28
Oct
09

Hetalia Axis Powers episode 40

What an excellent 4 minutes and 33 seconds of Hetalia that was. Normally the episodes last for 5 full minutes so it’s a bit odd that this one ended early. I wonder what happened to those last 27 seconds. I have no recollection of them whatsoever.

vlcsnap-2009-10-27-18h52m08s201

No really, nothing happened after the 4 minute, 33 second mark.

vlcsnap-2009-10-27-18h51m49s40

This episode of  Hetalia finally touched on something I’ve been waiting to happen since I first saw France disagree with England in the first episode ‘simply because I always disagree with England’. Every single war fought by either country instantly had the other joining the opposing side. If no wars started in mainland Europe, they just started their own little war to keep the military-economy going (which, oddly enough, is exactly what America is doing at the moment. Declaring war in order to keep their military-economy complex going after the end of the Cold War). Hetalia portrayed this perfectly, with other countries complaining that they keep butting in on their arguments. Just remember that if a war starts out with France and America on one side, the other side will include China, Germany and England.

vlcsnap-2009-10-27-18h52m19s47

The rest of the episode was England and America bonding and setting the scene for the ‘America’s Storage Cleaning’ episodes. While it’s kinda funny, mainly it’s just meant to be cute. Problem is, that’s exactly how Chibitalia started out as. Not that funny but kind of cute. Thank God no Chibitalia appeared in this episode. Yup, no HRE or teeny-weeny Italy in this episode. No completely disturbing softcore shotacon yaoi nonsense whatsoever. That was the end of the episode. Actually, there was one thing I noticed while watching this…

vlcsnap-2009-10-27-18h50m01s174

ZOMG IT’S LELOUCH!!!! HE’S RIGHT THERE, THE CART DRIVER, THE CART DRIVER IS LELOUCH!!!!! HOW CAN YOU NOT SEE THAT?!?!?! YOU SEE YOU SEE, RIGHT THERE IF YOU ZOOM UP CLOSELY YOU CAN SEE HIS FACE THATS DEFINATELY LELOUCH!!!! DON’T RUIN MY DREAM!!!!

(I apologise to those of you who have yet to see Code Geass. If you are one of those unfortunate people can I just ask you: Where have you been for the past year or two? Especially if you are a yaoi fangirl, there’s mountains of fodder for you to drool over)


28 Responses to “Hetalia Axis Powers episode 40”


  1. 1 luffyluffy
    28 October 2009 at 4:57 am

    PRUSSIA SHOWED UP.

  2. 2 luffyluffy
    28 October 2009 at 5:04 am

    Also: HAHA, CHIBITALIA CRUSHED HRE’S VITAL REGIONS!!

    But srsly… Look at HRE’s face… He looks exactly like Germany!!

  3. 28 October 2009 at 5:08 am

    Yes, odd about those missing 27 seconds, isn’t it? 😉

    And I hear Lelouch was also driving the hay cart in Spice and Wolf. That guy sure gets around a lot.

    Now that I’ve seen chibi America swinging the bull around, I need to see him dragging the SUV behind him looking for England who has the car keys. I can never get enough of America and England together. 😉

  4. 28 October 2009 at 5:10 am

    @ luffyluffy: He HAS to be HRE. No other explanation is possible!

  5. 5 luffyluffy
    28 October 2009 at 5:10 am

    THEY HAVE THE SAME SIDEBURNS

  6. 6 toink
    28 October 2009 at 8:46 am

    ….PRUSSIA. Just a cameo?? I want an episode of Prussia!! I demand one!!!

    Uh…I’m kinda one of those people who haven’t watched Code Geass (*sigh*). Should I watch it?

  7. 7 luffyluffy
    28 October 2009 at 8:48 am

    Well, he has a Marukaite Chikyuu coming out with Austria in March, so he probably IS going to have more spotlight time.

  8. 28 October 2009 at 9:24 am

    Funny, I noticed the same thing with the episode ending early too 🙂 If we summon up our collective psychic will eventually the accursed Chibitalia will fade from reality!

    Not to get too much into the IRL, but wars during the height of England and France’s power were usually very expensive propositions unless territory could be seized. The two were just such competitors that they felt the need to ‘check’ the other’s power by opposing them in whatever conflicts happened on the continent. As for the US in the present day Afghanistan was a direct result of an attack that turned into a need for stability while Iraq was just for stupid ideas about using US power in a revisionist way and thinking it would be easy. Despite the conspiracy theories they haven’t exactly been the best thing for our economy. So blame threat (Afghanistan) and stupidity (Iraq) respectively for the two most recent wars.

  9. 9 Humanity_Cat
    28 October 2009 at 11:20 am

    Aha, I love that Hetalia is focusing on the colonization/Revolutionary War (indirectly) because that’s what we’ve been talking about in Social Studies…excuse me, American History 😉 these last weeks…

    I’m actually surprised they haven’t brought in Canada (who?) yet during these last episodes…as Frances settled colonies into current Canada back in those days. (please don’t take that pervertedly…)

    And I forgot that the Austrian battle was going on during this time period as well…

    (aha, Austria’s so awesome! *fangirlsquee* ‘Would you get out of my house?’)

    Also, I see why you don’t write on your screenshots now, Scamp….

    XD Yup I’m one of those losers who don’t watch Code Geass. XP (damnit, I need to get started on Spice and Wolf….)

  10. 28 October 2009 at 1:12 pm

    @luffyluffy

    AND HE HAS THE SAME BEDDY HAIR AS HE DID IN THAT EPISODE WHERE THE ROMAN EMPIRE WAKES HIM UP

    @Humanity_Cat

    Ditto *fangirlsquee* on Austria-san – I think he’s the most handsome of all the Hetalia characters. Ah, sorry Scamp – I promise we won’t let this devolve into endless yaoi fangirling… 😉

  11. 11 luffyluffy
    28 October 2009 at 7:17 pm

    THEY. HAVE. THE. SAME. EYE. COLOR. AND. SOCIAL. AKAWARDNESS.

    Also, Humanity_Cat, can you email me~?

  12. 12 blogger
    28 October 2009 at 8:47 pm

    … You know, the last 27 seconds. I forgot about them up until now. The whole France- England fighting was funny but PRUSSIA!!! I WANT TO SEE MORE OF HIM!!!… He got about three seconds of glory as a background character before disappearing again. Dammit.
    I haven’t watched Code Geass- and two years back I was still in my Dr Who craze.

  13. 13 heyheyho
    28 October 2009 at 10:33 pm

    France-someone-someone
    VS.
    Someone- AND ENGLAND!(-and Zoidberg!)

    FFFFF that made me laugh the most for some reason.

    Oh, England you just found a potencial monster but you accepted to raise him anyways, aww~

    (Also, you know that I’m not a pedo, RIGHT? but why is young!France. so. pretty…akjsdfjk)

    Nah, I haven’t watched Code Geass. I barely have time to watch Hetalia, One Piece and old Italian Series Nobody Cares About to do that.

  14. 28 October 2009 at 11:57 pm

    @Jan Suzukawa

    Ah Code Geass. How I loved that show. Every cart driver for ever more shall instantly spawn people jumping up and down in front of their moniters shouting ‘THERE HE IS!!!’

    @toink

    I’ve been eagerly anticipating this Prussia character what with all the hype surrounding his appearence.

    @ExecutiveOtaku

    I’m certainly no conspiracy theorist (yes, the US did land on the moon thank you very much) but the war on Afganistan was a blessing in disguise for the military economy. I don’t doubt that it might of hurt some of the other economies but at the same time the military holds a certain amount of preference with governments. Yes, they obviously didn’t declare war for that reason, but the weapon manufacturers must have been ever so grateful that a new enemy had appeared.

    (I suppose if I was ever going to get into a political discussion in a blog post, chances are it would be in a Hetalia post)

    @Humanity_Cat

    I know, isn’t it great when they refer to parts of history you know about! It makes the whole thing soooo much funnier.

    Out of curiousity, why don’t I write on my screenshots?

    @blogger

    I could never get into Dr.Who myself. I’m not sure why, it seemed like exactly the kind of show I would like. I did, however, watch that episode called Blink, the one with thos angels that only move when you’re not looking at them. HOLY SHIT THAT WAS SCARY!!!

    @heyheyho

    Damnit, I only realised now that I’ve made a mistake in the post. I was meant to put the ‘and England’ in red font but I totally forgot…damnit, that would’ve been funny and everything.

    @Everyone who hasn’t watched Code Geass

    Yes, you should watch it. Not only because it’s amazing and has arguably become a classic in it’s own right, but because if you don’t watch it soon, somebody will ruin the ending for you. That is, if you haven’t already got it ruined. It’s the greatest anime ending evah!

  15. 29 October 2009 at 5:45 am

    @ Scamp

    Point taken on the IRL, though I only made my point to make clear that it wasn’t an intentional effect, just a side effect.

    @ Everyone who hasn’t watched Code Geass

    Seconding Scamp’s comment. It really is a modern classic of anime. It has something for mecha fans, bishojo and bihsonen fans, and fans of major plot twists. Second season lost a bit of direction for a little, but then ending made it all worth it. Srsly.

    Where were you when Season 1 Episode 22 happened?

  16. 29 October 2009 at 6:21 am

    @ExecutiveOtaku

    I, unfortunately, wasn’t around during the Euphemia scene whem it hit originally. I do remember, however, cluching the side of my head and screaming ‘it was all working so well!’

  17. 29 October 2009 at 8:02 am

    Prussia needs more screentime than just a cameo with Austria. I demand more Prussia. Who cares that he’s not technically a country? HRE gets more screentime and no one even knows what that IS! *internal rant over*

    BTW, HRE looks waaaaay too much like Germany than us doubters of the Holy Roman Empire=Germany theory can stand.

    This episode came in nice timing, because we’re just reviewing the French and Indian war in History class. I should show this in school tomorrow and demand that Hetalia is added to our curriculum.

    That would be good.

  18. 29 October 2009 at 9:48 am

    @ Scamp

    I just phrase it as such because on a smaller and not so serious level it’s kind of like one of those historical milestones that otaku point too like the regular public would the Moon Landing, Kennedy Assassination, 9/11 attacks, etc. The moment it happened kind of crystallized in everyone’s memory.

    For me I was in my Temple University Japan dorm room on study abroad one afternoon after class. It was a nice sunny day outside and I was relaxing and catching up on the shows I was following that season. It was such a rush of emotions as I had no way of knowing that it was coming. My mind just kept racing between ‘WTF’ ‘what now?’ and ‘OH S*** THEY DID FORESHADOW THIS SLIGHTLY!’ while I kept alternatingly yelling ‘what the f***’ at my computer screen and laughing at the insanity of it. It was one of, it not my singular favorite moment in anime.

  19. 19 Humanity_Cat
    29 October 2009 at 12:22 pm

    ~Jan Suzukawa
    I know, right?! Someday, he will marry me….along with my alternative lives with Lithuania and Estonia….
    Whoops, did that come out? XD

    ~Luffy
    Ack, yes, I will Luffy, sorry, they teachers are dumping crap-loads on us these last weeks….T.T er….email?

    ~Scamp
    Ah~nothing it was just a discriminating handwritting joke, harrharr.

    Pffft, I don’t think I have time to try and fit in another anime….except for Spice and Wolf which I’ll get to eventually….but I might get into some of the long-running animes over my breaks for Thanksgiving and Winter. Besides, I’m not that much of a yaoifangirl…I just…read alot of it and love like it…
    nevermind.

    Lolz kswolfe, I like or argument about Prussia XD So true, so true!

  20. 20 luffyluffy
    29 October 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Yush, H_C, I was wondering if you could handle all the different versions of Marukaite Chikyuu for me… While I do the character songs.. heehehehhe

  21. 22 Humanity_Cat
    30 October 2009 at 5:45 am

    No, what is your e-mail, lolz.

    But all the different versions of Marukaite? Yeah, I probably could…after this weekened though….I have a concert on Saturday and I’m a little fpifajef.

  22. 23 luffyluffy
    30 October 2009 at 5:45 am

    OH, MY EMAIL

    Violently_Vicious@hotmail.com

    [/cowboy bebop referance]

  23. 24 Humanity_Cat
    30 October 2009 at 5:47 am

    Are you kidding me? Personified anime characters based off of Japanese Holidays called Calendar Boy?!

    fdasdjfj what the hell!? What genius came up with THAT idea?!

  24. 25 Humanity_Cat
    30 October 2009 at 5:51 am

    (Ack, sorry for all the double posting….they really need edit buttons on these blogs……)

    Great! I’ll e-mail you late, I have to go now…

    My e-mail—-> dragonfriend400@aol.com

    Unless you want to go to my AIM e-mail which I rarely check….

    estoniatech@aim.com

    Harrharr, Hetalia RP XD

  25. 26 blissfullynaive
    31 October 2009 at 10:13 am

    Soo.. liek, i’m really late here. Hahaha..

    LOL@Lelouch. He sure likes driving carts a lot. xDDD
    (Don’t ruin the dream, indeed. A lot of fans are still hoping hahaha. I’m kinda hoping for it too. But that would ruin the emotional ending of Season 2)

    And yes, you guys should watch Code Geass. I’m serious, it’s awesome. It’s like.. a classic and most anime fans should know about it. xD Lots of memes too (Spinzaku, anyone?).
    But it’s not perfect and all, i don’t like how some characters were left out just to give the fans a “WTF! OMG!” reaction. Needs more character development for some, and a few mysteries were left.. unanswered. But i like how they developed Lelouch though. Very nice. The ending was just.. great. (Also, i’m one of the few Rolo fans out there, i think)

    Where were you when Season 1 Episode 22 happened? >> Crying. And reaching out for my monitor. Oh, wait. That includes ep 21. I have never experienced the intense feeling of wanting to get inside the universe/realm of a show just to stop something from happening. So it was pretty memorable for me. Ever.

    Sorry for the OT. xDDD

    Anyway, this episode of Hetalia is one of my faves. Because it has France, France arguing with England, and some more France. xDDD

    “Hey, the smart guys at my place said that America’s my little brother!”
    “No, no! The smart guys at my place said that a hundred years ago!”
    Hahahaha xDDDD

    As for Prussia, yeah he’s awesome. xDDD He is funny at the strips, especially during the Christmas Rampage. xD

    @Calendar Boy: I dunno what to feel about that. xDDD These Hetalia spawns make me feel.. weird.

  26. 10 November 2009 at 8:44 am

    @luffyluffy

    Calendar Boy?

    First miricle Train, now CALENDAR BOY???

    OH MY GOD, IT’S AN INFECTION! A DIESEASE THAT WILL SLOWLY RULE THE WORLD UNTIL NOTHING IS WITHOUT IT’S BISHIE-FIED RENDERING! AHHHHHH!

    BUT REMEMBER CHILDREN: YOU SAW IT ON HETALIA FIRST. SO THERE.


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra