08
Feb
11

First Impressions – Beelzebub

Coming in fashionably late, Bokutachi no BLOG brings you the first in our series of First Impressions.
First up for this season is Beelzebub, the story of want-away babysitter.

Beelzebub Title
So yeah basically Beelzebub is about this strong delinquent who gets a baby dumped on him and he has to raise the baby. Only catch is that the baby just happens to be a future demon lord. Obviously our delinquent hero doesnt want to have a baby (let alone a demon baby) hanging around him all the time so he looks to get rid it, unfortunately the baby will only leave for somebody stronger than Oga. And as expected Oga cannot find anybody as he is the strongest, so the search begins!

Oga & Beel

jGLZa: I liked the art style as it matched the style of the anime which was that it wasnt taking itself too seriously, also I like bold lines. Umm besides that its a pretty funny show – I found my self laughing out loud a few times because I’m quite fond of toilet humour, nothing much here that will stretch your mind though. The shocking gag does get old quick though and there is infant nudity (but baby Beel is so cute). Unfortunately I don’t see an end to this madness though as the story could go on forever as they pursue a non-existent goal (see also One Piece). Hopefully viewers will get bored and they only make one season.

lygophile: I watched the first episode of Beelzebub, which seemed pretty much introductory and set forth the characters and setting. I must say, it’s a very original idea, I’ve never seen anything like it. In addition, it’s pretty funny – the demon lord and his actions were particularly amusing. But in my opinion, there really isn’t too much else I really appreciate about this anime other than the humor. The art and animation was average, the characters are quirky but not that deep or interesting, and the plot of raising a child (albeit a demon child) doesn’t interest me much either. If I watch this, it’ll be for a couple laughs and maybe to see what kind of plots develop.

Blindability: At first I’d thought Beelzebub was going to be similar to Gintama, but after watching just the first episode (actually, less than even one episode) I realized the humour was no where close to the Gintama standard. I think the premise of the show just doesn’t interest me. I suppose I’m just not very interested in high school delinquents… with a baby who just so happens to be the son of the Great Demon King. I thought about watching the second and third episodes to see if it got funnier, but thought it better not to waste my time.

Beelzebub End


5 Responses to “First Impressions – Beelzebub”


  1. 8 February 2011 at 9:05 am

    As my comment, I really really really tried to watch the first episode, but I just couldn’t get engaged into it and ended switching to another show… need anything else as an opinion? Ja ne!

  2. 2 karry
    8 February 2011 at 12:23 pm

    “At first I’d thought Beelzebub was going to be similar to Gintama”
    It is. They are both shit.

    But yeah, apparently i am the only one in the entire universe who watched Gash Bell. And it had freaking 150 episodes, too !

  3. 4 bubba
    9 February 2011 at 11:33 am

    I think if you guys read the manga a bit it would become more interesting than the comments you have posted.

    • 5 jGLZa
      9 February 2011 at 4:09 pm

      I’ve actually heard many good things about the manga which is why I wanted to watch this. But Im not really a fan of these ongoing endless stories. Also I don’t really read much manga.


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra