04
Apr
10

Angel Beats episode 1 (first impressions)

Why this post has an actual title rather than just ‘first impressions’ is because I am, for sure, blogging this anime.  And after I watched it, it’s pretty obvious that I hit the jackpot on this season’s anime to blog.  There’s been so much hype building up to the release of this anime, so let’s see what possibly the ‘best’ anime this season can do for us.

“Like a boss”

Needless to say, I have to admit I was a bit confused.  In fact, I had to watch it twice before I got what was sorta going on.  So the plot starts in media res, meaning the middle of the action.  Our main protagonist wakes up next to Haruh… I mean, Yuri-chan and finds out that he’s dead.  He gets killed but eventually, he enlists in the ‘Like-Hell-I’m-Dead’ battlefront (half the episode they spend on arguing on the name).  We get introduced to all the characters, we find out that they’re all dead, and we find out that they have to kill Angels.  Evangelion much?  Anyways, our hero gets put onto a trial while the Diversionary Squad does their thing… which is… surprise, surprise… put on a rock concert.   In the end, the group runs away from the Angel and eats, while our hero reflects upon his new life… *just kidding* they don’t have lives because they’re dead (yes, this was an attempt in one of their lame “you’re dead already” jokes).

Anyways, great action towards the end of the episode and this anime looks like it has great potential at this rate… yes, even more than K-ON! and Bakenmonogatari.  It was a bit confusing  because of its fast-pace but I get it now… sorta.  Great animation, great artwork, great character designs, but I can see why Yuri resembles a lot like Haruhi Suzumiya.  But anyways, great song in the middle (I wouldn’t be surprised if this is the opening song) and I feel a great vibe from this series.


16 Responses to “Angel Beats episode 1 (first impressions)”


  1. 4 April 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Yeah I was a bit confused as well. Like are all the other students NPC’s or are they other dead kids who have conformed to this world? I think it’s funny that we all think this has such a Haruhi feel to it. I think the cast could have been smaller but no doubt this will be one of the top shows of the season.

    • 2 SPIRAL
      4 April 2010 at 12:50 pm

      mmhmm, hopefully they’ll explain within the next few episodes. it’s going to be great XD

      • 4 April 2010 at 2:15 pm

        I think all the other NPCs are dead people too ^^ If you’ve watched the 8th trailer, there is a part where Yuri has a flash back remembering her life as a human / before she died.
        Just a guess, though xD

  2. 4 April 2010 at 2:28 pm

    I wasn’t sure if I want to see this but after seeing the bloody screencap, it’s decided!

  3. 7 Violet
    4 April 2010 at 6:42 pm

    After hearing that so many people were disappointed with the anime, I’m glad you’ll continue to blog this show. Personally, I enjoyed it, I wasn’t bored at all during this first episode.

  4. 9 Poro
    5 April 2010 at 5:45 am

    D: people were dissappointed!!! Yes, it brings homage to Haruhi. (So many similarities BUT THAT IS A GOOD THING!!)
    Yes, K-ON written all over. (K-ON was good right?)
    Yes, bake… no Bakemonogatari shit according to me.
    I say this has a great future!
    Oh yeah…
    go to school, like a boss
    get rejected, like a boss

    • 10 Salamandra
      5 April 2010 at 9:12 am

      I don’t think it was greatly similar to K-On, it had a concert but the concert seemed more like the concert in Haruhi than in K-On!

      • 11 SPIRAL
        5 April 2010 at 4:13 pm

        But I feel that an extended version of this concert could kill Haruhi… although the lyrics repeated “Fly away kokokara” like 100000 times

  5. 5 April 2010 at 7:24 am

    Liked the first episode. Shouldn’t get bored watching this that’s for sure. I feel for Otonashi since this likely isn’t the first time he will get owned. I mean ‘dying’ 102 times in the first episode!?

  6. 5 April 2010 at 10:52 am

    What a way to make a big splash with the first episode. Not much has been explained yet but the feeling of excitement, suspense, and even some humor that Angel Beats brings to the table will have me coming back to see how it all plays out. The concert/mission scene was extremely over-the-top but somehow very fitting for this anime.

    The Haruhi homage really stops and Yuri appearance and some bits of her personality, I guess cute little Tenshi has some Yuki going for her as well. But thats about it and much like So ra no wo to’s K-On problem it isn’t a big issue in the story. I will be looking forward to this and also blogging on it this season, it should be exciting and I hope to continue to read you thoughts on it.

    descent

    • 15 SPIRAL
      5 April 2010 at 4:15 pm

      hmm of all the distractions, they had to put a concert. Well, I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I do, and the links between personalities you see. Yeah, hopefully it won’t detract from the story but I wonder what lies for Yuri in the future (since Haruhi was ‘God’). We’ll find out later… thanks XD

  7. 6 April 2010 at 5:40 pm

    “…yes, even more than K-ON! and Bakenmonogatari”.

    Woah, hold on there, lets not get ahead of ourselves here. It was good, yes, but those are some big shoes to fill there.
    I liked the fast paced story as it gave me less time pick up the up the plot holes. Especially liked the rock concert, the “lifting the tickets” thing was cool.

    Looking forward to the rest.


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra