27
Aug
09

Hetalia Axis Powers episode 31

Seeing as it’s the end of August, now would be the perfect time for another Hetalia Christmas episode! Shut up, don’t question the collective intellect of Studio Deen. I’m sure they know what they’re doing.

vlcsnap-26654

Now I do love Christmas, I will admit that. Every other festival seems to base around ‘ooh, it’s *insert festival name here*, let’s get drunk!’. I guess that’s what you get when you live in Ireland, our national holiday is known worldwide as alcohol appreciation day. Christmas is that day where everyone just lazes around in perfect contentment, stuffing their faces with chocolate and any alcohol that’s consumed only adds the the general feeling of doziness. That said, did Hetalia really need another Christmas episode so soon after the last one? What’s the bets they’ll have another one before the end?

Why were they all wearing purple anyway?

Why were they all wearing purple anyway?

It wasn’t a bad episode though. OK, the only moment that I actually laughed out loud was Japans ‘Ganbarre’ for selling Christmas merchandise (so true!) but I had a big, silly grin plastered across my face for the entire episode. You could call this episode educational if you really wanted, but the stories were Hetaliased versions. I seriously doubt Christmas was banned in China due to flammable trees. Although when you consider what else they’ve banned, combined with exactly how scarrily flammable christmas trees are, maybe it’s not so unbelievable after all.

vlcsnap-27276

Germany, Italy and Japan spending Christmas together. Instant doujin fodder.

Talking about doujins, I saw the stats for the most popular doujin inspiring material (right phrase?) for the most recent comifes in Japan (don’t know what Comifes is about? Watch Genshiken). Women have far better taste then men in Japan. All the most popular male doujins were stupid moe shows like K-ON and Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha. Girls, on the other hand, were choosing Code Geass and Gundam 00, although easily the most popular for yaoi was Hitman Reborn. I wish I’d saved the page I found those stats, I would love to show them to you, but it seems Japanese girls really like Hitman Reborn. In the ‘most desirable anime husbands’, 4 out of the top 10 were from Reborn, including the overall winner. BTW, why are all female doujins yaoi? Do they not like romantic ones between a man and a women? I’m afraid I’m not that knowledgeable on the topic of doujins.

Some families left Santa a glass of milk. We left a bottle of Heineken

Some families left Santa a glass of milk. We left a bottle of Heineken

Chances are we’ll probably see another Christmas episode in the future since there’s still even more Christmas material left unadapted from the manga. If they do another one, I’m hoping that for the ending song, they go all out and sing a horrible engrish version of Jingle Bells…sorry, I mean Jinger Berrsh. Wouldn’t that be just fabulous!


23 Responses to “Hetalia Axis Powers episode 31”


  1. 27 August 2009 at 10:31 pm

    The part about Christmas in Japan is so true. Both the sales campaigns and how it’s a couple’s holiday. When I was on study abroad it felt so different (I’m American.)

    And I liked how even Christmas in Russia is evil.

  2. 2 luffyluffy
    27 August 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Their in purple because this is Gakuen Hetalia, their all supossed to be students.

    Who enjoyed Germany’s deredereness this episode? *raises hand* Not to mention that drunken Germany chibi. Ludwig LOVES his beer~ But, in that walking away shot, I’ve noticed two things: Germany’s arms like, got REALLLLLLLY long, and if your totally cracked out, it looks like He and Italy are holding hands.

    This episode annoyed me JUST a bit though, I thought we were going to see Prussia again 😦

  3. 3 luffyluffy
    27 August 2009 at 11:24 pm

    I also enjoyed Finland getting a spotlight AGAIN, but WHERE US SU-SAN?! C’MON DEEN, FINLAND IS ALWAYS WITH SWEDEN! *hits them with Austria*

  4. 28 August 2009 at 2:53 am

    @ExecutiveOtaku

    You’ve been to Japan? Grr…

    @luffyluffy

    You know, Prussia has still only appeared once in the anime for a grand total of 10 seconds. I hope he lives up to the hype when he finally gets more screentime

  5. 5 luffyluffy
    28 August 2009 at 2:56 am

    HE’S STILL AMASING! YOUR JUST JEALOUS OF HIS FIVE METERS!

    Trust me, he’s the Darkhorse of the series, he’ll live up to it as long as he isnt confined to his Teutonic Knights… version. His true charm lies in with his (romantic)chemestry with his brother Germany.

    Germany’s all like “RULES!” and Prussia’s all like “SCREW THE RULES, I HAVE A PET CHICK!”

    ya get it?

  6. 28 August 2009 at 3:13 am

    @luffyluffy

    Well I got the littlekuriboh reference but otherwise…well, if he is as good as that other character who’s name ends in ‘ussia’ then all’s well

  7. 7 luffyluffy
    28 August 2009 at 3:15 am

    Prussia hates Russia. Berlin Wall ftl

    Alot of Russia’s insanity’s been cut out anyway, we’re only getting have the fun. Exactly the same with France. They really cutout the molester aspect of him.

  8. 28 August 2009 at 4:44 am

    @ Scamp

    Yeah, one year study abroad at Temple University Japan in Tokyo. It was a lot of fun and I loved the city. But dear god was it expensive to live there!

    Seconding the ‘more Prussia’ sentiment.

  9. 9 luffyluffy
    28 August 2009 at 4:46 am

    Arg really? It must have been so nice DX My friends taking me to ether Berlin or London for her 16th birthday hopefully.

    I really wanna go to Berlin… I’ve heard it’s really pretty there…

  10. 28 August 2009 at 5:19 am

    Personally my favorite part was that ten second shot of drunk chibi Germany. That’s pretty much what family’s chirstmas parties look like.

    …and we’re all german. Scareeeeeeeeeeeeeee O.o

  11. 28 August 2009 at 5:47 am

    @luffyluffy

    I do plan to read the manga when the anime finishes. Some of Deens handling of this has been rather bizarre so I dare say there’s loads I’ve missed out on.

    @ExecutiveOtaku

    Japan expensive? Pfft, nothing compared to how expensive Ireland is. I think we are either the first or second most expensive country in Europe. I don’t think you realise how bloody cheap everything in America is (except college fees)

    @ksfwolfe

    heh, my family christmas parties seem to end up with everyone falling asleep straight after dinner. Alcohol + Full stomoch + lots of chocolates = instant zzzz

  12. 28 August 2009 at 6:43 am

    @ Scamp

    This is likely true (thanks China), and I also live in a pretty inexpensive city for the US. Rent for my nice one bedroom apartment here is $550 a month (383 Euro) whereas my tiny little guest house room in Tokyo was $1300 a month (905 Euro.)

  13. 13 Vinnie
    28 August 2009 at 7:39 am

    Hahaha, in the manga it goes more into detail about the holidays. I think they translated the thing with China to say: “We can’t have Christmas trees because they have a better use – fuel!” 🙂 And they also translate the whole: Russia doesn’t celebrate Christmas on December 25th because the Soviet government banned religious expression, so they had to adapt Christmas to work around their traditional New Year’s celebration on January 7th. 🙂

  14. 14 Humanity_Cat
    28 August 2009 at 9:31 am

    This episode sure took its time to come out….

    Anyways, I can certainly say that I wasn’t thinking about another Hetalia Christmas special… ^ ^; Favorite part was definitely the drunk chibi Germany, haha.

    I like China’s reponse as well, ‘Well…Christmas trees were banned in China because their….flammable.’ XD Hell yeah this is the representation of my homecountry! XP

    Also, I agree with Luffy! Where was Su-San, damnit?!?!! Or Hana-Tomaga (or something close to that…haha)! And I still haven’t seen Russia’s murder stick water pipe! -__-

    It was interesting to learn a little world holiday history…like Russia’s “Christmas” and the such… ^ ^

    I’m kind of half hoping that they’ll show an episode of the Axis’ Christmas celebration and like Prussia crashes it or something of the like….

    *Is waiting for the Engrish Jingle Bells*

  15. 15 luffyluffy
    28 August 2009 at 9:35 am

    The best part besides the drunk Ludwig(Hell, the REASON why he was drunk was adorable) But, Germany’s “But… Can we… spend christmas together…?” was utterly amasing to me for some damned reason.

    Tbh, Su-san would have ripped DEEN to shreads after he saw this episode. How DARE they draw HIS wife naked!

    As for Prussia… I hope we actually get to see “Prussia” and not just the Teutonic Knights >__<

  16. 16 Humanity_Cat
    28 August 2009 at 11:54 am

    (Augh…half of those were supposed to have HTML taggy thingys…..I need to go find out how to use HTML tags…)

    The first time I read the strip of Su-san and Finland it became one of my favorites…..just Finland’s reaction and the way Su-san said it…..oh Hetalia…. ‘I’m Sweden. And this is m’wife.’ Oh! And then Finland’s look of horror and confusion!

    That would be a good strip to animate I think….that one was fairly historical, if I remember…and it’s pretty funny! ^ ^ Plus I’m pretty sure we see more Lithuania and Estonia in it…..(SO DAMN CUTE!!!!)

    I second that….-_-

  17. 17 luffyluffy
    28 August 2009 at 11:55 am

    “Hm. Names Sweden, and m’wif”
    “Oh Su-San! Stop with the jokes!”
    “…joke?”

    Su-San’s face is enough to wrench anybody’s heart. I legit actually wanted to knee Finland in the throat for that >__<

    YES, RUNNING AWAY WITH SU-SAN MUST BE ANIMATED!

  18. 28 August 2009 at 5:47 pm

    @ExecutiveOtaku

    Ouch…that’s expensive. I guess I won’t be going to Japan anytime soon.

    @Vinnie

    Gah, what exactly are Deen doing with this anime? Those things flew totally over my head.

    @Humanity_Cat

    This episode did take a while. gg have been very solid and regular with their subs but I’m always a bit iffy that they might suddenly stop subbing. Their homesite lists the translater as ‘whoever feels like doing it’. It seems to be working thus far but…you never know with fansub groups.

    Oh, and I’ve never understood how to use html tags

    @luffyluffy

    There’s still over 20 episodes left so there’s still plenty of time for Prussia and Sweden to finally show up.

  19. 19 luffyluffy
    28 August 2009 at 11:06 pm

    I know he’ll be in there,I just wonder which incarnation: Teutonic Knights or Kingdom of Prussia

  20. 20 Humanity_Cat
    29 August 2009 at 8:30 am

    ….’whoever feels like doing it?’……Wow, not sure what to think about that…….I wish I knew Japanese…..than I wouldn’t need to have fan subbings at all! XD I don’t suppose they fansub in Russian, do they? It would really help with my selfteaching….

    but anyways, I’m hoping that Hetalia has a big enough community of Japan/Eng speakers that if the usually people decide to stop that we’ll have small back ups….hopefully.

    Yeah….I thought I had figured them out once on deviantArt, but I guess not…..I’ll go find something eventually.

  21. 21 Humanity_Cat
    29 August 2009 at 8:37 am

    Ahha! I found an excellent page for them! http://austen.com/tutorial/#italics

    Sorry, but I ment to reply to Luffy as well and I thought I’d sneak that in there…^ ^

    Yup, it would be an excellent strip to animate….like I said, it has the history, it has the humor, and it has the good characters, we just need a proper animation! ^ ^

    Does anyone else feel like the last Chibitalia thingy (the Switz/Austria/Liechtenstien*did I spell that right?!?!* one) ended kind of quickly? I didn’t think that would be the end…..but if it is…. I actually kind of liked the historical referance in that “series”….I actually learned a lot about the Austria/Switzerland relationships and the Switz/Liechtenstien relationships through that….

  22. 22 Johanna
    13 September 2009 at 7:56 pm

    It’s not purple, it’s navy stupid. -.-

  23. 23 Soka
    8 December 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Nobody seemed to explain the uniforms. I suppose you already know, but they come from an AU game about Hetalia that takes place in a private school, where the characters are senior/junior students.
    Russia continues being the awesome, and I never got why England was stalking/hiding from the axis guys around…


Leave a comment


Irashaimasen

Welcome to Bokutachi no Blog. That's "Our Blog" in Japanese. Our Anime Blog, to be exact. And if you landed to this page by accident, probably in search for ecchi stuff, then you should regret to have hit this page. Don't worry, this blog is children-safe and no misdemeanor acts here. Sorry, you bald, middle-aged perverts. But thanks for the hit anyway.

RSS Danny Choo RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Extra