28
Sep
10

Thoughts on Mobile Suit Gundam 00 The Movie: Awakening of the Trailblazer screening in Singapore

If you are singaporean, for pete’s sake, DON’T WATCH IT unless you can be like my friend and I where we just freaking lol-ed at most scenes and well, face-palmed. This will be a brief, disoriented, midnight mishmash cooked spoiler free thoughts of the movie.

So our dear odex in Singapore managed to somehow convince sunrise to bring this over to Singapore for a limited screening in small theatres simultaneously with the premiere in Japan. Yes, the same odex which pawned many anime fans in Singapore for illegal downloading for fines of 4 digits figures. Well, for SGD$13 per ticket for a 2 hour anime movie, what’s there to lose? So I went and caught it with a friend

I am not going to spoil anyone here but you can do it yourself here if you really can’t wait.

Here’s a brief summary and impression of how the story went without spoilers

2 years later, standard reintroduction of characters shown here and there, working, working, shooting a few free frags mobile suits, basically everyone doing nothing that advances the plot.

Get trolled by sunrise for a while (you will know what I mean when you watch it)

Suspense is built up.

Everyone is scratching their heads.

Eager for next few scenes.

Rollercoaster ride. Mostly downwards.

(Not so) Climatic clash between ________ and _______

And finally: WTF end. Yes, it is WTF. Like the scriptwriters all went get drunk, threw out their ideas, combined a bit of everything, submitted it to an equally drunk producer who approves it and we get the movie. Every single viewer in the theatre gave the WTF look with some giving it audibly too. It is different from the WTF from the end of code geass season one, no that was pure classic WTF. This is a WTF WHAT SH!T IS THIS? It wasn’t one off, according to a friend, it was true for him last week too so well, I’m not alone. Once again, fellow Singaporeans and in future, dear americans, if you get the chance to watch it free, go ahead, pay for it? Nah, save it.

After credits, brief flashback to the genius visionary who started and prepared for it all. Purely from a scientific point of view, he is a genius. And then 100 years later after the clash. Yet another WTF moment.

Did I mention love is in the air? And no surprise really, cockroach survives again, not by his will. Some live some die but overall, please just leave your brain switched off when you start watching because you really don’t need it. Heck, I might not like Gundam 00 Season 2 that much but it sure feels better than this movie.

To give it credit, you do get all the fireworks and explosions and lots of mobile suits if that’s the ONLY thing you are concerned about but be warned: it will be something along the lines of Transformers 2 movie, fast paced, messy and just full of explosions. Come to think of it, the accompanying music and soundtracks are quite appropriate, the original soundtrack is out, you can find it on megaupload. In the end, although the plot is seriously screwed up, at least in terms of trashy and cheesy scenes to laugh, there are much to go around for a good laugh. So! Will I watch it again? Maybe once and that’s it since I would like to pause and look at some photos in the show, some faces just flashed too fast to be caught. Too many gundams appear so much so I just gave up trying to match the names of the gundam with the gundam itself.

Setsuna, the silent meister with his 0000.

On a sidenote, I finished watching Eden of the East Movie 2 Lost paradise which wrapped up the whole Eden of the East series and I love it. It’s probably being blogged to death (I didn’t check) so unless someone desperately wants a review, I most likely wont’t blog it.

18 Responses to “Thoughts on Mobile Suit Gundam 00 The Movie: Awakening of the Trailblazer screening in Singapore”


  1. 1 Windaerie
    29 September 2010 at 10:21 pm

    So sad that this was a disappointment…I was really looking forward to it. I’m a pretty big fan of the 00 franchise, so I think I’ll just watch it for the sake of watching it. For the characters, animation, etc. The storyline…eh. The second season already kind of took away from what I loved about the first season–the realisticness of it all.

    Nonetheless, thanks for the heads up/review! 🙂

  2. 2 AlphaWolf
    30 September 2010 at 7:30 pm

    looking forward to this big time in the US

  3. 4 meister
    2 November 2010 at 10:34 pm

    well either youre a dumb shit or just plain stupid..dude if youre not into gundam 00 or any gundam storyline just shut the fuck up!! you dont even try to understand the essence of the story..what a lame ass you are

  4. 2 November 2010 at 11:35 pm

    Thank you for your time to read my supposely dumb retarded frank review of gundam 00 movie. I’m so not into gundam 00 I watched the series twice and bought a SG$13 ticket to watch the movie just before my mid term examinations. Gundam seed, destiny, Wing, X, Turn A, MS Igloo and assorted Gundam manga such as Gundam Seed Astray are part of my collection of anime and manga.

    So your presumptions about my tendencies are sorely misplaced, your raging defense of a movie which I seriously even doubt you have watched yet makes it equivalent to me who have never watched gayp0rn to go to your e.g. gayp0rn blog site and comment that a certain gayp0rn movie roxx and that you couldn’t understand the essense of the story which you frankly reviewed as entertaining yet lack of a reasonable plot.

  5. 6 GuyverIV87
    7 November 2010 at 9:02 am

    I had issues with the second season of 00, but when I saw the movie, that was it for me. This movie pretty takes all the flaws season 2 has and magnifies them by 10. One being a tangle mess of a plot and the other being poor use of characters.

  6. 7 Kyo
    7 January 2011 at 11:07 am

    I am a VERY big fan of the 00 franchise but I definitely agree with your review.

    If you’re just in for the Gundam-firing-at-something then you should definitely watch it…. but if you’re a faithful mecha lover especially that of gundam and looking for a good plot, dont even dare to watch it. As I label it, this movie is a big trolling… They totally ran out of worldly ideas that they resulted to the out-of-this-world fights… too bad, Gundam was a lot better fighting off each other… and besides, this movie doesnt have the ideal conflict between ideals since the enemy has consciousness but basically doesnt argue with them thus clashing ideas was never presented since the survival through war as well as understanding went hand-in-hand in this movie…

    Oh well, I still mark this one as a big trolling for a part of gundam.

  7. 8 KoiMaxx
    18 January 2011 at 1:52 am

    I guess I pretty much agree with most of the posts here. As much as I am a Gundam 00 fan, the movie left a weird aftertaste after watching it. When I had realized the movie was featuring something never before introduced in Gundam (it WAS foretold by Aeolia Schenberg though)… it was kind of interesting but disconcerting as well. The plot was pretty simple and straightforward, but I found some of the characterization rather disappointing (i.e. new characters getting introduced but contributing virtually nothing to the plot). I was expecting the CB mechas to have plenty of action, but it seemed like only 2 actually had plenty of screentime, not that I complain. And although there were occassional lol moments (long live Patrick!) and some manly man moments (or actually just one) the movie wasn`t as intense as I had hoped, especially near the ending. And with that WTF at the end, and absolutely no closure with the characters, it was sadly unimpressive. Also, with the movie ending the way it did, it pretty much killed any chances of continuing the Gundam 00 storyline.

  8. 9 Adnan
    27 January 2011 at 1:38 pm

    While the ending did leave me going WTF (seriously…wtf!?), I actually appreciated the effort the writers went to portray the aliens as something inconceivable to what we’d find on our planet. The idea that whatever is out there will be almost completely incomprehensible to what we understand as life, especially if it’s sentient, will be so completely different from our own way of life is really pretty realistic to me. Sentient life from other planets will probably develop its own culture or whatever in a completely strange way from us. The fact that the movie left the thought processes of the aliens relatively ambiguous is great. The main goal of humans still trying to understand this completely new and strange sentience really resonated with me.

    Now, did they do this on purpose? I hope so, and it makes the movie that much more enjoyable as I like to think the writers attempted to do something different than the usual aliens look and act like us motif.

  9. 10 ncs3ph
    8 February 2011 at 1:23 am

    woah just saw this! let me summarize: lame ass new G unit not for fighting–>teleport—>BLAM! Big Flower!—–>100yrs after! guess wat!? FLORAL GUNDAM!!—->> seriously? WTF!? the blog is just right!

  10. 11 fgunra
    14 March 2011 at 2:38 pm

    It wasn’t as bad as most people say it to be. I actually enjoyed it. It was different, and the point the author was trying to get across is much different than other gundam series.

    P.S.

    Yea the new gundam in the being was pretty much a joke and they didn’t show much action of it, didn’t care much for it though.

    Id be more intersted in wtf that metallic floral gundam at the end can do lol.

  11. 12 TrolledBerry
    24 March 2011 at 4:45 am

    Very enjoyable, tho I must admit the plot is not the best, they did a good job considering its so hard to mix aliens with mechas.

    About the message of the movie, I think they tried to summarize the main concept of Gundam00 which is understanding and peace as a main value for humanity.

  12. 13 Zerotrinity
    29 April 2011 at 11:23 am

    I just saw the movie, and I think it was satisfactory for a movie. I think one of the main flaws was that this was a movie. It did not have enough time for complete character plots and a satisfactory plot. I think this series has just way too much to fit in one movie. So for a movie, I think it did good enough.

  13. 14 AbysallOne
    11 May 2011 at 1:38 pm

    While I agree with some of your review, I have to say that I think the movie captured the essence of 00 very well. That we will understand each other through talking not war. In terms of the aliens in general again I think they did a pretty good job there making them seem completely and totally out there. Also as far as everyone’s complaints about adding aliens to Gundam, Aeolia did mention it in his 3 step plan. Which is why early on I knew this was coming, and I still think they did a decent job considering this has never been done. However the main thing I hated with the aliens was that there was no specific main antagonist. We never once saw the aliens or even heard there voice/thoughts. That was a huge let down. 😦

    Also why introduce new characters if your not going to develop them further. Case and point being the innovator who was with the federation (See I cant even remember his name lol). On a side note I think they should have done more with other humans who where becoming innovators, like Louise (I really thought she was going to become a Gundam pilot)

    Finally the ending I do actually enjoy the ending. I love all of the characters “final” speeches. They where great and really did get me emotional. Also when it comes to the flower, while I do understand why that happened I think it should of happened a little differently. My one huge complaint with the ending in general is that there was absolutley no closure what so ever. It is ridiculously frustrating not knowing what the hell happened to everyone. I know they showed Setsuna after the credits but that only raised even more questions!

    All in all I do think it was a good movie, it was not the best but defeniatly above average. I really wish they could of done more with the story and new characters, but since its a movie that is kind of difficult with such a comprehensive story. Which is why I think they should have ethier made it into a season 3 and really expanded the story. Or if they didn’t have that much content maybe into a 10 part mini series.

  14. 15 *Sigh*
    12 May 2011 at 4:51 am

    *sigh*… The movie was okay… I think the main thing that we should all keep in mind is that it was a movie…not a 25 episode season lol. Taking the message from the movie which revolved around this quote “Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding.” is the important thing that you should keep in mind. In the end, the overall Gundam 00 series makes up for the movie’s poor plot and action.

  15. 16 Karry
    24 January 2012 at 12:12 am

    “Thank you for your time to read my supposely dumb retarded frank review of gundam 00 movie. ”

    You’re welcome. Although to call it a “review” is to tell a lie. Some incoherent mouth-frothing ramblings is more like it. Movie was okay.

  16. 17 andrew kim
    30 May 2013 at 11:07 am

    i really hate this movie basically killed the point of watching gundam00


Leave a Reply

Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

Blog Extra


