England is his brother, since well, England did make/found him during the World War. xD

    As to Russia’s obssession with China.. well, he wants his neighbors to be one with him right? 😀

    Something about the USSR times, me thinks. Where he took some parts of China. Even France and England had a piece of China’s land at that time too. (correct me if i’m wrong though)

    There are still a lot of funny strips that they should animate!!!! More funny characters (Poland, Sweden, Prussia, Hungary, etc) I hope for a season 3 too. 😀

  9. 9 blissfullynaive
    18 October 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Oh, and i forgot.

    @heyheyho: Trap!France is the best, i agree. Thank you for reminding me. xDDDD

    Although young!France is quite win too. Wait, anything about France is win. xDDD

  10. 10 luffyluffy
    18 October 2009 at 2:17 pm

    I… I… S-Scamp.. if the position’s already been filled.. Nnnn, M-May I? I’ve never done something like this before, but I’m sure I’ll do a good job for Hetalia!

  11. 11 blissfullynaive
    18 October 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Yay~! 😀

    I’ll be cheering for luffyluffy-san, the first one who took up the challenge~! 😀

    Ganbatte~!

  12. 12 luffyluffy
    18 October 2009 at 11:28 pm

    S-So I guess apperently I’m writting the guest post! T-Thank you Scamp~!

  13. 18 October 2009 at 11:47 pm

    @Sapphire Pyro

    I double checked that and apparantly it’s not a game, it’s based off a web-manga and novel. Plus it isn’t even that old. So it did actually copy Hetalia. I guess that random forum user was wrong all this time!

    @heyheyho

    Oh dear…a chibitalia-esque sketch? Hmmm….stay tuned for a mini rant?

    @blissfullynaive

    A third season announcement? I find that doubtful, mainly due to the fact they announced the movie. But then again it’s been such a hit for Deen for so little production costs without even the cost of a TV slot, it makes perfect sense to continue this cash cow. Plus consider the amount of material they haven’t used. Actually, a third season announcement wouldn’t be that big of a shock. I’m never going to get to finish blogging Hetalia am I?

    @ksfwolfe

    I was too busy with my startling revalation about what made Hetalia what it is that I was too distrated to notice that Canada was not exactly acting according to character.

    @Humanity_Cat

    The Russia/China thing has left me a bit confused too. I’m assuming it has something to do with communism…actually I’ve just had a brainwave! No wait I haven’t it’s gone…does China attend the G8 meetings in real life? Does it boycott them or something? I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

    @Jan Suzukawa

    Canada + Sealand. I got to think of a better combo than that. Hmmm….Frace and Russia maybe? Don’t see those two together that much

    @luffyluffy

    Yup, you have the position. Good luck 🙂

  14. 14 Humanity_Cat
    19 October 2009 at 12:01 am

    Oh, the position’s already filled? Hurr, oh well. Congrats Luffy! I look forward to you post! ^ ^

    Okay, that makes sense that he’s Sealand’s older brother. But I think Sweden and Finland are his adoptive parents. Kind of like Hong Kong.

    (Quote from Blissfullynaive)
    ‘Something about the USSR times, me thinks. Where he took some parts of China. Even France and England had a piece of China’s land at that time too. (correct me if i’m wrong though)’

    I think you’re right….I think remember a strip on that, but I don’t remember the time frame. But I do think it was because of the USSR…plus, two of the largest countries, together? 😉

  15. 15 Humanity_Cat
    19 October 2009 at 12:03 am

    ~Scamp

    Well I don’t think China attends/ed the G8 meeting in real life….but I wouldn’t trust my word. Give me a few minutes for some research.

  16. 16 Humanity_Cat
    19 October 2009 at 12:15 am

    Ahhh, so I looked on Wiki (I know, but for quick info it’s pretty damn good enough) and this is what I’ve found.

    The G8, formed by France’s government, was created and includes the eight richest countries in the world, as follows: France, America, Britain, Russia, Italy, Germany, Canada, Japan. (notably all those countries are on the northern hemisphere).

    There is also the Outreach 5 (O5) which includes: China, Brazil, India, South America, Mexico. As of late, England and France has wished to include this nations, but so far they have just come in as guests in the meetings.

    Interestingly, this didn’t start until 1975.

    From what I’m getting from the artical, the G8 meetings (held every year as far as I can tell) are mostly to discuss like….I’m not sure if I’d say how to fix the world, but maybe major issues. Like they recently started to collect terrorism data. It looks like they also do Global Energy.

    This is mostly for my benefit, but the year Russia joined, the G8 meeting was held in Denver, hell yeah Colorado! *whoot*

    Anyways, the last one was held in Italy. The next one will be held in Huntsville, Ontario, Canada. Then France, then America, ect.

    Hoped that helped guys. Unless Scamp beat me to the punch. 😉

  17. 17 luffyluffy
    19 October 2009 at 12:18 am

    Yes, Sweden and Finland are Sealand’s adoptive parents. Sealand was selling himself on Ebay, and Sweden, wanting to please his wife Finland, desided to buy him a kid. Thus THE MOST ADORABLE FAMILY IN HETALIA EVER WAS BORN D:<

  18. 18 Humanity_Cat
    19 October 2009 at 12:24 am

    Oh, I also forgot to mention (sorry for so many posts…they really need an edit button) that there is quite a bit of controversy over this. A lot of issues relating to globalization…as well as who is in the G8.

    People argue that the G8 does not represent what the world’s most powerful economies. Like China has a bigger economy than Canada and Russia is up there with America and Japan. Spain is actually 8th in largest GDP, so they have request ‘membership’ (sorry, lack of better word). I guess there were some rumors that Spain would replace Italy, but I don’t think those are true from what I read.

    Also, here is the link to the wiki article. –> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G8#Structure_and_activities
    (I Think it’s linked to structures and activities for some reason…just scroll up.

  19. 19 heyheyho
    19 October 2009 at 1:04 am

    Some people seem to ship Russia/China for this.(I don’t)

    http://community.livejournal.com/hetalia/4226886.html?thread=88147782#t88147782

    GAYEST.
    PROPAGANDA.
    EVER.

  20. 20 luffyluffy
    19 October 2009 at 1:07 am

    I dont liek RussiaChina D: I-I like Germancest… *fidgets* I-I’m sorry, I know it’s incest but… I-it’s so cute… T-They mesh together so well… >//////////////<

  21. 21 Humanity_Cat
    19 October 2009 at 2:55 am

    Oy, there actually might be people who ship RoChu…..-__- *coughlikemecough*

    But whatever, I don’t want to start anything. I tend to like historical pairings more…like RussiaXChina or AustriaXHungary…

  22. 22 luffyluffy
    19 October 2009 at 4:31 am

    Now now, I never said RussiaChina was bad D: None of the pairings are bad(But I have a strong moral distaste for SealandLatvia and AmericaCanada, if anybody reading this enjoys them, I’m sorry but.. I just cant…)

    I also Really dislike America and England for some reason. Like, I WANT to like it, but then I just remember how America got started as a country and I just… cant…

  23. 23 Humanity_Cat
    19 October 2009 at 6:27 am

    I never said it was you, I was just putting out the fact. 🙂 I’m not mad at anyone. 😉

    I find that interesting that you don’t like AmericaXEngland…you kind of struck me as the person who would like that pairing….ah well.

    ~Scamp
    Would it be possible if I could guest blog just one song? It’s actually not a character song, but I wasn’t sure if you were still looking for guest bloggers….

  24. 24 luffyluffy
    19 October 2009 at 7:31 am

    … “My Song That Is Written By Me, For Me…?”

    And no D:< AmericaEngland… They have too much history. Think about it. England get's dominated by his former coloney/student/allie/person that he's known since he was a kid. D-Doesnt that squick you?

    Dont ask me how I can read incest and not blink at it at all ._.

  25. 25 Humanity_Cat
    19 October 2009 at 7:44 am

    ????

    haha, I guess…but opposites attract sometimes. 😉 At least that is a little more logical….some of the pairings are really crazy….like *for example, sorry if you like this* ChinaXSweden, lol. I have no idea if that’s a pairing anyone likes, but it’s an example….

  26. 19 October 2009 at 7:45 am

    Oh, that’s right – Sealand-kun put himself up for auction on eBay and Sweden adopted him. I sort of remember that strip now…

    It’s weird, but even though I’m a yaoi fangirl, there aren’t many yaoi pairings in Hetalia that I find all that compelling. America/England seems to be the most popular with the fans. I think the incest-ish angle is avoided there since theirs was more a guardian/ward type relationship than parent/adopted child relationship when America was young. Germany/No. Italy is kind of the obvious pairing, but Germany seems to scare fangirls a bit. 😉 Actually, strangely enough, I like a het pairing the most in Hetalia: Austria/Hungary. They just look beautiful together.

  27. 27 Humanity_Cat
    19 October 2009 at 8:59 am

    Yes, AustriaXHungary is a beautiful pairing…the most common pairings I’ve seen are: Germany/Italy, America/England, Russia/America, Ameria/Canada, Russia/Liet, Russia/China, France/everyone (lol), England/France, Spain/Italy (S), Japan/China….um, probably a lot others, but those are some of the frequent ones I see on deviantArt….

  28. 28 blissfullynaive
    19 October 2009 at 1:44 pm

    @Humanity_Cat:
    Anyways, the last one was held in Italy >> So that strip that was about the recent G8 (and Italy was the host) was based on that, right? xDDDD

    Spain is actually 8th in largest GDP so they have request ‘membership’ >> I remember France saying that he would nominate Spain to join the G8 (but America said Spain keeps hitting his knees *laugh)

    GJ on researching~! ^^b

    @RussiaXChina propaganda: Hahahaha.. that looks funny. xDDD

    @pairings: Well, i’m not really a BL/Yaoi fan, sooo.. i really don’t know what to feel about that. Although i find GerXIta really funny at times (based on strips). RussiaXChina seems funny too (in the strips), and SwedenXFinland, as well (Sweden looks sooo scary, but cute inside, that it’s funny). I find Poland and Leit as cute though. :3

    And because i’m not a BL/Yaoi fan, i mostly like the het pairings. AustriaXHungary sure is cute (but HungaryXPrussia seems amusing haha). FranceXSeychelles seems nice *laugh. And for some reason, i like TaiwanXChina. .__.”
    Oh, RussiaxBelarus looks quite fun, too. haha. Although BelarusXLiet is quite cute, imo.
    Oh, and i almost forgot: SwissXLiech. They look sooo cute. .__.

    (sorry, i haven’t been exposed to BL stuff, so i don’t know how to feel about BL pairings. >__< but i find it cute, at times)

  29. 19 October 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Right, I’m going to leave the fangirl shippings up to you guys. I’m not getting involved with that for obvious reasons.

    @Humanity_Cat

    I’d always thought the G8 involved far more countries than that. I guess that’s what the 8 stands for…*facepalm*

    Wikipedia really is the best source for any random bits of info, especially Hetalia searching. Sometimes I get the feeling that the Hetalia author simply trawls across wikipedia and takes whatever he finds funny and turns it into a Hetalia strip.

    As for guest blogging, you’ll have to ask luffy. I’m still trying to work out the logistics of organising the post (seems it’s a teensy bit more difficult than I thought it would be)

  30. 30 anon
    19 October 2009 at 10:44 pm

    The America/England doesn’t seem squicky to me since America willingly broke away from that relationship with England in the American Revolution…

    But then again, I ship Belarus/Russia, so…

  31. 31 luffyluffy
    20 October 2009 at 3:40 am

    Scamp, am I doing Prussia’s song too? It’s not really a character song, but it kinda is… *shrug*

    Btw, you’re going to blow a gasket when you see the new episode

    As for the het pairings… I-I kinda like PrussiaHungary…

  32. 32 Humanity_Cat
    20 October 2009 at 8:22 am

    Haha, sorry Scamp. 😉

    ~Blissfullynaive
    I’m not sure if it was based on the recent hosting, it just surprised me that they had something so recent for Hetalia. (G8 did not start until 70s) Haha about the Spain part.
    And thanks! I guess it shows how much of a life I don’t have, lol.

    ~Scamp
    Lol, you never noticed that Japan counted to 8 in the other episode? XP

    Yes, I’m always just a little paranoid about Wikipedia because…well for obvious reasons, haha. I mean, I’m sure that people would catch the obvious (like the Proclamation of 1763 was completed in 1870, durrdurr), but still.

    Okay, I hope you don’t mind if I talk right here….

    ~Luffy

    I know you are doing the charactersongs and whatnot for the Hetalia guest blogging but I was wondering if I could do one song that I’ve been thinking about. It’s not a character song, but it’s the Axis Powers Hetalia version of Caramelldansen…If you don’t want me to do it, that’s fine, I was just wondering. :)Thanks!

  33. 33 luffyluffy
    20 October 2009 at 8:33 am

    The Caramelldansen ultamite version? Sure, if you write it, I’ll put it in ;D

  34. 34 Humanity_Cat
    20 October 2009 at 9:36 am

    Great! Thanks Luffy! Um…I’ll probably post it on deviantArt or something and give you the link. 🙂

  35. 35 luffyluffy
    21 October 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Alright, awesome *thumbs up*

    So, has anybody heard the HAMBURGER STREET preview yet? Yeah, it’s out and.. Why… he’s so… passionate about… singing about… h-hamburgers….

    I-It sounds cool… but… it’s still.. about… burgers..

    ….

    *jumps on a stage and starts dancing with Al* HAMBURGER STREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTTTTTOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

  36. 36 blissfullynaive
    21 October 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Yeah, i’ve heard the HAMBURGER STREET song already. ^^
    It’s quite funny hahaha. Very energetic America-kun..

  37. 37 luffyluffy
    22 October 2009 at 3:37 am

    I heard from my friend, the Hetalia movie may be cancielled because the Korean’s are being fucking babies >__>

  38. 38 Humanity_Cat
    22 October 2009 at 11:06 am

    Yeah, I listened to the preview a few hours ago~so funny! XD

    W-what the fuck?! Hurr -___- well I want to make sure before I start ranting but… -__-+++


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra