20
Dec
09

Nyan Koi! episode 12 (Final)

There are quite a few characters in Nyan Koi!, but now that the anime is over, I realized that there are a lot more cats in the series than people. I never took particular notice before this final episode, but right at the beginning of MewView at the end, they always show a map similar to the one below depicting which cats Junpei had helped. (There were, of course, other cats that didn’t make it to the map like the really cute gray one that was stuck in a tree in Episode 11.)

At the end of previous episode, Junpei grew ears and we learn that it was due to Kaede’s growing suspicions regarding his curse. Now, I thought that if someone else learned about the curse, catastrophe would fall upon them, but even with Kaede’s overactive curiosity and impeccable timing to find Junpei in curse related situations, nothing particularly bad happens to her – in fact, things only get worse for Junpei. I have to admit that it’s only with the further assistance (and much more practical assistance, if you ask me) of the Kirishima Twins that Junpei doesn’t die of being allergic to himself. They also help in carrying out Nyamsus’ cleverly thought up plan to alleviate Kaede’s suspicions, but just when they’re almost in the clear, things go bad to worse and Junpei’s cat transformation speeds up to completion, leaving him struggling against his own allergies to breathe. I can’t imagine how hard it is to be a cat with cat allergies.

However, as a cat, he does find his way into the arms of Kaede(is that what they mean by “Heaven Awaits”?) …Which doesn’t last long before she thinks to herself how there’s no way Junpei could be cursed by the Cat Deity since he’s always so “nice” to cats. Then the hyper-progression of his curse is lifted (or reversed) and he’s left standing in the middle of the park naked – in front of his crush. And then other people come, which just makes it better. And the cherry on top: Kanako showing up from behind and proceeding to beat him up. I’m glad that Junpei clarifies that his curse isn’t dispelled, but that he’s basically back to where he was before, which is that he needs to continue fulfilling the favours of cats. Urm… I wonder what he’ll have to do in order to make up for the broken bell though – which (a) wasn’t his fault (b) hit Kaede and Tama as well and (c) is really expensive! I guess he won’t get to stop working with Chizuru anytime soon.

So in the end, it seems that the love triangle will continue. At some point, Kanako had given up but it seems her feelings are still lingering. Kaede also takes a step toward recognizing and working out her feelings for Junpei, wishing (at the shrine on New Year’s) that they can grow a little closer. Junpei still wants Kaede. Without a second season, their respective relationships can only flourish in our imaginations. I think it’s a little clever to end the series with the romance issue unsolved as no one can be upset by a “wrong” coupling. No one is satisfied either, but at least no one is upset; or maybe I’ve got it wrong altogether and everyone’s upset – except me. But maybe that’s because I know, when it comes to Kaede versus Kanako for Junpei’s heart, who is “supposed to win” (right, Ex.O?).

So is there a need for a second season now that we’ve seen the last episode? To be honest, I think I’d be okay without it. If there was a second season, the writers would have to come up with a twist to the plot rather than just continuing with Junpei’s curse and love triangle. Drawing out the same ideas (how many different things can cats want?) for too long may grow tiresome and though the humour has been quite strong, there’s also a chance that it’ll run out. If I’m wrong – or even if I’m right, I would watch another season if it was produced; the question is how long I’d enjoy it. The in between or middle segment said there was no season two but at the end, when Junpei receives a letter from his dad, he says “congratulations on the second season” and that he’d like to appear in the anime. Well, whatever the truth is, we’re going to have to wait to find out.

Thanks for watching and reading along with Kaza and me! We hope you enjoyed the series as much as we did (and if you didn’t then… I guess that’s just too bad).


8 Responses to “Nyan Koi! episode 12 (Final)”


  1. 20 December 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I’ve enjoyed your posts, glad you enjoyed the show and managed to hit the ground running as a new author. Have you picked what you’ll be blogging for winter or are you waiting for the first episodes to decide?

    What I took away from the parts at the end is that there will be a second season, though who knows, maybe they were just trolling us or trying to build up fan demand for a second season. From what I hear there’s plenty of manga left to make another season.

    And even if there’s a girl clearly favored by the author, let that not end the shipping! Mizuno may be cute and in all likelihood the preordained winner, but I will not give up on Kana until the bitter end! Do not go quietly into that good night, rage, rage against the dying of one’s OTP light! Mihoshi was certainly ‘supposed to win’ in Sora no Manimani, but that did not keep me from cheering on and singing the virtues of Queen Fumie of the Student Council! You can ask Scamp about that one, heh. I’d love for a second season of that one, but unlike Nyan Koi they didn’t drop even the slightest hint either way.

    Nyan Koi was a fun and enjoyable show, though kind of slow to get started/introduce characters in my opinion. It certainly exceeded the expectations I had when the preview info came out. As you say it could get bogged down in endless cat-of-the-week stuff in a second season, but I’m hoping that the second season still gets made and that they move the story to its end. When that day comes perhaps I will dust off my shipping helmet and blog Nyan Koi 2 for the glory and honor of Kanako!

  2. 21 December 2009 at 2:41 am

    I definitely enjoyed this series overall. I can’t wait till the next season, I liked this more than most other shows this year.

  3. 3 Poro
    21 December 2009 at 11:19 am

    Only one thing to say now: Neko Neko Wai Wai!! :3 Happy Holidays

  4. 4 SPIRAL
    21 December 2009 at 11:28 am

    Kanako for the win ;D

  5. 5 blindability
    21 December 2009 at 11:50 am

    @ Ex.O: I’ve graciously been given the go-ahead by my Boss and team to review Okami Kakushi and Katanagatari this coming Winter Season. I may or may not pick up a third since Katanagatari’s episodes will air monthly, but I’ll probably watch the first episodes of a few before choosing; plus I don’t want to be overly ambitious only to let everyone down in the end…

    I remember you being a Fumie Fan. And it’s true: you should never stop cheering on your favourite pairing even if it’s not the “obvious” choice. If Junpei ever chose Kanako, I’d be glad to put aside my sadness for Kaede to celebrate with you – on the condition you grant me at least a little sympathy…!

  6. 7 SPIRAL
    21 December 2009 at 1:05 pm

    ahaha
    “Something is weird”
    “Huh?”
    “Junpei hasn’t left the post office”
    (takes out a GPS)
    hahahahahaha

  7. 8 kaza
    30 December 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Bravo Blindability… Bravo


Comments are currently closed.

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra